We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Arenas del Mar
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Medano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2010

A quite hotel in a nice situation. We were all inclusive and the food was good for buffet style. Staff friendly and we would definately go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnshireBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,966 - 1,972 of 2,274 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2010

We returned on Sunday after spending a really nice ten day break at this hotel.

Accommodation = Suite: excellent, spotlessly cleaned every day, Free TV acess to British and foreign channels in our lounge area, free internet access in all areas of the hotel. Lovely balcony looking out on a mountain view. - No coffee facilities or iron but there is a hair dryer.

Food = All inclusive: Excellent with a really nice choice available: Breakfast has all choices avaliable from dried & fresh fruit, freshly made yoghurt, cereals, six different types of bread for toast, full continental meats and cheeses, and full English of course -fried eggs - bacon - sausage - toms - beans - mushrooms, there's even the american pancake and syrup option, choose from any or all of these (believe me one couple had it all). Lunch had hot and cold choices with lots of different Salad and veggie options aswell as a full range of cooked meats fish etc. and a selection of soups. Dinner again had all the options you could want with different soups, fish, meat and veggie options, and the stick-in-the-mud Brits could still choose chips with everything if they wanted.

Pools & pool bar- Idyllic, nice and quiet with soft piped music and a great view out over the beach on one side and the open ocean on two others - clean modern sun loungers were always available, and beach towels are provided free of charge every day. The pool is a lovely warm salt water single depth design that is great for lazing about and chillin in - and showers are on the pool side to rinse off in before lazing and soaking up more rays.

Staff: THE BEST, always polite and helpful from reception, restaurants & snack shack to the bars and drinks areas, you couldn't ask for better. We checked out at 12 but were given a freshly cleaned room to change and shower in before our evening flight.!!! There is an entertainments girl, Monica, who is the life and soul of the place in the evening but the program of entertainment was a bit 'hi-de-hi' and out of place in such a chic hotel.

Nite life: Not a lot in the hotel itself but plenty of great places just across the beach - an easy walk even after a nite of enjoying the local beverages. Thre's a selection of Restaurants/Bars/Bistros but only 4 real 'Club' options.

Overall: a great place for couples to get away from it all and only 10mins and 10 Euros taxi journey from the airport. !!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank girlsthaparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

My girlfriend and I have just returned from an idyllic 10 days staying at the Arenas Del Mar. The hotel is all it's set-up to be... a quiet getaway for couples of all ages wishing to relax and getaway from it all - but definitely not for families due to its location and clientele. We stayed in a fifth floor suite on an 'all-inclusive' basis and were very pleased with the standard of accomodation & services provided; we had a good sized bedroom, although it was two twins pushed together rather than a double bed, a nice lounge with a plasma TV with SKY & BBC channels available (as well as a very hardcore porn channel lol ) was included free of charge, a very good sized bath & shower room, and a great balcony with no roof to block the rays. The pool area was great with a nice bar and used by just couples and NO NOISEY KIDS - we generally got down there at about 10am and there were always plenty of new modern sunbeds available. The restaurant seemed to be always open when required, breakfast 7-10, lunch 12-1500, & dinner 1800-2100 with a very good and varied international menu ( although there were a few people that moaned because of there being 'no pies & sausages' etc but they should have gone to Magaluf if they wanted that!!) The Hotel entertainment wasn't up to much but as we spent most nights in the bars,cafes & clubs of the local town - about ten minutes walk across the beach - that didn't matter much. Being a two girl couple we initially got a few strange looks dancing together in a few bars/clubs but we met two sets of gay lads that pointed us in the right direction for the local 'pink parlour' and all was then great. The hotel rep was a great laugh who joined us in the bar after her evening shifts finished. The free wi-fi in communal areas and cabled bedroom internet access let us keep in touch with friends at home. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be returning in the autumn.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 2girlshavingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

I really don't know what others have whinged about - from start to finish everything was 100% tops. You couldn't find more friendly and helpful staff, and the overall experience is one of peace & relaxation. We stayed on an all inclusive suite basis and thoroughly enjoyed every minute, wanting for nothing. A 5-10 minute walk takes you into the town which has a delightful selection of restaurants and bars to try out (some open till 4am) when you want a change of scenery from the hotel. The main restaurant is buffet style with masses of choice of hot & cold dishes from breakfast thru to dinner.( an 'a la carte' restaurant is also avail in high season.), and there are bars open all day. This isn't a resort for those wanting a 'brits abroad lager fest' holiday its more of a 'relax and enjoy the experience' venue - there were no kids which was gr8 as we didn't leave ours at home to be pestered by other peoples' :-) The evening entertainment wasn't to our taste but then a quick walk into town gives other options. All in all we found the hotel to be of very high quality in all areas including accommodation, services, staff & facilities and will be returning later in the year (to recover from our family holiday with the kids)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RelaxOrDie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We have just arrived home after a lovely week at this hotel. A few things to know..Yes there are pool towels and yes the best hair drier I have had at a hotel so no need to take up space packing these items. If you enjoy sport there is sky in the tv room, plus a tv in the bar (although its not on in the evenings as there is a music) We were allinclusive and enjoyed the food at all meal times and the house wine is fine(by the glass) anything off the wine list you will pay for!
It is a good walk into El medano but worth it at the week end if you like people watching..very Spainish with the whole family out at the beach and in the little bars enjoying themselves. We enjoyed a glass or two of wine out (3 euros for two large glasses)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mylaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Just arrived back in UK on Sunday 14/03/10. I would not recommend this hotel. It is a picture to look at on the inside and all appears very clean. But to my horror I returned home having been bitten by bed bugs and more. Both my husband and I are covered in a rash and bites which the GP described as bed bugs and parasites.
I agree with the previous review about the food as well (very average). If you have travelled all inclusive before you will be very disappointed with the menu and quality of food;it lets the hotel down considerably.
We travel abroad 3 times a year and in the past ten years this has been the most disappointing trip as yet.
With regard the service, even though all stafff were very friendly;getting their attention in the restaurant did prove difficult at times.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Chilled, out of the way hotel with lovely facilities. We started our stay in an inland facing room. However, we upgraded to a sea view room for only £13 per night more. It was defintely worth it as the room was better and the view from the large balcony just gorgeous.
Food choice maybe wasn't great but more importantly the quality was very goog.
All the staff, particularly reception are very accomodating.
If you want to chill, this is the place for you.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jjcassidy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Medano
0.7 mi away
El Medano Hotel
El Medano Hotel
#2 of 5 in El Medano
412 reviews
12.5 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#12 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,830 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aguamarina Golf Apartments
Aguamarina Golf Apartments
#1 of 4 in Golf del Sur
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
2,094 reviews
5.2 mi away
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
#9 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
966 reviews
13.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenas del Mar

Address: Avenida Europa 2, 38612 El Medano, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > El Medano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Medano
Price Range: $115 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arenas del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Arenas del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenas Del Mar Beach
Hotel Arenas Del Mar El Medano, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing