We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If people don't know about the wind they are doing TA wrong!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Arenas del Mar
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Medano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I am amazed people can book this hotel and not know it is windy in this resort. We knew - we didn't mind as we were only there for one night and we were curious to see what El Medano was like. (Nice.) We got a really good deal for dinner bed and breakfast and we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner with the fabulous views. The rooms are very comfortable but if you are thinking of staying for a week - take note - IT IS VERY WINDY!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,294 - 1,300 of 2,291 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2014

Just returned from arenas del mar. Seems to me that they are trying to save money by employing less staff. The bars only ever had one member of staff on duty. The food had a lack of choice, was not cooked properly and was in other dishes at the next meal. The only good thing about this hotel was Richard who was responsible for the entertainment. He was on his own and worked tirelessly to keep people entertained.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Really great hotel for relaxing break. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Food is buffet style and lots of different options. All inclusive drinks very good and Oscar's cocktails very nice. Big thanks to Richard for organising entertainments, very funny and works hard to get everyone involved. We had room 510, sea view and had the sun all day. El medano is a lovely town with lots of nice shops and restaurants if you want a break from the hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just returned from a weeks holiday in what from the outside looks more like a multi-story car park than a hotel. However once inside it becomes obvious the decor and layout of the rooms is to quite a high standard.
Knowing this area is used for sailboarding we expected it to be breezy but we were subjected to gale force winds for the duration. This made the pool unusable and the only area possible to sunbathe in the shelter of the side of the hotel. The hotel does not have anywhere to walk outside it's immediate vicinity, the nearest facilities being in El Medano itself, about 30 mins walk away with the wind or 45 against.
With the aircraft taking off from the nearby airport we thought the tremendous noise would create sleeping problems, but this did not prove to be the case.
The hotel has no lounge bar. Instead guests are served from an adjacent cafateria. No staff are provided either to serve or clear tables. Whilst the staff worked very hard it was obvious the whole place was undermanned.
It took a while to twig that there was no kitchen for the "restaurant". All the food was apparently bought in ready prepared and microwaved if necessary, apart from sliced fish, pork and beef prepared on two large hotplates. Chips were standard at every meal.
Entertainment took place in what was referred to as a Disco. This consisted of bingo, quizzes,competitions etc.Two particularly good acts were the acrobat and the spanish dancers.
There was a bar in the disco but the barman was expected to clear glasses as well resulting in frustrated drinkers and an exhausted barman.
All in all a poor experience, (apart from the company of fellow guests), which I would not wish to repeat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

As always before booking a holiday we scan through tripadvisor to see what others think, we were initially concerned about some very negative reviews on the hotel but nevertheless fancied a break without "mini disco" every evening, as the positives outweighed the negatives we booked a week and returned home last night.
We as a couple had a fantastic week at the Arenas del Mar, all of the hotel staff without exception were brilliant with nothing being too much trouble.

Yes the hotel does look a bit like a multi story car park from the outside but inside was excellently furnished and decorated and clean, we had a room with a mountain view on the top floor which was brilliant, the maids kept it spotless for us changing towels and sheets whenever we asked and always with a smile.

Meals
Breakfast - everything from full English to continental, hard to believe anyone could find reason to complain.

Lunch - spoilt for choice large selection and well cooked and presented

Dinner - again spoilt for choice, plenty to choose from including salads, pasta, beef (steak) pork, chicken, turkey and occasionally lamb (which was labeled mutton which may have confused some but it was delicious).

Snacks, not too much on offer but there again why on earth would you need to eat every two hours?

The dining room staff, who also worked the bars were brilliant, service was excellent, delivered with a smile, tables were cleared as soon as they needed to be with fresh tablecloths provided every time, never had to wait for a table and always managed to get one with a sea view which yes was hampered by "dirty" windows but considering they were facing the sea and there was often and breeze sometimes a very strong one I am not surprised.

Bar service was good, drinks were fine and plentiful very rarely had to wait more than a minute or two, never more that 2-3 people queuing always somewhere comfortable to sit

The entertainment was typically Spanish style including parrot and reptile shows but without exception Richard did a fantastic job, what an amazing guy, full of energy and ideas to keep everyone happy during the day and into the evening his love of his job is evident throughout, he is an asset to the hotel.

The pool area was very good but due to the unusually strong winds was a bit cramped to the right of the pool where people sunbathed and occasionally got sand blasted but there is little the hotel can do about the weather, later in the week the wind dropped and the whole area round the pool came into use meaning more space for everyone, an abundance of sunbeds and despite the queue before breakfast for some (Brits) to reserve sunbeds we always found one, the salt water pool was surprisingly warm and very pleasant.
The spar was excellent if a little expensive (but no more than we have experienced elsewhere)


On reflection after re- reading the negative reviews on this Hotel I can only assume that the writers had visited a different hotel, the only complaint we have is that whilst free at breakfast Cava is not part of the all inclusive deal in the evenings, having said that, for a couple of euros you can buy your own and keep it in your fridge in the room.

A fantastic week all round, quiet, relaxing and friendly just what we needed, so good that we will be returning for another week in October

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms are great, good views which ever side of the hotel you are on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Flatpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The hotel itself was lovely. Clean and comfortable throughout. We travelled with our friends and just wanted a relaxing holiday by the pool. It is a pity that the sun doesn't reach round the side of the hotel until 11 am onwards, unless you are fortunate enough to get the first few rows. It was very windy but it would have been far too hot without it and it made it comfortable to sunbathe (very deceptive; make sure you have a high factor sun lotion).
Richard, the entertainment guy, is nice and works hard to get people involved. We didn't participate as this is not our thing. All of the staff were very nice and friendly, especially Janice, who served in the bars.
Especially liked the Adult only side of things and dining was a very civilised experience but this is where the hotel is let down. The food was definitely not of 4* quality. Breakfast was fine with the best bread I have had anywhere. Lunch and dinner were pretty much the same with soup, salad, cooked meats, fish, chicken, various potatoes and veg. Sounds good but what let it down was that the meat was invariably tough and the veg either over or under cooked. The best option was usually whatever the chef was carving; the side of salmon being my favourite. I am not a fussy eater and if things had been cooked correctly, I would have had no problem. Having said that the salad bar was very good and I always found something nice to eat. Not a fast food enthusiast myself but if you were you wouldn't find burgers, hot dogs etc just healthy food. The shortage of staff did mean that tables were slow to be cleared but rather than waiting, I would return my plates to the clearing area so that the table was not cluttered.
Lastly, there was a lack of soap in the poolside toilet and they do need to get this sorted. I did have to mention this a few times before it was replaced so I used to take my own.
Do not think we would return but we still had a very good holiday.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank BetsyBoothroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Anita Manchester- Just returned 26/3/14
Had a lovely holiday -sunny every day but windy! Food is very good. Lots of choice and good salad bar. Hotel is very clean through out but we found our room a little cold. Tried to up the air con to warm it up but no joy. Was told by Reception the hotel is heated centrally.
ALL the staff are very friendly, cleaners, waiters, chefs etc. Especially Denith (Miss Venezuela ) and Richard who is in charge of Animaciõn he does the lot and was FANTASTIC.
I went with two friends, but it is mostly couples.

Room Tip: To get the sun on the balcony you need to have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anita332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Medano
0.7 mi away
El Medano Hotel
El Medano Hotel
#2 of 5 in El Medano
420 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Playa Sur Tenerife
Hotel Playa Sur Tenerife
#3 of 5 in El Medano
129 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aguamarina Golf Apartments
Aguamarina Golf Apartments
#1 of 4 in Golf del Sur
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
2,114 reviews
5.2 mi away
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
#9 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
973 reviews
12.3 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#5 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenas del Mar

Address: Avenida Europa 2, 38612 El Medano, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > El Medano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Medano
Price Range: $117 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arenas del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Arenas del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenas Del Mar Beach
Hotel Arenas Del Mar El Medano, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing