We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standards are slipping” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arenas del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Arenas del Mar
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Medano
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Standards are slipping”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

My fourth visit to this one of my favourite hotels and my fourth review.
Sorry to report standards are slipping especially in the dining room with food often cold and the staff a little indifferent.The manager has changed since my last visit and the whole atmosphere has changed and is not as welcoming
The hotel has always functioned well with a minimum of staff,however it is now struggling to do so..
I have previously.recommended to friends but now not as happy to do so.
Until and if it can get its act together is now only a 3 star rating as far as i am concerned

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Douglas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    755
    322
    130
    78
See reviews for
227
1,376
48
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited for a ten day holiday, over the Xmas period. we were absolutely delighted with this being an adult only hotel, food was nice just not much variation from day to day but could not fault it at all. Fresh salad every day one of the best I have ever had in an all inclusive resort, fresh cooked meats and a carved meat every evening & fresh fish every day.
Staff could not do enough for you really friendly and helpful especially Angelo on reception and the Italian waiter in the bar upstairs.
Entertainment in the evening was average due to no fault of Richards, he could do as much as he could with no support. Very friendly man and activities every day if you didn't want to join in he just let you get on with it. He needs more support.
Pool was lovely, salt water pool nice and warm.
Hotel absolutely spotless and very pleasing to the eye.
The pool area was always clean and plenty of sun beds. We really enjoyed our stay here but just wish the management would have allowed Richard to open the main entertainment room in the basement which we experienced on Xmas day instead they kept us all squashed in a small room upstairs to save money. The hotel was fully so this should have been open every night. No music around the pool which we would have enjoyed but we were informed later in the holiday it had broke during the storm but this would have been a welcomed addition.
Overall great stay, perfect views and excellent staff

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Eve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

I spent a week here just before Christmas and it was excellent. The rooms were spacious and clean and it was worth upgrading to a sea view room with a large sunny balcony. The food was plentiful and varied and the staff friendly and pleasant. The salt water swimming pool was warm and good to swim in and there were plenty of sunbeds and sheltered areas to sit. The evening entertainment was varied and all very well organised. The hotel is situated in a very good area for walking with several marked tracks and walks which are easily accessible.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a quiet, chilled out, child free holiday!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth the up grade
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 394juliem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

As warned the exterior looked quite forbidding but the inside was a total contrast - spacious and clean if a little care worn. Reception was fast and efficient and while the food and variety was not of the highest standard it was good value for whet we paid. The evening "entertainment" was as described in other reviews and does need to be varied for the adult clientele and the bar could be run more efficiently.
All that being said we did have a lovely time meeting several like-minded couples and one obliging gentleman (you all know who you are and you made our stay special).
Yes, an "adult" hotel in every sense but if that is not your scene you will not be pestered and it remains good value.
The small town of el Medano is a contrast to the bigger resorts of the South coast and has good fish restaurants - and the beach towards Montana Roja is a delightfully empty unspoiled paradise (bring water and sun-screen) allowing real privacy........
We will be back in February/March 2014.

Room Tip: Get a sea view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Only stayed 3 nights but had a wonderful time.
Staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.
Was all- inclusive but the food was plentiful and excellent choice.
Definitely returning for a longer stay. Adults only hotel mean that it is the perfect destination for holidaying teachers!

Room Tip: Sea- view essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hector51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a weeks holiday here. So glad I booked before reading the negative reviews. Although the hotel is not very pleasing from the outside, once inside it is lovely. We were given a very warm welcome at reception where nothing was too much trouble. All reception staff are very friendly and helpful. We booked a Junior Suite which was very spacious and well equipped. The TV even had English chanels which meant we could keep up to date on news and Corrers!! We had a sea view and were fortunate to have the sun on our balcony throughout the day. The dining room enjoyed sea views and also the nearby town of El Medano. There was a great choice of food at every meal and was always very enjoyable. The highlight of of our stay was provided by Richard the entertainment manager. What a wonderful person he is and tries effortless to get the holiday makers to join in his activities. He worked with very little resources but put 100% of himself into the job. Hope he goes onto great and better things - he deserves it. He also goes out of his way to spend time with people travelling on their own. We consider him a great asset to the hotel. We would return to this hotel and would recommend it. Good value for the money we paid.

Room Tip: We were in 403 which had good views and the sun on the terrace throughout the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We have recently returned from a weeks stay at the Arenas del mar in Tenerife. When we arrived we were met by Olivia on reception, we travelled with friends so Olivia gave us sea view rooms next door to each other although we had booked mountain view, which was wonderful.We had a hitch with our shower which Angelo and the handyman sorted out in minutes. Angelo also gave a free pass to the Spa for a day for our trouble. Got to be honest we could'nt fault reception. The room was spacious and very nice, The meals were excellent with plenty of choice, the dining room staff were very friendly, they did'nt seem enough of them but they worked flat out and nothig was too much trouble. The pool area was excellent nice warm pool and no trouble getting a sunbed. The hotel is a bit isolated but there is a nice pleasant 15 minute walk into El Medano which is quite a nice place shops and resaurants etc. The beach is a few steps down out of the hotel which is also a pleasant walk. The only downnside is the entertainment two nights we had singers or dancers and they were very good but then we had three animal shows, which for a adult only hotel you don't expect childrens entertainment. All in all the hotel is a very nice and comfortable place too be, and we would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mazie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Medano
0.7 mi away
El Medano Hotel
El Medano Hotel
#2 of 5 in El Medano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & ...
#1 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,472 reviews
4.7 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,226 reviews
21.3 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
33.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenas del Mar

Property: Hotel Arenas del Mar
Address: Av. Europa, 2, 38612 El Medano, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > El Medano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Medano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arenas del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Arenas del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenas Del Mar Beach
Hotel Arenas Del Mar El Medano, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing