We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Arenas del Mar - Excellent!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Arenas del Mar
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Medano
Certificate of Excellence
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hotel Arenas del Mar - Excellent!!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

From start to finish excellent! Five ladies - 2 under 50 (we know who we are) had fun from start to finish. Israel the receptionist was both charming and hilarious at the same time and even let us "ring his bell". We had lovely connecting rooms with a private hallway so we could leave the doors open. It is well worth paying that bit extra as we had beautiful pool and sea views as we were on a corner. Our rooms 312/313 were spotless clean and fresh towels were supplied daily. 312 is a superb suite with a dining and living area and huge bathroom. This room was used as our social area. Beds a little hard but that's just a personal preference for me as rest of girls fine. Everywhere you went in this hotel was spotless and all staff were very friendly.
A special mention has to go to Richard - he is hilarious and kept us very entertained - we went from sexy ladies to lazy ladies in a blink of an eye! He really did make you participate in everything he did from aqua aerobics to spanish lessons and cooking classes! Weather could've been better - cloudy a couple of days but didn't stop us doing anything. Wonderful to lie at pool and watch the windsurfers. Is breezy but when sun is out you need it. You don't need beach towels as these are supplied by hotel spa. Spa looked lovely but we didn't use it - maybe next time. Bar staff at pool lovely and lady who works there and dining room fabulous. Only downside was entertainment although we didn't let it stop us having a good time. Female singer was great but rest not so good.
We met lots of nice people on this trip and have already recommended this hotel to friends and family.
Don't be put off by the prison like building or any reviews - this place is brilliant if you want to get away from it all.
Top tip - don't miss the market on Saturday it was great - countless handbags and dresses later so remember and leave space in the case!

Room Tip: Corner suites are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharmaineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    798
    340
    134
    80
See reviews for
242
1,491
53
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Booked a week in April to get away from the British winter. Lots of sunshine but also a strong breeze. However, when it dropped you realised how nice it was when it was blowing.

Agree with the reviewer that mentioned the non windy side of the hotel that got the sun in the afternoon. Always a dash for those sun beds. The pool was lovely and warm and very clean.

Agree entirely with all the comments from the last reviewer, Graham T. The staff were very efficient and friendly, Richard the entertainment guy was always cheerful, even if he didn't get lots of people joining in, the food was good and the room and hotel were very clean. We were on all inclusive and there was never any problem in getting a drink. There was entertainment every evening and the Motown group were excellent. Although we were above the bar everything was quiet by midnight.

My ONLY complaint was that smoking was allowed all around the pool and to a non smoker this was not very nice. We also had the junior suite over the bar, Room107, and the smoke used to rise from the outside seating area up into our room. I suggested on my comment form that there should be a smoking area around the pool and that those smoking outside should move away from the hotel.

Although this hotel is close to the airport the aircraft noise was not really intrusive.
All in all a lovely hotel forms week relaxing in the sun.

Room Tip: If you don't smoke do not get room 107 or those nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

we were so concerned, having seen some of the reviews that cropped up shortly before we were due to fly ( 16/4) that we already had the mind-set that we would have to make the best of a bad job. We were driven from the airport by a taxi and saw the prison looking building from afar, but as we approached realised that it didn't look anywhere near as bad as the photos make it look, not so grey. Anyway, we were given a warm welcome, and booked in very quickly, 2 lifts to the rooms, we were in room 525 which had a lovely sunny balcony in the afternoon. The room was delightful, how anyone could complain, I really don't know. The double bed was comfortable ( not the best, but for what we'd paid.......) there was plenty of hot water, the air con was effective, it was clean, tidy, and spacious. If I had to find something to twist about, I would say the towells didn't fit by the end of the week, but that had more to do with the expansion of my body. The food was great, IMO, you could select a different breakfast every day, if you wanted to, but we especially enjoyed the eggs, scrambled, poached, boiled, omelette, pancakes etc, all made by very friendly staff. The drinks were great too, Enzo was quiet but very friendly and efficient, I can vouch for the strength of the Sangria, I accidentally drank it like pop and was too sloshed for supper one night. It is adults only, so no kids making a noise or dashing about, there were a few younger couples, but i would say the average age was @ 55 ( ish) but it had a lovely atmosphere, no old fogeys, everyone seemed to be there for a good time, and we certainly had that. Very relaxing, chilled holiday with pleasant company - we will definately be back.

Room Tip: please request a sunny terrace for the time of day that suits you, we like afternoon sun and room 52...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaznTrevNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just returned from this wonderful Hotel. This was our third visit within 14 months. The Staff as always very helpful and friendly. Richard entertainment guy first class as was Enso the pool bar man. Both a credit to the Hotel. The room as per usual was first class. The cleaning maid also did a good job. The food was a very wide selection and the restaurant staff could not have been more obliging. If you complain at this Hotel, then you should pay for a five star.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for 5 days in April. We found all amenities very good, the hotel staff were very friendly, a few of the restaurant staff didn't seem to know what they were doing but I think they might've been new. The room was excellent we stayed in a junior suite, which had bedroom area with large wardrobe, large mirror and plenty of sockets for our hairdryers, hair straightners & endless phone & ipad chargers! large bathroom with bath over shower, room for a separate shower really but it was adequate for us. We also had a living area with a quite hard uncomfy sofa & a single chair. there was a tv which showed english tv which was great, a desk & a fridge which was great because we could buy drinks at the shop next door. there was a lovely huge balcony too with a table & chairs for 4 people & also a pull out line for drying towels, this balcony wouldve been lovely on the back of the building but we were on the font which must be north facing because it was always dark. tip for anybody going, get a seaview balcony room. Entertainment was with the same guy (i cant remember hd name) day & night, the day entertainment is really not neccesary & i feel lets the hotel down as nobody was interested & if anything was just laughing at him, all we wanted to do was sunbath in peace. The evening entertainment was better & included a quiz, karaoke & showgirls. The pool was lovely & not too cold, the loungers were good although didn't seem to be enough parasols & the ones they do have are in the ground because of the wind. Note to hotel - please get some more parasols. Also it was a mission every morning to get a decent sunbed because the hotel sticks out the sun loungers are at the back & side, the back gets the most wind & in April I found the wind too cold, so had to try & get the corner with a parasol but that was in the sun & away from the wind. The side is way from the wind & a real sun trap but not sunny until after lunch. Also, not quite sure why the pool area only open until 6pm because the sun is out much later. The only if any downside of this hotel is the location not really being very close to nothing, although there is a very good shop next door, El Medano is only a short walk but there didn't seem to be much there! Also the beach was not the best & nobody used it, a bit rocky & not very inspiring. The restaurant had lots of choice but everything was with chips & i was craving green veg when i got home! Overall I loved this hotel for a week of doing nothing & chilling by the pool, any more than a week & I would've been bored.

Room Tip: On the back or side where you get a sea view & a sunny balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truemaniser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just back after a week in this hotel 23 - 30 April. The room itself was very nice, large and clean. One criticism, you pay for all inclusive then have to pay extra for safety deposit box that's in your room and mini bar. There were no tea/ coffee facilities in the room which I really missed!!. The hotel itself had limited facilities but the pool was very warm (salt water) with plenty of sunloungers. It was extremely windy which made sitting in some areas around the pool challenging!!!. We have done a few 5 star all inclusive and was under no illusion this would be the same, but I was surprised to find drinks including water were limited. The food was very nice with a reasonable choice. El medano is a small compact resort and a 10 min stroll to which was all flat and a pleasant experience. Overall if you want a week away to just relax and chill I would recommend as long as you dont take all inclusive to mean that. The one nice bonus was it was adult only hotel .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarlovesturkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had one week at this Hotel we found all amenities very good thehotel staff were very friendly the room was excellent we stayed in a junior suite. Entertainment was very varied but something for every one the pool and sun loungers were good I would love to go back at some point the small town was very nice small bars on the prom. If it is a quiet restful week you are looking for this is the place to go

John & Yvonne

Room Tip: Roooms at the front are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvonne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Medano
0.7 mi away
El Medano Hotel
El Medano Hotel
#2 of 5 in El Medano
396 reviews
12.5 mi away
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
#15 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,616 reviews
21.4 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#31 of 58 in Costa Adeje
3,122 reviews
4.6 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
1,690 reviews
5.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenas del Mar

Property: Hotel Arenas del Mar
Address: Avenida Europa 2, 38612 El Medano, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > El Medano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Medano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arenas del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arenas del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenas Del Mar Beach
Hotel Arenas Del Mar El Medano, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing