We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel as advertised!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Arenas del Mar
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Medano
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hotel as advertised!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had one week here just some pointers!Weather 4 good days 3 not so go good,hotel seems to be/feel like its on the corner of the island v.windy,one day needed jumper on.
Lovely small hotel,as its advertised Adults only,so if you like to read a book and do nothing this is the place for you,for me,too quiet average age was 55/60,and up,
All Inclusive finishes at 11pm.You will only be served Two drinks at a time all through the day,which we were party of four so was a real pain,even to the extent in the afternoon we were the only people in the bar area,my partner asked for four different drinks for us the barman refused ,only two two at a time!!he served us two my partner ran round the nearest table and asked for the other drinks this actually raised a rare smile from the barman it was a strange rule when we party of four,
Hotel was too quiet for me so hotel runs a bus into Los christianos and Americas goes approx 10am back approx 6 pm cost of 10 euros each we did this a few days would highly recommend but bus not always reliable to get back so ask him to write time down for you as evidence if you are not picked up we actually got our money back one day ,taxi to Los/C & Americas is about 28 euros each way.
Couple went to water park said was really good cost i think 33 euros adults and 15 child.
Dolphin trip cost 40 euros if you go into town its 15 euros. I
f you use the bus ect make sure you have money as back up for a taxi maybe it was a one off it didnt turn up for us dont know?
Food not a great choice but good quality the meats beef/pork/lamb ect fab.
Indoor pool not in A/L package cost 18 euros each for two hours.
With your holiday you may get free spa treatment dont get excited its the use of the sauna& shower so not a treatment at all.Spa v. expensive body massage 90 euros so needless to say didnt use.
Rooms v.large No kettle in room so there is no where to get a drink between mid night and 7.30 am except for a little vending machine by the lifts.
You had to ask for water for our room if you where lucky you got a small bottle but each time we asked didnt get one so take a bottle you can refiil at meal times or buy from shop as there is a fridge in your room
Would i go back No as Hotel just too quiet for me !!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    764
    325
    132
    79
See reviews for
229
1,403
51
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (772)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Myself and my partner have just returned from a week's break at the Arenas del Mar with positives and negatives to report. We arrived on the Sunday evening and were checked in quickly and efficiently by the reception staff. Despite being on an all inclusive package, I was asked to provide a debit card, in case any extra charges were incurred during our stay. We were allocated a room with a mountain view (or car park view, depending on how generous you are) which was tastefully decorated and perfectly clean. There was a bathroom, sleeping area with wardrobes and a separate living room area with sofas and a tv(all main British terrestrial channels available). There was also a balcony with tables and chairs. We did enquire about upgrading to a sea view room, but were informed that this would cost us an extra £100 for the week. We decided against this as on the whole we wouldn't be in the room during the day. A couple of things to note were that the bed consisted of two single beds pushed together rather than a proper double bed and you have to pay extra for the key to operate the safe in the room.
The food is served in a canteen style restaurant on the ground floor. Food was plentiful and fairly varied throughout the week and is served in a self service, buffet style. Breakfast consists of the usual cereals, toast and full breakfast foods, while a full hot meal service is provided at lunch and dinner times. There is also a full selection of soups, salads, breads, plus meats and fish cooked by the chef in front of you. There were a lot of fish dishes, pasta dishes and for those who can't live without them, chips every day. Dessert consisted of fresh fruits, cakes and ice creams. You can eat as much as you like and help yourself to unlimited soft drinks, water, beer or wine. My thoughts were that the food was often very rich and a bit oily, but this is more down to my personal taste and I had the option to eat soup or salad instead, which I did. The restaurant itself is a little bit bland and there isn't much atmosphere there, but if you treat it as somewhere to just grab a bite to eat, it's not half bad.
The hotel bar is located on the ground floor just along from the restaurant. It's a fairly small room with a tv, usually showing sports of some kind. There is also a spacious outdoor area, inhabited by the smokers or those escaping the awful entertainment. We sat out there most nights, but it did get a bit chilly and windy on a couple of evenings, so we had to venture inside. The entertainment consisted of poor quizzes, karaoke, live singers, dancers, an eagle show and a live snake show. None of these things are really our cup of tea anyway, but these acts were particularly poor in our opinion. This may be due to the fact that most of the the guests in the hotel were a lot older than us and so prefer a different type of show. The Bar man, Jesus, was perfectly pleasant, but rarely smiled and don't even bother to try and get more than one drink each at a time. The bar is only open until midnight and after 23:00, the all inclusive deal ends, so drinks have to to be paid for. In addition, the all inclusive deal only includes local spirits, beer, wine, sangria, soft drinks plus tea and coffee. Cocktails, decent wine and premium spirits all have to be paid for which defies the "all inclusive" label of the package.
The pool area is pleasant but not very large; we didn't struggle to acquire a sun bed, but there were days when the weather wasn't all that great. You may struggle to find one during high season when the weather is more settled. The pool is filled with salt water, but is lovely and warm. There is also a small bar serving drinks as part of the all inclusive package. There is a spa here which was not cheap; my boyfriend paid €39 for a back, shoulder and neck massage but he did say it was worth the money. The hotel is located over looking the beach and sea which is a pleasant location and it is about a 10minute walk into El Medano, which is worth a look- there are some nice bars and restaurants. The hotel, however, stands completely alone and there are no other food or drink establishments in its vicinity, other than a small supermarket next door which shuts at 8pm. Another thing to note is that the hotel is situated 9km from the airport, which means a very quick transfer time. However, it also means that the hotel is directly in the flight path of the airport and they fly over all day which can be noisy.
All in all, if you are looking for a relaxing holiday in a well maintained hotel with a bit of winter sun, you can't go too far wrong with this hotel. However, if you are looking to meet other young people in a lively 24/7 resort then this is probably not the place for you. Likewise, if you are looking for a gourmet food and drink experience, then you should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolvesgal80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in march for a week. The hotel is modern inside and kept very clean. We had a junior suite overlooking the sea which was lovely, certainly better than id expected in tenerife. The staff are friendly and helpful but don't pester you if you want to be left alone. The food is plentiful, I think I'd get fed up with it after a week though. Most people are all inclusive as it is quite remote, there is however a small harbour area in walking distance with a few restaurants if you wanted a change. There is nightly entertainment in the bar but also a large seating area inside the hotel like a lounge if you want to have a drink away from the bingo. It's a really good design and means you can take or leave the entertainment.
The pool is nice with a lot of sunbeds but I think in the height of summer this could feel cramped and a bit claustrophobic as everyone is usually there all day everyday.
Overall if you want a week if winter sun in a child free resort then this is a very easy place to do all of that. I don't really go for all inclusive big hotels but to be honest this was perfect for what we wanted.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaymaker183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just returned from a two week break, all inclusive in a mountain view room which was really nice, great view of Teide. Why pay for a sea view when your hardly ever in it? It was just what we wanted a quiet, relaxing and child free. On it's own on the edge of a small sandy beach about a 20 min walk to the small town of El Medano. Not the place to go if you want nightlife and partying. A great base for cycling, which my husband did daily, ( all up hill) !!!The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels. You could also get fresh towels for your sun beds daily from the Spa. The food was good, with a choice of freshly cooked fish and meat. The wine and beer was on tap so you could just help yourself at mealtimes and not have to wait to be served. The bar staff both at the pool bar and at the main bar were always very freindly and helpfull. The weather was good, but just remember that El Medano is famous for windsurfing and therefore windy at times!
The entertainment team of Richard and Jose made our holiday one to remember, especially Richard on the Karioke!!!! Always so freindly and really got you to join in all the games and entertainment.This is a great way to meet all the other guests.
Looking forward to going back soon.

Room Tip: We always prefere a high room. The veiw from the back over the mountains were great as I'm sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just got back from Hotel Arenas in El MadanoTenerife Lovely Hotel good food and all the staff where lovely,If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing holiday this is the place to go all adult Hotel,It is on the beach lovely views from the restraught always something different to eat every night and plenty of choice,freshly cooked chicken,chops,steak,pizza and plenty of salad, fruit and deserts,Plenty of choice for breakfast nice crispy bacon and plenty of fresh crusty bread every meal and lovely soup all the food was hot,The only thing was it says in the rightup it is only 10minutes walk to the harbour and town and it was 20-25 minute walk but it was very nice when you finaly got there lovely beach and plenty of cafe,s to sit and have a cupper, and a few shops.

Room Tip: Try to book a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean43NorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed here ages ago! But I didn't write a review - and I like to... I thought this was a really nice hotel, with a good location if you are happy to be away from the maddening crowd. El Medano is quite far from the main tourist areas of Tenerife, so you get a different experience. It's quite quiet. We used to go into the town each night. I found it so relaxed, even though the weather wasn't particularly nice (the sun was totally blocked out by the clouds) I had a nice time.

So, the town is about 20 minutes max walk away (depending on how slow/fast you go), and there are a few bars there - and English one too! If the pizza restaurant is still there, you'll only need one between you. We accidentally ordered a massive one each!

The hotel I found really nice, and liked the layout of our superior double. We were facing away from the sea, watching the world go by. It was really clean, modern, perfect. We didn't really stay in the hotel much in the evening, other than the last couple of nights. I got picked to take part in the bird show and ended up handling an eagle!

It is a small hotel with only one pool, so if you will be staying in the hotel, but don't like seeing the same people over again it maybe isn't the place for you.

I really enjoyed the food, my (then) boyfriend not so much, but he is quite picky. I tried some things I'd never eaten before, like Swordfish. They use a lot of local produce, which is great!

The bf felt it was lacking some attention to detail, like cleaning the dining room windows. It's right by the water though, so I can imagine that is a never ending job.

There was an animation team in the hotel, but due to the weather no-one joined in! Shame, as the animation lady was really enthusiastic.

And the all inclusive was really generous. If you ordered wine they just gave you a bottle!

It's also not too far from Santa Cruz de Tenerife, the island's capital if you fancy a visit there. We got the bus there. Just be sure to get change, as the driver was a bit narked when I tried to give him a 20 euro note, and told me to get some change. Lo and behold, he produced a pocket full of fivers...!! When you get the bus back you get it from the main bus depot. TITSA is the name of the bus company...

All in all I had a really nice time, and would be happy to go back if I was in the area. I really liked El Medano. Happy travels!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank xxTinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just enjoyed a week all inclusive and have no hesitation in giving a 5 star, excellent rating. It's not for everyone but if you want a peaceful relaxing holiday and wish for nothing more than relaxing by the pool, eating the excellent choice of quality food, being served by helpful friendly staff, not requiring a trip to the shops, not expecting to be entertained, not insisting on premium drinks and just wanting to chill, then this is the place. A very short ransfer from the airport, plenty of strolling along the beach, no kids, no hassle from timeshare touts, a feeling of safety and security, an adequqte gym and very clean and comfortable rooms. If there is a downside it's having to pay for the spa, (i would expect to pay for treatments but not to just use the indoor pool and jaccuzi).

Room Tip: Our view was of the car park and Teide and not the sea but it didnt matter a bit
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roobumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Medano
0.7 mi away
El Medano Hotel
El Medano Hotel
#2 of 5 in El Medano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
4.6 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & ...
#1 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
13.0 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,320 reviews
5.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenas del Mar

Property: Hotel Arenas del Mar
Address: Av. Europa, 2, 38612 El Medano, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > El Medano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Medano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arenas del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arenas del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenas Del Mar Beach
Hotel Arenas Del Mar El Medano, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing