We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not 4*”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Arenas del Mar
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Medano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 21-28 December 2012. We had read previous reviews, good and bad, but, as we always do, we went along with an open mind. What follows is an unbiased view of the hotel.
First and foremost, this holiday was advertised as a couples only package, yet for part of our stay, there were young children staying at the hotel.

For the duration of our stay, apart from the poolside bar, the only place to get drinks was from the small bar in the Cafeteria. Not exactly the stylish bars that we were expecting – more akin to a transport café, complete with plastic table & chairs. There was only ever one bartender which resulted in queues & frayed tempers on more than one occasion. This extremely small area was also where the entertainment took place. (Bingo anyone?) Most people had no option but to migrate into the cramped reception area to enjoy their drinks. This also caused a problem as on Christmas Eve there were several “Brits behaving Badly” (you know who you are!!) felt the need shout, scream and sing, long after the bar closed, without any thought of other residents trying to sleep. Not entirely the Hotels fault however they could have moved these people to an area of the Hotel where they wouldn’t have disturbed everyone else.

The general level of cleanliness throughout the hotel was not up to the expected standard: the toilets in the reception area looked as if they hadn’t been cleaned for some time with black tidemarks around the toilet bowls and dirty finger marks on the doors & walls. A seating area outside this toilet facility consisted of two armchairs and a side table on a rusty chrome base. No attempt was made to keep the staircases free from the inevitable sand, making them potentially dangerous.

Although the food was good, varied and plentiful, and we expected some queuing, the dining room was let down by filthy chairs and insufficient staff to clear tables. There seemed to be a lack of management direction in this area, with often only one member of staff responsible for clearing & laying tables in what was a vast space. It was often a case of self–help for many of the guests. The only time that there was any system in place was on Christmas night when the Maitre D directed operations.

Unfortunately, the general level of cleanliness, or lack of it, extended to our suite, in
particular the bathroom, the floor of which was dirty when we arrived and remained
so for the duration of our stay. Given that the toilet bowl, basin & bidet were all wall
mounted, it really shouldn’t have been difficult to clean it adequately, yet the corners
of the room contained accumulated dust & fluff, as did the marble surrounding the
basin. On the floor was as dented, rusty pedal bin. The shower screen was covered in
hard water marks and the seal was filthy. The extractor fan did not work and looked
as if it had not worked for some time as the paint on the ceiling was flaking. The
promised visit from the maintenance man did not happen. There was no other
ventilation in the room – need I say more? Towels were old, grey and frayed. Chrome
fittings (towel rings, loo roll holder etc) hadn’t seen a duster for some time. Hotel
Inspector, Alex Polizzi would definitely have been diving into her big red bag had
she been staying at this hotel!

Beds were comfortable, but initial impressions of the room were let down the tired
bed covers. This impression paled into insignificance when removal of the covers
revealed worn, frayed sheets & pillow cases that had been put on inside out. Storage
space was completely inadequate, given that most of the wardrobe contained a
supporting pillar and the safe. Strangely, the only full length mirror was in the
bathroom. Given that there was no ventilation in our bathroom, this was a particular
problem for us, as the room was usually too steamy or too smelly for the mirror to
have been of use.

We were allocated room 123 at the back of the hotel and weren’t too bothered by the
lack of a view. Our balcony was set back from the canopy over the hotel’s reception
area and on the odd occasion when we did look out from it, we were greeted by the
abandoned detritus of previous residents: cigarette ends, the remains of a pizza a
towel, underwear and a used item of ‘feminine hygiene’. Yuk!
In short, this hotel had the structure of a 4* but sadly was operating at 2-3*.
We will not be returning, although we would consider staying elsewhere in El Medano as it is a charming little town

Room Tip: Take ear pugs with you as the hotel can be quite noisy at night, unless of course they decide to ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sacko21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,556 - 1,562 of 2,257 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have stayed at many great 4 and 5 star hotels, yet have read many poor reviews totally unjustified, the poor reviews I have read about this hotel totally belies my experience, the hotel was exactly as described, the staff first class the food very good, the facilities and rooms spotlessly clean. I heard some one complain about the food when I was there, it was one item I think the eggs, but there was a choice of 4 different egg dishes why not try another I did. The scrambled tasted a bit vinegary so I did not eat it I had 2 hard boiled instead, and I liked it. So come on, look at what you got, a great hotel, plenty of choice, clean rooms, chatty and helpful staff, great views, a quiet pleasing out look. I got far more for my money than I expected and I have very high expectations, maybe those who are complaining are complaining for no reason.
Thank you all the staff for making 20th to 30th December 2012., a great holiday for Phil Bentham and Sue Simcock in room 517.

Room Tip: Sea view junior suite front to sea or side facing sea and beach no views from the front entrance exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

we have just got back from a 9 day hol in the hotel arenas del mar, well were do i start, 1 thomas cook recomended a junior suite wth mountain view,,,,,, we had a car park . i very quickley went and complained, we had 2 pay 2 be upgraded, 136 euros. we were offered a great view, we were put in2 a corner room, but that & the size of the room were the only things good goin 4 it.(then we found out a couple got a free upgrade, but only found this out on the last day grrrrrrrrr) the maids we had were lazy, our room was never cleaned proper, never wiped down cup rings there all the time we were, the bathroom was mingin, you could not see threw the shower screen. they were long black hair all around the toilet, im blond my hubby as short hair. these were never moved all the time we were there. the bedding was in poor shape. holes in & frayed. THE FOOD. omg what a load of crap, they was lots on offer, but all very cheap cuts of meat, nasty, eggs & chicken not cooked proper, very under cooked. would i go again NO, i will say the deco very nice, like i said all sugar coated,read the review kevo 1220, we 100% agree with them.except the bit about the room.

Room Tip: ask 4 a sea view or a corner room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bevseenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

First impressions were not great but once we went inside the hotel it is very pleasant. We had a room on the 2nd floor at side of hotel so had a very nice view of the sea and beach. We got the afternoon sun on the balcony which was lovely. The staff were okay, especially house keeping and Richard the games co-ordinator which were very welcoming. Food was of good standard for buffet style. As we were half board (not all inclusive) we were able to choose between lunch or evening dinner alongside breakfast, which gave us flexibility for going out to eat

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaygal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We've just got back from a 7 day break at the Hotel Arenas del Mar. First impression of the hotel as you drive up is not that good, a grey drab looking building in the middle of nowhere, but once inside it looks much better, booking in was straight forward enough then up to our room, which was described as a junior suite. Form our balcony you had a great view of the car park. We didn't intend to spend much time in the room so we lived with it. On a positive note the room was kept clean and fresh towels everyday. The food on the other hand can only be described poor, with breakfast being about the best meal of the day, but the tea and coffee machines are awful. Lunch and dinner were a nightmare understaffed and over crowded you could wander about looking for a table with plate of warm food rapidly cold. To top it all who in their right mind serves GOAT meat on Christmas Day. With watery mash potatoes. I've stayed in loads of all inclusives hotels in Tenerife this one being the worst by miles. I would never return here. If you read a good review, the people who wrote it must be easily please. Note. I asked one of the staff for some chairs in the restaurant . She just walked off!

Stayed: December 2012
10  Thank kevo1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Just got back from a week in el medano,stayed at this hotel with 3 friends and had a great time,the food was really good,the staff were friendly especially the bar staff and the poolside team,already looking at booking again!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank patawayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The hotel is the perfect place for winter sunshine and total relaxation. The rooms were impressive, comfortable and well maintained. An unexpected upgrade to a junior suite was an added bonus. The spa itself was wonderful but the opportunity to pre-book the facility would have been great. The food was excellent value with a varied breakfast, lunch and dinner menu.
The entertainments programme was adequate, although Jose and Ricardo endeavoured to involve everyone. The bar staff and dining room staff were pleasant and did their utmost to accomodate. All in all, the break was thoroughly enjoyable, relaxing and exceeded my expectations.

If you are seeking more activity, life and partying from your holiday then maybe this is not the hotel for you.

Perfect for peaceful winter sunshine!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Medano
0.7 mi away
El Medano Hotel
El Medano Hotel
#2 of 5 in El Medano
410 reviews
12.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#13 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,773 reviews
22.4 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & ...
#1 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
4,902 reviews
4.6 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
1,758 reviews
5.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenas del Mar

Address: Avenida Europa 2, 38612 El Medano, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > El Medano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Medano
Price Range: $110 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arenas del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arenas del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenas Del Mar Beach
Hotel Arenas Del Mar El Medano, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing