We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Child Free Bliss Yet Again!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arenas del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Arenas del Mar
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Medano
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Child Free Bliss Yet Again!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

My partner and I have just enjoyed a superb holiday at this excellent hotel, which has just become for Adults only and all-inclusive, both of which were reasons for us choosing it. We stayed from November 23 to 30, and travelled with Thomson /First Choice.We stayed "All Inclusive", so we are unable to comment on the cost of any food or drinks.

The Airport is very close, so the transfer took only about a quarter of an hour. Despite this proximity, there was very little aircraft noise to disturb us, and such as there was, was not a nuisance.

Upon arrival, we were shown to our room, which was lovely but faced the rear of the hotel and the mountains. We asked to upgrade to a sea-view room and were allocated 210. This is a superb room, a mini-suite really, and well worth the upgrade.

The bathroom was spacious, well-stocked with soaps and shampoos; a very efficient shower within the bath; a toilet and bidet; plenty of clean towels and a huge mirror.

The twin beds were superbly comfortable and we slept well every night. Plenty of wardrobe space and very efficient air-conditioning. The lounge area had a comfortable large couch, armchairs and a desk and a flat-screen television, which broadcast virtually all the BBC and ITV Channels, as well as Sky. A set of patio doors led to an impressively large, furnished balcony affording the most amazing sea-views. We enjoyed many a lovely sunset. The room was cleaned every day by a charming lady, who does her job very well.

The Bar and it's outside patio were extremely nice and there was plenty of choice of drinks.

The Dining-Room was spacious and well-appointed and all the food was of a very fine quality. There was plenty of choice at every meal and the meal times were very generous. The Dining-Room chairs are worn and stained and need to be either replaced or re-upholstered.

The pool area and the grounds are very well kept and there were plenty of sun-beds.

The Reception Staff were most courteous, helpful and efficient. All of the other Staff were very friendly and ensured that we enjoyed our stay.

A most successful holiday in an extremely well-run Hotel. Thank you.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea-view room if there is one available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank denstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    755
    322
    130
    78
See reviews for
227
1,376
48
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (762)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel was a dream for us. We booked a junior suite with a sea view room and the balcony was amazing any time of day or night. The room was very clean and towels were always provided. There was also a mini fridge for storing water or wine that can be bought for cheap in the shop next door to the hotel. The food was amazing, cooked right in front of you and always hot a delicious. You can also get a packed lunch if you're going on a day trip and a continental breakfast is available from really early, which is great if you're getting picked up at 8am! Free beer/wine/sangria from 10am if you're all inclusive and there were always sun loungers free beside the pool when we went down. The pool is heated salt water in winter, which was strange, but felt a lot better than chemically chlorine! Plus the beach/sea is right beside the hotel if you want something different. The entertainment is really made for middle-aged to retired English people, although the staff did try hard during the quizzes, and the all inclusive booze kept us mildly interested

As scuba divers we did our speciality DPV course with Medanodive which is 10mins away from the hotel. I would seriously go to them if you wanna delve into the underwater world!

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel and El Medano town to people who want a quiet getaway, with delicious food and beer!

Room Tip: Ask for a junior suite with a sea view, it is completely worth the money!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HarleTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have stayed at many AI four star hotels all over the world, and this is the worst I have ever stayed at. General look of the hotel was ok, and our room was cleaned everyday, but that is where anything positive ends. This hotel is woefully understaffed and this made every other aspect of our stay disappointing. We joked for 5 of our 7 day stay that the bins (bar the ground floor) in the stairwell had not been emptied.
As others have said, although the barman worked tirelessly, he simply could not be everywhere at once, this left people queing at the bar. Now let's analyse the food...awful, awful, awful, we virtually had to live on pizza and chips for the week, and belive me I am not fussy in the slightest.
Again I believe the bad food was largely down to the fact only 1 member of the kitchen team was ever available(poor quality meat also). Do not get me wrong I know hot countries have flies, but this place did nothing to kerb the little blighters, and whether inside, or out, they plague you. I cannot comment too much on the entertainment as the 1 guy running this was not up to the job and we avoided it.
Last, but not least, location, this hotel is very remote and even if you walk the 20 minutes or so to El Medano itself, it is not up to much, with very few shops, bars and restaurants. I would liken El Medano to a housing estate.
Rather than not believing the bad reviews, be very wary of the good ones.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a real gem!!! My partner and I stayed here for 1 week, the staff were lovely, the food was plentiful and something for everyone. The spa is well worth a visit especially for a massage. We would definately visit here again. I too read the reviews, but don't believe the bad ones. The entertainment is good, they try their best to attend to every need and the staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascot
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed for I week 17 Nov 2012. Stayed in a sea view suite. Don't stay on the landward side, you have a view of the car park and lots of aircraft noise.

All inclusive food reasonable, free beer and wine on tap in restaurant. Room was good, large balcony, lovely sea view. You can walk to El Medano town, which is Spanish (no "sky sports-Huddersfield v Wigan tonight!" but otherwise you are stuffed without a car. I would hire one from the airport for the week- we paid £65 with Hertz on special offer. The evenings were a bit long and boring, as there was nothing to do but drink. The entertainment was dire.

This is a middle-aged couple type hotel, with younger couples thrown in about 30%. Good Internet in the public areas.

Wouldn't stay again as too remote from other restaurants, bars etc. Too far for taxi, and can't drink if you drive.

Room Tip: Sea view essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fastdave2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Deeping
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Don't know what type of Muppet's are putting negative feedback on with regards to this excellent hotel.
Have just returned from a 10 night all inclusive holiday - great sea view room,. Cleaned everyday to a high standard.

Towels for around the pool available and can change daily , if they are not back from the wash , you get a token.

Normal sado's up at the crack of dawn to put towels on , no need plenty of sun beds, chairs and tables. All the umbrellas available never used.

Nice clean pool and surrounding area's, pool bar great service, never waited for longer than a couple of minutes to get a drink .

Entertainment during the day , a great laugh - Jose a great host , he went on holiday half way though our holiday , and Richard soon got up to speed.

WE have never met such a great bunch of people on holiday, everyone friendly and great to be with. As from 1st November - NO CHILDREN - fantastic.....

Although the Hotel is isolated , the local town/village/hamlet a 10 minute walk along the beach has limited shops and Bars , it does have a Saturday market albeit like a local jumble sale, well worth the walk.

Have read reports the area is windy , sure is , but excellent for wind surfing, the sound of the waves at night was lovely, and waking up to the crashing sound was not a negative , but a great experience.

10 Euro return bus trip into Los Cristianos is worth it , book at reception the day before , good time top order a packed lunch as well.

Bus leaves at 10.15hrs and returns from 3 pick ups from 16.45hrs.

The normal evening entertainment , quiz , bingo etc , the odd singer , but the Snake a Eagle show are all about a Photo opportunity.. this could be an area of improvement.

Lots of choice in the restaurant, should meet even the most demanding guests..Most main dishes freshly cooked , yes the Beer, wine, water and coffee is self service , if you want to be waited on hand and foot seek out a different venue.

All the Staff are very friendly ,and are encouraged by a two way dialogue.

We are booking again for next year , never thought we would find such a gem of a hotel.

Very many thanks to all ........

Room Tip: Sea View , as the mountain view although good does have some aircraft noise- so I am told
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JSD6228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

First the good thing; our room was very nice and was cleaned daily.

This was the only good thing about the hotel.

The hotel does not employ porters so you will have to drag your cases to one of the two shaky creaky lifts that serve six floors with hundreds of rooms and hope that the lift does not break down.

The hotel restaurant has spectacular views over the beach and the coastline. Unfortunately “food” is served in the restaurant. This food is obviously the very cheapest and most basic the hotel can buy in. The cooking is abysmal with the food very badly cooked being either raw or burnt. Tough pieces of meat or unidentifiable lumps of fish or bony chops look extremely unappealing. White barely cooked chips glistening with oil are dumped at the serving counter. The choice of the hot dishes is so limited that people were wandering up and down looking for something that looked vaguely edible. At breakfast coming down to be confronted with boiled carrots, green beans, or cabbage or even roast turkey with croquettes does not make a gladsome start to the day. At each meal you could see leftovers from the previous meal chopped into smaller pieces to make them look more appetising. The coffee and fruit juice, both from dispensers when they are working, are undrinkable.

The hotel does not employ waiters so you will have to wander round on entry to the restaurant to try to find a clean table as the lack of clearing staff means that most of the tables are heaped high with dirty plates and crockery on stained tablecloths,

Wine with the meal came from a self serve dispenser which had usually run out. On several occasions the water dispenser was out of water too. Owing to the shortage of clearing staff these dispensers could not be refilled in a timely manner so remained empty.

We were on an all inclusive package but, unlike every other all inclusive hotel we have stayed at (even those with a lower star rating) cocktails were not included. It was local spirits or very basic cheap wine.

The swimming pool is too small to cater for the number of rooms in the hotel. The poolside area is bleak concrete with so many broken sun loungers that you will have to search to get an unbroken one. Our sun towels were thin, frayed, one had a hole in and altogether looked as though they were many years old so we used our own towels.

There is a nice terrace and bar area overlooking the sea but this is locked up until 13.00 so you cannot sit out there in the morning which means that if the pool area is full there is nowhere to sit apart from the dim lobby.

The very few staff at the hotel work extremely hard multitasking in all departments and have a very difficult job with long hours and the sheer volume of work they are expected to get through. There was only one barman at the bar in the evening to serve all the guests in the hotel.

In short this hotel is run at the least possible expense to the management with barely any staff, the cheapest food available, basic drinks only, and was not worth the money we paid our tour operator and is definitely not four star.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 614SusanFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Medano
0.7 mi away
El Medano Hotel
El Medano Hotel
#2 of 5 in El Medano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & ...
#1 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,470 reviews
4.7 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,226 reviews
21.3 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
33.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenas del Mar

Property: Hotel Arenas del Mar
Address: Av. Europa, 2, 38612 El Medano, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > El Medano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Medano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arenas del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Arenas del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenas Del Mar Beach
Hotel Arenas Del Mar El Medano, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing