We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - shame about the food & location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Arenas del Mar
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Medano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel, the room was clean and the hotel grounds were nice. The area it was in was completely out the way, it was a 2km walk into the small village, very spanish. If you want stuff to do, I wouldn't recommend staying here. The food was the same every night, not much of a variation. The reception staff were lovely, so was one of the bar staff but the rest didn't even smile. The amount we paid for all inclusive was not worth it, there was no snacks in between meals and the all inclusive drinks were only served 10am - 11am.

Wouldn't recommend fr young couples.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xoWanderlustxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,703 - 1,709 of 2,331 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

After reading some of the reviews on here I was expecting to be transported to the back of beyond, to a grey miserable hotel with hundred mile an hour winds disturbing my sunbathing and airplanes swooping over and deafening me every five minutes. Luckily that was DEFINITELY not the case. The transfer literally takes 10 minutes tops from the aiport (a plus after a long day travelling). The hotel does look a little isolated from the inside, but once inside the reception area was lovely and welcoming and the staff very helpful. We had a junior suite which was nice, but please don't let this word lead you to believe it is much larger than a normal hotel room as that isn't the case, the sleeping area is just separated from the living area by a wardrobe. However it was furnished and decorated stylishly, much more so than any other Spanish hotel I have been to. The bathroom was big with a bath and shower and plenty of mirror space. Some small things in our room did need a little tlc but I am aware it is high season and they are likely to do this when things go quieter or in advance of them going 'adults only' from November, but it was nothing major that detracted from our enjoyment of the holiday. My only complaint about the room would be that the beds, pillows and sofa are HUGELY uncomfortable. We had 2 single bed, with separate bedding/sheets etc pushed together which means ultimately someone has to sleep in the crack! Something they might want to rethink if they are marketing at couples.

The pool area was nice and yes it is windy but the hotel does everything they can to make sure that bathers are protected from the wind with high glass panels. We found one area far too windy but simply getting up and moving to the other side of the pool resolved this problem. The wind is nice and cools you down. The pool was lovely and warm and the bar always staffed for drinks and cocktails. The staff put on entertainment for you to join in if you wish but were not pushy. They also like to sell cocktails etc (not part of the all inc deal) so will give you tasters to enjoy and they really are worth the extra. There is a roof terrace area where you can move to later on in the afternoon which was a lovely sun trap and a place to enjoy afternoon tea! YES planes do go over a few times a day, but really, who is bothered by this??! It is 5 seconds of minor noise and you don't notice half the time.

The food was always tasty, warm and plentiful. Even though the hotel seemed busy there was always somewhere to sit and you never felt rushed. It is serve yourself and the waiters work really hard clearing away and offering bottles of wine. The bar however did get busy and sometimes we couldn't find a place to sit until it had quietened down (and kids had gone to bed!!!). The entertainment is a little cheesy as the kids tend to take priority but all done with enthusiasm and the entertainment manager literally never stops. The drinks are all what you would expect from an AI package and were lovely! Bar did shut at 11 but they have no problems with 'stocking up' before it closes.

El Medano was a short walk away or 3E in a taxi and is a lovely, relaxed and homely town. I do not like to go on holiday to feel 'at home' and it is nice to see Spanish culture rather than row upon row of English bars and restaurants serving sausage egg and chips. There are lovely tapas bars overlooking the sea and lots going on. It is a pleasure to visit and mingle with Spanish people taking their holidays. It is fun to sit on some of the beaches down there and see the watersports (and join in if you like!). All in all I would go again, only when it is adults only and I would hope that they have tailored things a bit more to couple clientele (eg double beds etc). Please don't be put off by negative reviews, if you want a relaxing break in a quiet, unassuming and authenticaly Spanish town then you will enjoy your break!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view as the car park is not so pretty :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Iheartcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable holiday at this hotel. We found the staff very pleasant and always helpful. We enjoyed using the spa, including a wonderful relaxing massage (3 for the price of 2!). The pool area was very clean and well catered for our needs.Whilst windy,this was great given the heat and gave a great overall tan.Beach water sports were good like windsurfing,kayaking,kite surfing and wave jumping.Although bars and restaurants were not on the doorstep it was a maximum10 minute walk to the bay of El Madano or 3 euros in a taxi (the basic fare).Once there you have plenty to choose from bars,restaurants,shops.A lot of Spanish people holiday here,which gives it a lovely feeling as you watch them play beach volley ball(join in if you feel up to it,we didn't but some did) they are all so family orientated,it gives you a relaxing feeling.The hotel from outside looks a bit cold but once inside we were very pleasantly surprised.The reception was lovely,restaurant clean welcoming,with many different food choices,on a daily basis.We were all inclusive which has included a weight gain,so back to feeding ourselves.The bar closed at 11pm for all inclusive,you can still get a drink if you wanted,but you have to pay for it.The room we had was a junior suite with a sea view,it was lovely.There were 3 of us(our daughter who is 15) it gave plenty of space,the beds were a little hard for me and the air con could have been a bit cooler,but overall clean and well presented.Buses are available to the larger towns at approximately 10 euros return pp,and taxis are governed by pricing structures.A taxi from the hotel to Los Christianos cost us 28 euro to the harbour.This is a wonderful hotel to stay at if you want a quiet relaxing holiday.If you want the night life this is not for you,unless you want to pay for a taxi( a 7 seater is the same price but you have to ask).Although very little for children to do,especially teenagers,our daughter still had a good time.We went on a catamaran to see the dolphins and wales (54 euros in the town) great day,played golf at Los Americas (22 euro to hire basic clubs,54 euro including buggie,bring your own balls and tees,I just wore trainers no problem,very enjoyable).Shopping in Los Christianos is very good ,and at night is wonderfully lit up,just head for Harry's bar you can't go wrong.Because there is little for children to do( you have the pool,beach,kids club,evening entertainment etc.) we can understand why it is to become,adult only from November.We very rarely return to anywhere,even if we have had a great time( you spend a lot of money,we like to see different places)there are a few we do consider going back too and this is one of those places.Everywhere has points that people don't like,it's hard to find the absolute perfect holiday,and we will take great pleasure in our search for it.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just returned from a 2wk holiday here. Lovely hotel, modern and clean. Food very good but did get a little repetitive near the end of the holiday. Alex on reception is a star and nothing was too much trouble. Pool area good and pool nice and warm (most days), very windy on certain days but with the heat this was very welcome. My only down side was that there is nothing to do in the area unless you're into wind sports. We like going for a bit of a walk after our evening meal and having a mooch about in local shops, bars etc but there are non in the area. Would return if I wanted a completely relaxing holiday doing nothing.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a seaview - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loz30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed in this hotel back in March of this year (24th) overnight. Upon entering the hotel, it has a very modern feel somewhat similar to the Vincci Hotel Group and the bar and terrace area look very nice. The rooms are a good size and the bathroom also, nice comfy bed and pillows so a good nights sleep is ensured. Each room has a nice terrace overlooking the pool except for the constant windy conditions you cannot really use it to the full. The solarium and terrace area is quite small and so it is difficult to get a bed at the pool if you arrive a little late and also to find a spot where it is not so windy. There is a spa and sauna area. It is not bad, but needs a bit of tender loving care!!!.....the toilet area and the locker area is very unkempt and not clean. Whilst I enjoyed using the spa, I was conscious of the fact that the cleanliness aspect left me a little in doubt......
We booked with breakfast and evening meal included. The breakfast is very basic to say the least but ok at the same time. The evening meal I found disappointing, very little choice and I had to leave some meat on my plate as it did not taste fresh !!! More geared to the tastes of English people (many English stay a this hotel). Not really for Spanish tastes I'm afraid.
All in all it is not a bad hotel as regards comfort and the bar area is good and reception and the staff were quite pleasant, but just the food should be looked into more to ensure more variety and that all the meats are fresh each day.....the spa should have a clean up and some items renewed. As I say ok for an overnight stay as there are many good restaurants in the town where one can eat and just use the hotel for bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet but personally I prefer to have a room which is on a 4th or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Just returned from this great area in Tenerife. Yes it is in real Spain but that is what makes it so good. El Medano is a small town with Spanish restaurants, cafes and bars and is a haven for wind and kite surfers from all around Europe. The area is prone to wind and this really helps to cool the high temperatures around the pool. The airport is only ten minutes away and planes are visible but our party of 12 did not have a problem with them. The hotel is very contemporary and this is very apparent upon arrival at the stylish reception area. Staff are friendly and efficient from the off and problems/questions are dealt with immediately. Our family of four, 2 adults and two girls 17 and 15 stayed in a one bedroom apartment which had more than ample space for the four of us. It was cleaned every day and was very well furnished with good air conditioning. We were apprehensive about staying here as we normally stay at a larger complex but the smaller hotel really impressed us - it had a really nice community spirit to it. Our children found it easy to socialise as did we with the many families and couples present. Getting sun beds around the pool was easy and no getting up at the crack of dawn to do this. Infact we would go to breakfast and hit the pool around ten and plenty of beds were still available and the hotel was busy. We were part of an all inclusive package which was great. Drinks were local but good and alcohol was available from 10 am until 11pm, so if you wanted to drink all day you could but it was not that sort of hotel. The food in the hotel was served in the modern and large restaurant. The food was good with enough selection and there was always fresh fish and meat and always a roast joint with fresh vegetables. The homemade pasta/pizza and paella was excellent and there was plenty of fresh fruit. A nice touch during the evening meal was being able to help yourself to the local beer and wine! The hotel had a good entertainment programme led by Jose who got people involved especially on an evening, which at times was very entertaining. There is also a very nice spa but this is at an extra cost. We understand the hotel is going to become an adults' only hotel which is a shame as we would go back and the reason for this is because it was very relaxing, all of our party really enjoyed themselves and it was just outside the livlier resorts. And finally a trip to Siam Park is highly recommended as is a trip up into the mountains which house the highest point in Spain, the volcano Mt Teide.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank SunderlandNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Please, please DO NOT take notice of the bad reviews. This is a little gem of a hotel. If what you want is a get away from it holiday then this is the place. Ok it is not the best looking hotel from the outside but inside it is very clean and modern. It is VERY windy mind, but it was welcome as it is hot. you can always get a sun bed no matter what time you go down to the pool. As for the people moaning about the planes going over, yes they do but it really doesn't bother you and you don't notice them after a while. The food was always very good with a lot of choice and the drinks in the restaurant are self service from pumps including beer,wine and soft drinks. The bar closes at 11 oclock on the dot, but again if you want a "rowdy" free holiday this is not a problem. All in all a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Diana916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Medano
0.7 mi away
El Medano Hotel
El Medano Hotel
#2 of 5 in El Medano
428 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Playa Sur Tenerife
Hotel Playa Sur Tenerife
#3 of 5 in El Medano
130 reviews
12.4 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 14 in San Miguel de Abona
2,143 reviews
13.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#16 of 61 in Costa Adeje
2,837 reviews
25.4 mi away
Sol Costa Atlantis
Sol Costa Atlantis
#10 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenas del Mar

Address: Avenida Europa 2, 38612 El Medano, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > El Medano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Medano
Price Range: $116 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arenas del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Arenas del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenas Del Mar Beach
Hotel Arenas Del Mar El Medano, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing