We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent clean hotel, Excellent quiet location, Poor food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Arenas del Mar
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Medano
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent clean hotel, Excellent quiet location, Poor food.”
Reviewed June 23, 2011

This hotel has an amazing location for a quiet relaxing holiday. The hotel staff are very friendly, the hotel is well docorated, the pool area is great, the spa is great and the rooms with a sea view are fantastic. This element of the holiday was definately 4*.

The food, the bars etc were however not 4* and I was very dissappointed with this. The only snack from the Pool Bar was a toastie (and only served until 1pm), the 'Afternoon Tea' was left over miniture pastries from breakfast, all hot drinks and juices are out of vending machines and do not taste overly nice, the buffet had a good select for one or two days but then it was the same food repeated - made worse by the fact that food served for the evening meal, was then served again for lunch the next day and vice versa (PS. I am not a fussy eater). The bar only served until 11pm.

Do not book a transfer with the holiday company. Taxi's in all the Canary Islands are well regulated and a good price. The taxi's for here are located directly outside the terminal, take 10 minutes to get to the resort and cost less then 15 Euros. Much cheaper then Thomson's £25 per head transfer cost.

This hotel for location, style and service is definately worth the money, but the catering needs bringing up to the price demanded for the holiday (and the 4* rating!).

Room Tip: ask for a 5th Floor Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    777
    329
    133
    79
See reviews for
231
1,431
52
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one week in mid May and have to say it is one of the best holidays we have had. From our arrival at the hotel (about 10 mins by taxi from the airport - we paid 12 euros) we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Anna on reception was just lovely and made sure we had all the information we needed.

Our room was clean and comfortable with a good view from the balcony. We had a mountain view which was fine, I don't personally think we would have had any extra benefit had we paid the extra for the seaview.

The food was delicious and there was plenty to choose from each day. Even my husband (who is quite fussy and alergic to certain foods) couldn't find fault with the food.

The staff were (mostly) all great; Ilija (Entertainment) and Anna (Reception) and the french lady who did the pool bar (sorry, I can't remember her name) were all really friendly and polite as were the restaurant staff.

It is quite breezy on the headland, but as the Tenerife sun is so hot it was not a problem for us. The local town is a 10 minute stroll away and there you will find bars and restuarants.

I would recommend this hotel and we'll be returning for sure. I was a little concerned after reading some of the reviews but honestly, I cannot find anything to fault.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

just got back from the holiday, and had to write my review. before we went we read the reviews, and found a mixed bag of comments. now that we have been, i would go back there tommorrow.! the staff were friendly, the place was spotless, the food was great, and after seeing the staff eating the same food that they gave the guests, i was not concerned with bad stomachs etc. cant fault the place, the staff and the place is A1.

Room Tip: all views worth looking at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ednaloader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

A friend and I went to this hotel for a long weekend and found the hotel to be the 4 Stars that it is given. It is in a fairly isolated position which is also on the windy part of the island. You are about a 20 min walk from the town, should you want to venture out. Otherwise there is nothing but residential properties around. It stands right next to the beach and is a known spot for both kite & wind-surfers. When the wind gets up by the pool, you are very exposed to it.

However, the hotel itself is very nice and the staff are extremely friendly and very helpful. We went all-inclusive and found this to be very good value for money. The food was from a buffet each mealtime, but there was a fair amount of choice and it was ok. Not brilliant but better than some I have tried. The room (we stayed in a suite) was of a good size and was very clean.

There is one pool which is a saltwater pool and a very small childrens pool. The sunbeds could do with more sunshades but saying that it is not one of these hotels where people are putting out their towels at stupid o'clock in the morning!

If you are thinking of bringing children then I would think again as there is absolutely nothing for them to do. There is a very small play area, but no activities and they would be very bored and as the sunbathing area is quite small, probably drive everyone mad!

We did not use the Spa so can't comment on that, but it seemed that a lot of people were and it looked very nice.

Overall a good value small resort that served us well for a long weekend. It is in the flight path as well but thankfully there are not that many planes during the day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purpleprincesskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Our holiday was booked at the last minute and within 24 hours we were there. The initial impression of the hotel as we arrived late at night was a prison on the rocks however the inside is very modern clean and inviting as were the attentive staff.

The facilities are good and entertainment interesting. The only negatives we could add is the all inclusive bar closed at 11pm and there was to much tinned fruit in the resteraunt.

What really made our holiday was the intimacy of the hotel and the people we met especially Ray who was the pool amusement.

Room Tip: ask for a 5th floor room which are sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra_shepherd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

I read lots of reviews before going to this hotel and has some concerns.... DONT! the hotel is very new, very modern and very clean. The food was excellent and the location was quiet and relaxing and genuine, a brilliant hotel if you want to relax and see a genuine canarian town. Very close to the airport so short transfers too!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boothy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Staff were so polite hard working and so lovely
Decor and ambience of this hotel was excellent
Very clean
Food was gorgeous
Rooms were lovely
Location was great
Weather was brilliant
Spa was fab
Entertainment was great
TBH Not a bad thing to say about this hotel. Im not too sure what people wanted with the bad reviews......Jam on it?

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RosieChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Medano
0.7 mi away
El Medano Hotel
El Medano Hotel
#2 of 5 in El Medano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
4.6 mi away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & ...
#1 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
13.0 mi away
GF Gran Costa Adeje
GF Gran Costa Adeje
#15 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,376 reviews
5.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenas del Mar

Property: Hotel Arenas del Mar
Address: Av. Europa, 2, 38612 El Medano, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > El Medano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Medano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arenas del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Arenas del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenas Del Mar Beach
Hotel Arenas Del Mar El Medano, Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing