We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Jameos Del Agua
from $68.10
More Info
from $43.80
More Info
from $51.90
More Info
Reviews (7,200)
Filter reviews
2,251 results
Traveler rating
1,303
604
228
76
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,303
604
228
76
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews albino crabs clams cesar manrique blind crabs tiny white crabs underground lake volcano museum swimming pool concert hall blue lagoon lava tube worth a visit beautiful place to visit volcanic activity take your time natural beauty grand tour
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,251 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

Always been interested in volcanoes, their raw power....so I thought being able to go in a lava tube would different. This attraction was very interesting but not quite what I expected. After paying you descend into the Jameos, basically the lava tube where the roof has fallen in, down rock steps to the restaurant level. From here you can see the famous pool with its albino crabs. You then descend more rock steps to the pool level. At this point the tube is very large, 10s of feet wide & high, and maybe 40(?) paces long. At the far end are more steps taking you up the César Manrique designed pool. At no time is it dark, narrow or threatening. The pool is very attractive and typically Manrique. At the far end is the auditorium which is the lava tube dipping its way down to go under the sea. A spiral staircase takes you back to ground level and the ubiquitous gift shop. The House of Volcanoes part of the attraction was closed when we visited so can’t comment on this.
NOTE:
1. We bought the 3 site combined ticket for €42 for 2 of us. If I remember right each place was roughly €9.50. Using it to visit Cueva de los Verdes & Mirador del Rio.
2. This place really isn’t suitable for those with mobility issues

Thank 318tonyg318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our visit! Even my 2 years old daughter loved it! It is everything but not boring, fantastic view from everywhere. At the end a lot of interesting facts about volcanoes. I would recommend it for everyone who visits Lanzarote.

Thank Anemona80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

but not really our cup of tea! Interesting and ingenious way of reconstruction work from volcanic activity. Our one favourite feature was the swimming pool with its pristine whitewashed sides and bottom and beautiful clear waters.
Loads of tourists and ground surface rather unsafe.

Thank tinkle_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

This was part of a day excursion while staying at Playa Blanca in Lanzarote. It is part of an old lava tunnel which has been enhance into a tourist attraction. It is famous for being home to small white albino crabs which live in a small pool of water at the site. While I cannot fault the amazing natural surroundings and what has been done to work in harmony with what nature has done, I was disappointed in the overall experience. You could quite easily move through the whole site in 30 minutes, not quite what was suggested in the various guides etc. Unless the crabs are a particular attraction, if you want to go underground into the lava tunnels, the nearby attraction of Cueva de les Verdes is much better

Thank markbM6508JY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CACTLanzarote, Customer Service at Jameos Del Agua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear markbM6508JY,

Firstly, thank you very much for your comment, your opinion is very important for this organization.

As you mentioned, Jameos del Agua and Cueva de Los Verdes, although part of the same volcanic tunnel, they offered the visitor a different experience.

The Jameos del Agua was the first Centre of Art, Culture and Tourism to be created by César Manrique and reflects one of the cornerstones of his creative work: harmony between nature and artistic creation. The vision of César when adapting Jameos for visitors was that the centre would be a place of leisure and pleasure, where visitors could relax and enjoy the natural environment, and at the same time extend the visit while enjoying the food and beverages offered at our restaurant and bar.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed the natural surroundings and the work of Manrique at Jameos and that you also enjoyed your visit to Cueva de Los Verdes, in which you can discover the underground details of the volcanic tunnel.

Yours sincerely,

Customer Service
Centros de Arte, Cultura y Turismo de Lanzarote

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

Visited today as part of a ‘Manrique’ tour. This underground lake and lava cave is simply beautiful and highly recommend.

Thank Nigel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

A most beautiful experience. Not a lot of tourists there the time we were there. Unfortunately we arrived a little late in the day so maybe therefore .... but well worth the visit.

Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I think this is the 4th time I was there and I'll go back with every occasion. What a nice quiet place to relax and enjoy.

Thank Sorin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The influence of Cesar Manrique is very apparent. It is an informative and entertaining place to visit. The crystal clear underground lake, the gorgeous pool and the stunning concert hall are followed by a volcanology exhibition, which is very interesting.

There are a couple of cafes serving food and drink.

We enjoyed a good hour or so here. We also enjoyed relaxing in the auditorium seats and finding “shapes” on the walls/ceiling of the concert hall! A dog wearing glasses, another dog’s face and a man with a moustache! We’ve uploaded our pictures!

There are lots of coach trips visiting, particularly when there are cruise ships in Arrecife, so a visit at opening time or after 4pm is recommended.

This attraction suits all age groups.

1  Thank Henny52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited here last month as part of a northern day trip (see separate review) Whilst we enjoyed the overall experience (some of our party had been here before) we were disappointed that a number of the interactive exhibits in the volcano museum were not working. I know it is always difficult with busy museums to keep these things functioning but it was a shame at the end of an otherwise excellent day out. On the plus side we saw lots of crabs and the coffee was excellent :)

Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Interesting place to visit and a great experience at the sights and the white crabs. Wonderful sight of the sea from thr heights . Good to visit.

Thank Okey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews