We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de Campo Cano Negro
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cano Negro
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Amazing place, organic food, excellent service.
This a great place for nature lovers and for those who are looking a palce to relax.
The gardens are beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benson_richard87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 99 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2010

Hotel De Campo was a pleasure to spend time with on both of my stays. I stayed there in January 2009 and 2010 on both visits the staff was personable and interested in helping me to enjoy the best of Cano Negro. My personal highlight was the great breakfast in the morning after a trip on the Rio Frio to fish for Tarpon. The rooms were comfortable with ac and fans. The pool was refreshing and allowed my wife and I time to relax and enjoy nature at a very comfortable pace. Thank you Mauro and Patricia!

Sincerely,
Aaron and Heather Wojtas
Denver, Colorado

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank awojtas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

I have stayed at Hotel de Campo in Caño Negro several times and always with the same result: excellent! The food, service, and ambience are first-rate, and I love the location with the garden sloping down right to the edge of the lagoon. If you’re a birdwatcher, like myself, the grounds themselves are very entertaining, and, of course, you also have the entire lagoon system just minutes away.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

I read the comments below and dont get it? The Swiss owner, who is married to a Tica and owned a hotel in Samara, is a funny guy that runs the best hotel in the area/region.

Not sure who the other posters are, but I feel qualified enough to make accurate statements concerning lodging in Costa Rica after 37 trips in 11 years of exploring and adventure.

The rooms are excellent, well decorated and clean as can be, the pool is one the coolest tiled pools I have seen, and the misses did the cooking and put forth one the best Tico style fish dishes I have come across, with a smile and pleasing manner.

We booked a boat and guide for the following morning and enjoyed every minute. Service was top notch.

For $70 w/breakfast, the pool, rooms and bar/dining area is a steal, rustic, charming and luxury all rolled into 1.

I will be sending my fishing buddies here pronto! My wife loved the place, and the owner was a hoot.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solohobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We felt the hotel and activities there were a highlight of a 17 day trip to Costa Rica. This was our 1st trip to Costa Rica. We went fishing one day and bird/animal watching the next. Both trips were terrific. The same young man guided us on both. Not only knowledgable but fun. The owner sat with us and gave us good info about what to expect on the excursions. We sat with him and his wife while they prepared dinner for us. Great evening learning about the area. For future reference, he told us what time of year to return to see other types of birds and when to return for the best fishing.
The restaurant was moderately priced and had limited choices but we were able to request meal in the morning that his wife went to the store and bought specific ingredients to prepare it that night. We certainly paid more for no better during our trip. Same for the rooms.
We will certainly go back and stay for 4-5 nights next year.

Jim & Deb
San Diego CA

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2bajadreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Three of us showed up on a rainy night to book a room and go fishing the next day with a friend in Cano Negro. We booked our rooms and were left at the office, under poring rain with no direction as to where was our cabina for our 2 night stay. One of us finally found a staff and ask for direction and maybe an umbrella to get to our cabina. They were aware of our fishing plans and not until the next day we were not allowed to have an early breakfast or even coffee as we were not fishing with them. We would of had to wait till 7:30 in the morning to have the inclusive breakfast. Since we were fishing, we went to Natural lodge and bought our breakfast and coffee in order to go fishing.
This doesnt end there... we came back to talk to the owner about our situation and we were told that if we did like it we could leave.... wow... At this point we had spent lots of money in their over priced restaurent with no menu and price... we had to constantly ask for service, and the owner was walking in and out of the kitchen with his hairy belly showing since his shirt was completely unbuttoned... Food there and price are in the upper teen and in the twenty dollars range... You wouldn't know because they do not give you a menu and price, the service does not reflect the price point that they are trying to acherve... One of their expensive dish is plain spagatti with garlic butter and some shell fish and fish. A similiar much better meal in Upala, the town down the road, is sold for less than 5 dollars.
After being told that if we didn't like it we could leave... we decided to leave and ask for a refund for our second night, he looked at us and said NO! We still left and promised to never returned. He believe that he did not do anything wrong... we were wrong...
I suggest everybody to not go there as he 1) treats Tico very badly, and clients as well and 2) It was very bad service, over priced and no customer services...
The place looks great but they have no clue...

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Waterandsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

The rooms may be up to standards, but the behavior of the manager Andrea Corte (an Italian from Switzerland) is not. He told our Costa Rican guide that he is not allowed to make arrangements for a certain trip but didn´t do the same to the American guide. We will not allow anybody to insult our guide who is the best in Costa Rica. The trip in question was not offered by the hotel; therefore the hotel could also not claim a comission! Andrea probably considers Costa Rica to be a colony of Switzerland. He also epßloys at least onbe young man under age a<nd has him work for 12-14 hours per day!! There are no price lists and the food is overpriced. Don´t go there! BA Austria

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatsBillinConnemara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cano Negro
23.7 mi away
Sabalos Lodge
Sabalos Lodge
#1 of 2 in Boca Sabalos
127 reviews
20.3 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
735 reviews
21.3 mi away
Heliconias Rainforest Lodge
Heliconias Rainforest Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
838 reviews
22.7 mi away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
330 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Los Volcanes
Hotel Los Volcanes
#5 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Campo Cano Negro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Campo Cano Negro

Address: Cano Negro 21402, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Cano Negro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cano Negro
Price Range: $87 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Campo Cano Negro 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Campo is situated in a beautiful property of 50.000 Sq mtrs completely dedicated to conservation with 80 species of tropical fruit trees, decorative plants, medical trees and plants, forest and trails surrounded by the unique Costa Rican nature. The property is facing 300 mtrs of Cano Negro lagoon and refuge. The Outdoors center hotel offers comfortable rooms with private baths, fans, A/C, hot water. The rooms are large, with top quality finishing, including fine woods and terracotta floors, to make you feel at home. The bar and restaurant are in a beautiful rustic structure. ​The rooms and swimming pool are located in a spacious green area in the shade of tropical fruit trees and flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Campo Cano Negro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing