We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome pools and hot springs!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Carlos
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
541 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Awesome pools and hot springs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stopped while on a bus tour so I can't comment on the rooms but the pools were a blast! We want to come back and stay. Several swim up bars. Very high end. Clean. Had great service at the bars. Great pina coladas. Pools are feel open air but are actually covered by canopies so sun burn wasn't an issue. They did a great job varying the temp of the different pools. Loved the jacuzzi pool.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeKerrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    239
    102
    61
    77
See reviews for
205
289
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Not value for money. Rooms were tired. Bathrooms in need of major renovations. Missing the details of a true top rated hotel. 20.00 lost spa towel fee for poor quality towels. Hot pools were slimy. Breakfast buffet was big but poor quality. Front desk staff rude and bartenders surly and sarcastic.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Orbiting1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

The hot springs were really relaxing and there was a ton of variety between pools. It was definitely worth the trip. The buffet dinner was good too.

Some cons:
Lockers are expensive and small and jammed into a super small, very crowded area.
Water Slides was WAY too fast - I went down one and it felt very unsafe.
The buffet was a bit chaotic - was unclear if you had to wait for the hostess to seat you, or if you could seat yourself and as a result we had 3 tables stolen from us!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This place is like a water park. It was meticulously clean, didn't feel like a cheesy place. I enjoyed the hot springs pool, while my husband and 3 children spent hours going down the three water slides. I booked 2 rooms at this hotel via booking.com. Remember to email or call the hotel a few days before your arrival to make sure that they don't switch you to an alternate hotel. Even after I was confirmed with my credit card for 2 adjoining rooms, upon arrival the front desk at the hotel denied that they had received this request. I was adamant that they at least give us 2 rooms on the first floor, which they finally agreed. There are several pools, some with wet bars or water slides and a few pools with hot waterfalls. There are lots of day pass visitors, but it did not bother us. Remember to return the pool towel, because it cost $25 to replace. This place has no elevator, so if you have little children, ask for rooms on the first floor level. Breakfast is free at this place, and food is so-so. We had pizza for dinner one night and it was so-so. For dinner on other nights we took the hotel taxi into La Foruna (cost $6 each way). The hotel helped us arrange for transfers to San Jose. Customer service was good overall and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: This hotel has no elevators, so if you have little kids or elderly, request for room on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabbit2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We didn't stay here, we just went for the hot springs. Make sure to buy your ticket in town - we paid $35 for dinner + hot springs (and I think some people got them for $32 or $33). Buffet was pretty good; decent selection of food (both local and non-local food). The hot springs were fantastic - we enjoyed the hotter springs (closer to the top), and had a blast on the water slides. Beware - they are FAST! If you have an injury, consider whether you want to ride, because it really throws you around. Even the slower one was really fast. Super exhilarating, but a bit crazy. We went in the evening, after white water rafting, and really enjoyed the hot springs experience. Overall, clean, and relaxing - very happy we made the trip here!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NicoleJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

- lots of kids running around
- this place can be a water park that can be put any place in the world that you can experience in the city you probably live in right now and won't know the difference, you won't experience costa rica at all through this place
- just an expensive aqua park, money maker you know you are getting ripped off and hosed at
- drinks non alcoholic are $5.50 PLUS tax of 13% and tip of 10% alcoholic beverages $10-12 USD
- buffet is pathetic, I think you will get better service and food if you go to jail for a night, seriously. Rice and beans that is plated for you by a very, VERY disgruntled worker!

** read reviews on BALDI HOT SPRINGS on trip advisor as well as BALDI HOT SPRINGS RESORT AND SPA before you decide to spend your hard earned money because This place does not deserve a peney of it!!

We work hard for our money just like everyone else and want value and we don't mind paying for good things are deserved and this is NOT one of them. take your loved ones that deserve it if you want to spend that kind of money to a place that does deserve it and trust us this is NOT the place...

**** check out the FREE hot springs right by tabacon hot springs resort open to public ****

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kitchenergirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

It is clean and has great ambiance. You can get a discount price $55 each for the day and buffet. The only thing to stay away from are the dangerous water slides. People were getting hurt all day. We also went to Los Gatos which is cheaper but not as fun.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
1.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
1.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
1.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa

Property: Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Address: Del Centro De La Fortuna 4 Km, San Carlos 83-6151, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel and Spa is located in the heart of Costa Rica, at the base of the Arenal Volcano in La Fortuna, San Carlos. This is the perfect family get away that offers 25 thermo mineral hot water pools flowing naturally from the base of the volcano. These medicinal hot springs waters are certified by NAL (National Water Laboratory) from the Government of Costa Rica. You will enjoy pools ranging in temperatures from 93, 100, 102, 104, 109, 110, 113, 116, 152 º F, a combination that is suitable to all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing