We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful end to a day of hiking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Carlos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

After hiking up Arenal volcano, over hanging bridges and down to La Fortuna waterfall, soaking in the hot spings was just the ticket. We were only there for a few hours but enjoyed every minute! I thought it was going to be natural hot springs but it seemed to be just pools at different temperatures. No matter - it served the same purpose!

You can open a tab and order at any of the bars at the various pools and dinner was pretty good. If you want a way to relax and wash the sun and dirt from a day of fun off - go to a hot springs!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DASH_Entertainment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (834)
There are newer reviews for Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 834 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Took all the aches and pains from a day of zip lining away. The slides are insane! They brought back memories of water parks as a kid. Secure lockers, and clean showers. The buffet is first class all the way.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank andreashay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We didnt stay at this hotel, but just came to visit the pools.

This place was amazing, expensive, but amazing. Definitely something worth doing, I heard it was the largest hot springs in the world.

The different levels and pools and caves were fun to explore.

We went at the end of rainy season so it was perfect, i am not sure I would have wanted to be there in 40 degree weather.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I thought it was one of a kind.... as per the internet brochure I saw. The view is wonderful, if you get nice weather. Anyway, you go there for the hot springs. That´s it! don´t expect anything else. Everything is crowded, expensive, flashy. I love the volcanos hot water and hot they manage it. But don´t expect quite....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabyML1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Preface: We did not stay at this resort.

My partner and I stayed across the street from Baldi at a highly recommended resort, but were curious about what this playground had to offer. We asked if we could take a walk around, but were told at the front desk that someone would be up shortly to give us a tour. We found this a very nice offer and were soon met by a young man in a golf cart who took us for a ride around the expansive property. The rooms that we saw looked like a two level apartment building, or typical highrise hotel setup. We were told there were something like 25 different pools and we saw various water features. The downside was that all of the rock formations were very unnatural looking, and the whole time we felt that we were on a time-share tour of a disneyland resort property. We enjoyed a few drinks at the bar near the entrance after our tour, but left quite content that we had neither stayed nor payed for a day pass to visit these springs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristinbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotsprings are amazing. The buffet not so much. The biggest complaint is that one of the pools was blasting top 40 bachata from 2pm to 10pm at ear-splitting volumes every single day. This music could be heard throughout most of the grounds and inside the hotel through the walls/floor/pillow. But the hotel/hotsprings are nice and clean and staff friendly. It was a nice place to relax after a long drive through the mountains.

Room Tip: Higher floors will provide a better view of the volcano.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelPag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I had been to Costa Rica when I was 15 and remembered going to the hot springs heated by the volcano, and I HAD to go again. The landscaping and pools were great, though I wish some of the rocks looked more real. The pools have different temperatures, and the heat felt just amazing. Very romantic place. A few of the pools weren't open when we were there.

Going to Baldi was the perfect follow-up to a 5-hour very twisty bus ride from San Jose. We got the buffet dinner option with our ticket as well, and were pretty disappointed with the food, however. Overall, I still highly recommend going to Baldi if you're in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
1.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,473 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,311 reviews
1.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#19 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,882 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa

Address: Del Centro De La Fortuna 4 Km, San Carlos 83-6151, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range: $143 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel and Spa is located in the heart of Costa Rica, at the base of the Arenal Volcano in La Fortuna, San Carlos. This is the perfect family get away that offers 25 thermo mineral hot water pools flowing naturally from the base of the volcano. These medicinal hot springs waters are certified by NAL (National Water Laboratory) from the Government of Costa Rica. You will enjoy pools ranging in temperatures from 93, 100, 102, 104, 109, 110, 113, 116, 152 º F, a combination that is suitable to all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing