We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Carlos
Glenwood Springs, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just got back from 3 nights at the Baldi! We had a top floor room with a spectacular view of the volcano and the slides. All amenities were there and the balcony was huge. The beds were very comfortable and the TV was large although we didn't watch much TV. The staff was very friendly and the pools were perfect! We ate breakfast early so it was always hot and fresh. This is a day resort as well - we were there Wednesday night through Saturday morning & there was a major CR holiday during that time. The pools were busy but there are sooo many that you can find what you are looking for - plus we had our room to return to if we wanted to get away from the people. It is located just outside La Fortuna so I'm sure the cab ride isn't expensive although with all of our tours during the day (through Desafio who are excellent), we wanted to hang out in the pools for the rest of our time in La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Top floor is an upgrade but the balconies and views are amazing. Get room 1401 to 1406.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetkras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    246
    106
    62
    79
See reviews for
214
298
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here instead of Tabacon because of the price. I will admit the buffet was not fabulous, but the staff was spectacular! They went out of their way to make everything wonderful. Our reservation came with breakfast from 7 to 10 am, the staff fixed us breakfast to take with us when we had to leave at 7 and then the next day they fixed us breakfast at 6 am! David and Gary are GREAT! The grounds are beautiful and they have 3 waterslides for the kids. The view was phenomenal. Half the pools are open all night. I guess they alternate to clean them. I was impressed that they drain and clean the pools every other night. Yes they do have day passes and guests, but so does Tabacon. We stayed on a Sunday through Tuesday. We had the place to ourselves on Monday, so the crowds are only on the weekends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NT Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hot springs were beautiful, clean and it wasn't crowded at all. The water slides were fun, but don't listen to the lifeguard, I did as he said and stayed sitting up, I hit my head really hard. Bring your own lock, they charge 6$ for it and bring your own towels, that is 12$. (I think they give you some money back on the towels)

I'm going to preface these comments by saying I am a very easy going traveler and I rarely complain but I wish someone would of told me to save my money. The buffet was not a five dollar add on, they charged us 18$, honestly I would of been disappointed even if I payed 5$. The food was luke warm, tasteless and in some cases gross. I was some what drunk and it still tasted bad! The chocolate fountain was cold and there were only three fruits to go with it, two of them ware un-edible, the bananas were rock hard and the pineapple had bugs all over it! Not what you expect of a 5 star resort.

I gave this property a 4 because the staff were very helpful and friendly, they were all working very hard to help customers and keep the grounds clean. The Hot springs were worth the price, also if you take some time to explore there are "hidden" caves that serve as saunas, or at least that is what they felt like. Very cool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsbugsrevenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

We live and travel Costa Rica. We wanted to give Baldi a try. What huge regret we should have gone to Tabacon! We attempted to go to dinner and went to the resturant with a Buffett. The hostes walked our party of 4 across a huge resturant 2/3s empty to seat us next to the dishwashers. When asked about the rest of the resturant we told that is for your groups! We said we are hotel guests. She then offered us a dirty table! We walked out and attempted to complain on deaf ears at the front desk! We had a top floor room with a huge balcony that was useless at night because the owners helicopter pad has huge flood lights that shine in the room! We wish we could have enjoyed a moonlit night looking at the Volcano We complained on deaf ears! Someone took our towel while we were in the water and they wanted to charge me 10 dollars. In our room there is a hole with shorted out electrical wires and we couldn't use the shorted outlets. All day long music blasts and there is no were to escape from it! We love music and loud music but it was overwhelming. Go to Tabacon!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firefozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
157 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is the place for swimming/relaxing in hot spring pools, not for the food, expensive drinks, souvenirs and can't imagine a stay here would be very quiet/relaxful in the room.

BUT....

We were staying in La Fortuna and my daughter really wanted to swim in hot springs.
We talked to Mauricio Murillo at Souvenir Arenal and he got us a deal for Baldi Hot Springs with transportation and buffet dinner. Better price than hotel and other tour operators.

The pools are very relaxing, very hot and fun! We also loved walking the gardens around the property.

The buffet dinner was okay, Lots of food choices like salads, two soups, meats, drinks, desserts and even a chocolate fountain. But not remarkable or outstanding food.

Extras are expensive and not necessary with the buffet dinner. So save the drinks for a night cap and enjoy what Baldi Hot Springs does very well....Hot pools!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjlemont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Let me begin by saying that we did not stay in this hotel. I would imagine that the large number of visitors to the hot springs would make a relaxing stay nearly impossible. We visited the hot springs after an exciting day of hiking & zip-lining (we were exhausted). We enjoyed the dinner buffet, though it was certainly not the best food we had during our trip. The various pools were delightful! We referred to it as a "water park for grown-ups". Several swim up bars, an exciting water slide, and plenty of places to relax without disruption. We visited after dark & really enjoyed it. We were told that the pools have a lovely view of the volcano during the day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blayne79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

As part of our Gap Adventure tour we were wowed

Amazing range of hot springs from cool to darn hot. buzy place but never crowded. Well mainained clean and forested and landscaped like a pristine jungle. Cheap plentiful butffet was a $5 add on. Well worth it. Curiously its a very institutinal buffer on a structure up high. White walls and blasingly well lit. Consider it a curiosity.

BRING WATER SHOES> Some of the walk ways have really sharp pebbles.

Lockers are plentiful large and cheap. Share.

Bars area is to the front

We did not stay in hotel only visted hot springs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VoyagerCANADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
1.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
1.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa

Property: Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Address: Del Centro De La Fortuna 4 Km, San Carlos 83-6151, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel and Spa is located in the heart of Costa Rica, at the base of the Arenal Volcano in La Fortuna, San Carlos. This is the perfect family get away that offers 25 thermo mineral hot water pools flowing naturally from the base of the volcano. These medicinal hot springs waters are certified by NAL (National Water Laboratory) from the Government of Costa Rica. You will enjoy pools ranging in temperatures from 93, 100, 102, 104, 109, 110, 113, 116, 152 º F, a combination that is suitable to all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing