We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise and some”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Carlos
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Paradise and some”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We spent a night in this stunning spa/ hotel while visiting the Arenal Volcanoe and tram/zip line.
This place has incredible hot pools, 25 in total, all different temperatures, including swim up bars, waterfalls, water slides. The restaurant has alacarte and breakfast buffet, both were good. The hotel rooms are spacious, with with sit out patios or balcony. The food for dinner was quite good, though get use to slow service and time for your meal is slow.
Nice to relax in the various pools and if your staying over night the pools are open 24hours.
The cost for the overnight, pools, breakfast was $168.00 which is high, but one night manageable after a long drive to get there. On arrival they give you a short guidedtour of the complex and different areas in a extended gold cart. There is walking to the different pools, with gradual sloping. Bring your own towel

Room Tip: No secret here, no issues. Except the day we were there the power was shut off for the day as power...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    249
    107
    62
    80
See reviews for
217
305
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Pools were beautiful. The hotel allowed outsiders to pay for pool access from 10am to 10pm but they were only crowded in the afternoon. Hotel guests had 24hour pool access. I am sure these outside pool patrons are why our room rate was very reasonable. Their daily breakfast buffet was nice. We had no ice machine access but the staff delivered ice to us whenever we wanted. Our room was nice, clean, and stayed cool in spite of the warm temps outside.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We went for the day. Our experience was good. We brought our own towels, beverages and ate in town. Not sure I would want to spend more than a few hours in the pools. Sitting in warm water on a warm day isn't all that great an experience in my opinion. Also, the slides really are treacherous. It was fun to try the different pools though, and we got some great pics. I am happy we went and recommend
a stop in LaFortuna, one of the prettiest towns we have seen in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harryryan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

My wife and I spent an evening at Baldi Hot Springs. We paid $29 each towards the entrance to the "hot pools". The grounds were nice and the buffet was good. Please keep in mind proper etiquette when attending the buffet (ie: don't walk in dripping wet, shirt for guys, dress for ladies). Although we had a wonderful experience, I must give a terrible rating for what I witnessed there. They charge $7 for the use of their lockers... towards the end of the evening, as I was gathering my items and waiting for my wife, I witnessed the a Baldi supervisor do what he called "mantenimiento [maintenance]". I heard him tell the locker employee "tiempo de mantenimiento [Time for locker maintenance]". I observed him open up a locker with his (master) key, take out a wallet, look through it, and say "mae no tiene nada en la billetera [This dude doesn't have anything in his wallet]." He then pulled out a wad of bills from a pair of jeans from the back pocket and pulled out what appered to be a 10,000 colones bill, along with a 5000 colones bill (approx $30 US) and place it in his own pocket. He carefully and neatly replaced the items in the locker and closed it. He did not notice me looking directly at him or probably didn't even care... I did not bother to make a compaint there, because he was a supervisor, and I decided to post the complaint here.

Room Tip: Don't use lockers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Do not visit this site until all renovations are completed....probably next year. Construction is everywhere, jackhammers all around.....pools, buildings, bars etc. 3 pools were closed. Only one swim up bar out of 3 was open and no lounge chairs exist at this pool. We only stayed on a day pass including lunch. Lunch was ordered and came in about 45 minutes. Mine came as the wrong order....another 20 minute wait. My steak came blue....ordered medium.....another 20 minute wait. In the meantime, my was finished about 30 minutes before I got my meal to eat. Not impressed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scooter007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

My mom and I visited here for the day while we were staying in La Fortuna. I had taken a lot of time reading up on and deciding between Baldi and the other popular hot spring competitor, but finally unsuredly and nervously decided on Baldi because of the price (through a tour sales person in La Fortuna we only paid $25 for the entrance fee instead of $35). I'm so thankful we didn't pay three times as much to go to the competitor! We went on a Monday (in high season), so it was NOT packed. At all. In fact, for the first half of the day we hardly even saw anybody else. Also, I read a review that a guy said he smelled like urine upon leaving. I didn't smell anything of the sort. The pools were well done, all of varying temperatures. For our first few hours we didn't realize there was more past the sauna, and then all of a sudden we went up and found the waterslides and the eating area and the big waterfalls and bar area further up past that. Based on previous reviews we chose NOT to eat the buffet (apparently it's gross), NOT to go on any of the slides (apparently they're dangerous), and NOT to buy the overpriced drinks (we carried water bottles with us to avoid dehydration). We packed some snacks, like granola bars and peanuts, and made it from noon-9 without a real meal (although by time we did get to a restaurant in La Fortuna we were pretty hungry). If you can prepare to avoid the things that have received the poorest reviews (buffet, waterslides, and overpriced drinks), this will be a great choice. We were sad when we had to leave! It was SO relaxing and with the countless number of pools (in the 20s at least) we never got bored and it was worth every penny. The only thing we were a little bummed about was the $7 locker (even tho we knew about it ahead of time we still thought it was silly overpriced) and the cold showers when we were cleaning off at the end of the day.
If you're not a picky traveler that's used to perfect 5-star service, go ahead and go here. I'm very thankful I saved my money and went here instead of somewhere else. I'm giving it 4 stars because you shouldn't have to go out of your way to prepare for bad service like we did, but if you go into it aware, you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lydia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, TX
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Baldi Hot Springs. It was very nice to have the hot water pools on site. The rooms were nice and service was good.
Breakfast was a nice buffet with plenty of fresh fruit and hot food choices.
We traveled in FEB '2011 and not many people eating dinner though. You have the option of a buffet dinner or ordering from the menu.
The lobby is covered, yet open air type with the bar that you can sit at as you arrive or swim up if you are using the hot water spas.
A gift shop is located on premises as well.

The Baldi Hot Springs is about 2-3 miles out of the small town of La Fortuna. There is no paved sidewalk, so do not try to walk into town -- especially at night. A cab costs about $10 each way and they are readily available.
La Fortuna is a nice little town and suggest checking out the restaurants, shops and the various activity stores for things to do. We used Desafio Adventure Company and they run a nice tour company. White water rafting was the best we're done and FEB'2011 was a class 3 - 3.5. Also did the 'hanging bridges' tour.

Transporation from Liberia airport. TO Baldi we took a private van (approx $140 for 2). On the return we opted for 'shared' transfers and with a reservations there was only 4 of us in the van and cost was $40 p.p. and that took us from Baldi to the beach area on the west coast. We had to make a transfer to another van at the area where many vans depart. VERY EASY and the best part of waiting is seeing all the colorful, large macaw birds. Would return to this area again.

Room Tip: Request the second floor level facing Arenal Volcano and you might get lucky like we did to have a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
1.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,790 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
1.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
1.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa

Property: Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Address: Del Centro De La Fortuna 4 Km, San Carlos 83-6151, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel and Spa is located in the heart of Costa Rica, at the base of the Arenal Volcano in La Fortuna, San Carlos. This is the perfect family get away that offers 25 thermo mineral hot water pools flowing naturally from the base of the volcano. These medicinal hot springs waters are certified by NAL (National Water Laboratory) from the Government of Costa Rica. You will enjoy pools ranging in temperatures from 93, 100, 102, 104, 109, 110, 113, 116, 152 º F, a combination that is suitable to all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa Costa Rica/San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing