We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top all rounder”
Review of Keld Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Keld Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Keld B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Keld Lodge is like the modern pentathlete of Country hotels and pubs -it does everything very well - food drink ,accomodation
If you like walking you are in for a treat - Matts sense of humour takes sometime to get used to but he is an excellent host - I challenge anyone to not enjoy Keld Lodge

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevelLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 308 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

Myself and herself had the pleasure of a stay at keld lodge as my birthday present.First thing you notice is the view/location/surroundings. . . Stunning.On arrival Matt the manager appears mr benn shopkeeper like.warm friendly professional ambitious approachable personable.Treats you as the only guest.Nice bar cosy lounge.Did i mention the view? Then theres the restaurant.Adam the chef? Genius.For a young buck he can cook.Food magnificent. Somehow he can make liver melt in the mouth.Grubs worth every penny.superb wine list.Due to Keld lodges as the halfway point on both the pennine way and coast to coast walks its a walkers paradise.Walkers are well catered for.Packed lunches provided,sherpa luggage transports companies serve keld lodge.Theres also a drying room for your muddy boots and equipment.Breakfast v.tasty and relaxed cooked and continental.For those of you dog owners its dog friendly.Back to Matt the manager You get the impression he knows the hotel game.A big fish in a small pond.Always trying to improve what in my humble opinion is already perfect.Cant rate Keld lodge highly enough.Highly recommended.Quality.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gweileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Had our evening meal here and wish we had actually booked to stay overnight!
Very cosy and welcoming.
Ate in the restaurant and the food was was just lovely, as was the service! In the middle of nowhere but if you want peace and quiet, this is the place. Lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilldawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in March during the bad snow. A great welcome both for me and my dog. The rooms are well equipped and Cosy and the quality of meals & wine on offer was very pleasing.

Keld lodge offers personal service and a homely dog friendly environment.

If your in North Yorkshire looking for accommodation or just a tasty meal, get yourself to Keld lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

A warm welcome was followed by complimentary tea and cakes and a chance to chat to other guests in a very pleasant lounge. Lovely views from all the windows. Great bar and restaurant – high class food and service at reasonable prices. Owner Nick and manager Matt could not have been more helpful. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann006_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We received a very warm welcome and the great hospitality kept going from there. Warm and squeaky clean rooms. The whole hotel is decorated and maintained to a high standard. The menu was varied and very carefully thought out - something for all tastes and appetites. Our thanks to Matt and his team who made our stay perfect. Robert & Nicola, Windermere

Room Tip: Great views from the rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stopped at the Keld Lodge after a very long walk from Askrigg. It was a welcome site on the horizon and the welcome continued as soon as we walked in. Matt showed us to our room and even brought up fresh milk and some delicious cake to sustain us until an hour or so later when the evening meal was avaliable. The room was nice and comfortable with a lovely warm shower. The evening meal was very good indeed with nice beer and wine and a nice choice of starters and mains that were interesting but not too complicated. The service from Matt was excellent. This continued after a superb night's sleep at breakfast. The breakfast itself was delicious and the service matched this topped off with the offer of a lift to Reeth to avoid waiing, and paying for the bus. We couldn't recommend this place highly enough and we will go out of our way to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickeaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Keld Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keld Lodge

Address: Swaledale | Yorkshire Dales, Keld DL11 6LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Keld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Keld
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Keld Lodge. This former shooting lodge and youth hostel is now a comfortable hotel and restaurant. We are situated in beautiful Swaledale close to the half-way points on the Coast to Coast walk and Pennine Way. The full glory of one of Yorkshire’s finest dales sits on our doorstop offering a wide variety of local walks and interests.Our aim is to ensure that our guests enjoy every aspect of Keld Lodge – from the warmth of our welcome and high quality accommodation to our excellent food and real ales. Superb views of Swaledale fill the windows of our conservatory dining room, lounge and many of our bedrooms. Comfy chairs and a huge picture window in our snug provides a comfortable and informal place to sit, relax and enjoy the dale. Whether you join us for a hot or cold drink, a tasty lunch or dinner or an overnight stay we believe you will experience some rather special Yorkshire hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keld Hotel Keld
Keld Lodge Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing