We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough stay after upgrading cottage!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Center Parcs Het Heijderbos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Center Parcs Het Heijderbos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heijen
Cambridgeshire, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice enough stay after upgrading cottage!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We arrived at the Parc for our weeks holiday to be met by a huge queue at the reception desk, waited about half an hour to be served and got our keys simply enough for the cottage I had chosen, number 485, premium level. At this point i must say that I have stayed at three other Center Parcs, two in the UK and one in France, so I thought I knew what to expect...

When we eventually found our cottage and entered the property the first thing that hit you was the smell, it really smelt bad. Looking around it became clear the cottage had not been renovated for decades, very only fashioned fittings, broken tiles around the fire place, a very old uncomfortable sofa, beds that even Travelodge wouldn't entertain! I just couldn't believe it was a Premium cottage, so went back down to reception, waited another 10 minutes and asked them to check. Right enough, it was what they class as Premium as it had a dishwasher, this is the only difference between the lowest level comfort and Premium.

We decided we couldn't bear it for a week and paid another EUR 115 to upgrade to a VIP cottage, this came with free bread every day, breakfast items from the supermarket upto EUR 25 and a free newspaper very day. I must say we were very impressed with this new cottage, it really was quite lovely. Modern and clean....and it smelt good too!

The rest of the Parc is quite nice. We spent a lot of time at the Aqua Mundo, which I think could do with one to two more slides as the rapids really were quite fierce and we ended up black and blue from them, but our 8 year old loved it. The bar at the bowling area was really nice, and you could watch the madness at the rapids from the windows there! We tried to sit where the entertainment was each evening, but none of the entertainment was in English so there was little point, our Dutch is bad to say the least!

The Parc could do with a bit of a tidy up, we were there in April and the amount of Autumn leaves lying everywhere were untidy (I am talking ankle deep everywhere apart from the paths and roads), the outside of the cottages need jet washing as are going green up the walls and the streams are quite littered with coke bottles, old shoes etc..

In a nutshell, we did enjoy ourselves after the first hiccup with the cottage, it certainly is not the best Center Parcs I have been too and I would have been horrified if I had paid top dollar for the week, but as it was it of the Dutch holidays the week for the 3 of us only cost £550 even with the upgrade it wasn't too bad.

We tried the zip wire and pony riding which were really good but quite pricey and had a day out to Eifteling theme Parc, which was really great and only about an hour away.

Room Tip: Upgrade to VIP until the Premium and Comfort cottages have been upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisyduke70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    195
    106
    51
    28
See reviews for
396
52
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for a week. We have 2 children aged 8 & 12. This is a well run CP, the cottage we stayed in was up to the usual CP standard and issues (no toaster) were resolved promptly by efficient and courteous staff who all had excellent spoken English.

The one area of weakness is the Aqua Mundo which only has one flume, although it is a good long one. The rapids are very, very rough and you will get bashed about and as such are not suitable for young children even if they are good swimmers.

The grounds are well maintained and the range of activities is up to the usual CP high standards. Overall we all had a good break.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonW192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
276 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

The holiday was one with mixed feelings, positive and negative.
Positive items: clean cottage not so far from the Aqua dome. Also the jungle dome was nice but rather crowdy due to the bad weather.
Negative items: the breakfast service they offer isn't really a service: they bring some bread around 9 AM to the cottage but it is up to you to fetch the other items in the shop with a voucher. It was completely different from the service we had last year in another Center Parcs accomodation.
The service included also a newspaper who should be delivered with the bread (vouchers had been stamped "invalid" by the reception) but wasn't the case, so back to the reception and then to the shop. The delivery of the bread is rather late when you have children who are hungry, they don't understand the raison behind the late delivery.
Other negative item: we arranged a visit by horse and cart on sunday, booked at the reception. The visit would start at 11h30 AM, but no horse or cart at 12h. After rechecking at the reception the horse and cart had passed by at another pick up point in the park then the one given by the reception. So another 2 hours lost and everybody very disappointed.
Conclusion: the reception is helpfull but completely not able to execute their duties in a proper manner to satisfy their clients. Above points were really annoying and not at all relaxing.
A voucher for cake and coffe doesn't solve these negative points.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel19721972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We took our two children (aged 8 & 6) to this park for February Half term, it was one of the better Centre Parcs we have used and the Jungle Dome was fantastic, although it had the only real down point of the park. The toilet facilities in the dome are practically non existant, namely one.

The accommodation and the park it's self along with the pools and other facilities were hard to fault. Accommodation was good, well maintained and clean. The pool was great and enjoyed by us all. The wild water is very wild and should only be attempted by children who are reasonable swimmers, in my opinion. The coral pool where you can view fish through the glass sides was especially popular with my little ones.

Travel for us from Rotterdam was easy on good roads and the park is well signed from the main routes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We regularly stay in Centerparcs in Europe in Feb taking advantage of the lower European prices during the UK half-term holidays. This is the 6th different one we've used in three different European countries. As Centerparcs goes it was fine, house was lovely and warm and perfectly adequate for our needs. The Jungle Dome was popular with the children and the Aqua Dome had all the usual stuff. This park is in the woods which I don't like so much (The Port Zealande park for example has a fantastic coastal locatIon) but the children seemed happy enough. Park is right by the motorway and Germany is ten minutes away and we ate out in lovely Goch and Kevelaer respectively to avoid the overpriced Centerparcs restaurants. We booked this in German via the Centerparcs.de site and saved €180 over the price if you book via the Centerparcs.com portal.

Room Tip: Book via the German website to get bigger savings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rheindahlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here in November for a midweek and we booked a VIP bungalow which was nice. When we arrived we could go straight to our bungalow. Everything was clean and in good shape. The only downside was the beds which seemed to be very, very old...

We picked a very quiet time in the parc which was good. No waiting times and full availability of everything. Of course our children loved the water dome.

The restaurants were only average but I think you can´t expect more from a place like that.

Would I come here again ? As an individual, never. But with my family this seems to be a good place to get away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pitmueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
208 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The first night felt more like a bootcamp than a resort. It was hot outside (28-30 centigrade) when we arrive into the luxury villa with VIP service. I anxiously searched for the button to turn on the aircondition, but could not find it... I more thorough search discovered that there's no aircondition in the room... I immediately looked at my checklist and found out that I confirmed this point with the reservation center and they confirmed there is aircondition in the luxury villa. Well there isn't... the temperature in the room was 28.... we had to open the windows. In few minutes the rooms where flooded with flying creatures. At the moment we realized why there are different rackets in the room… the entire family started that helpless battle with the various insects that invaded our luxury villa. The one positive outcome was that the kids gave up the fight and went exhausted to bed. With no other choice I filled up the Jacuzzi with cold water to chill out myself.

Few hours later it started pouring outside and the rain took the temperature down and all the insects outside disappeared too.

At the point the good vacation really started. It was cold outside through the rest of the weekend and we had great time. The luxury villa is equipped with private Jacuzzi, private sauna, nice kitchen with espresso machine , private yard facing the lake and nice living room. Except for the missing air-condition it was really great!

The kids fell in love with this resort. They loved all the activities. They tried them all. They loved the food in the dinning room, and I must say that my wife and I also enjoyed the breakfasts and dinners.

The concept of having rental bikes as the main transportation for the week is amazing. Through the 3 days we stayed there we enjoyed every hour never felt like going outside. The on-site grocery supplies all that you need during the stay with fair pricing.

It's been a relaxing long weekend that offered great opportunity for family bonding. On the Monday morning it was really hard for the kids to depart from the resort and continue our trip.It's been an great memorable experience that they will take with them for many years.

Comments to the management:
1. I do not understant why in a luxury villa there is no air-condition. If you are staying for weekend and this weekend happened to be hot, you will be really miserable. You do not really care that through the rest of the year it was chilly and nice. Your vacation ended up being horrible. At least your reservation center should clearly state it for reservation made for July and August.
2. We purchased the VIP package, which is the supreme pumpering. However, it only provides one large towel per person that you need to use for a week without replacement. The towel is needed for bath, but also for the swimming pool (that provides no towels). For tourists, that's a big problems. I noticed that the locals brought towels from home. For tourists this is not practical.
3. Fitness center is missing in such luxurious resort.

Room Tip: Choose the large villa with the kitchen and the yard facing the lake. It is great family experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heijen
15.3 mi away
Center Parcs Het Meerdal
7.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Cuijk - Nijmegen
2.2 mi away
Auberge De Papenberg
Auberge De Papenberg
#1 of 1 in Afferden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The Rilano Hotel Cleve City
14.4 mi away
Parkhotel Horst
Parkhotel Horst
#1 of 1 in Horst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Holthurnsche Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Het Heijderbos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Het Heijderbos

Property: Center Parcs Het Heijderbos
Address: Hommersumseweg 43, 6598 MC Heijen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Heijen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heijen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Het Heijderbos 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Center Parcs Het Heijderbos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Center Parc Het Heijderbos Hotel Venlo
Center Parc Het Heijderbos Venlo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing