We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Center Parc overall.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Center Parcs Het Heijderbos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heijen
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good Center Parc overall.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for a week. We have 2 children aged 8 & 12. This is a well run CP, the cottage we stayed in was up to the usual CP standard and issues (no toaster) were resolved promptly by efficient and courteous staff who all had excellent spoken English.

The one area of weakness is the Aqua Mundo which only has one flume, although it is a good long one. The rapids are very, very rough and you will get bashed about and as such are not suitable for young children even if they are good swimmers.

The grounds are well maintained and the range of activities is up to the usual CP high standards. Overall we all had a good break.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonW192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    200
    108
    52
    29
See reviews for
405
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
283 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

The holiday was one with mixed feelings, positive and negative.
Positive items: clean cottage not so far from the Aqua dome. Also the jungle dome was nice but rather crowdy due to the bad weather.
Negative items: the breakfast service they offer isn't really a service: they bring some bread around 9 AM to the cottage but it is up to you to fetch the other items in the shop with a voucher. It was completely different from the service we had last year in another Center Parcs accomodation.
The service included also a newspaper who should be delivered with the bread (vouchers had been stamped "invalid" by the reception) but wasn't the case, so back to the reception and then to the shop. The delivery of the bread is rather late when you have children who are hungry, they don't understand the raison behind the late delivery.
Other negative item: we arranged a visit by horse and cart on sunday, booked at the reception. The visit would start at 11h30 AM, but no horse or cart at 12h. After rechecking at the reception the horse and cart had passed by at another pick up point in the park then the one given by the reception. So another 2 hours lost and everybody very disappointed.
Conclusion: the reception is helpfull but completely not able to execute their duties in a proper manner to satisfy their clients. Above points were really annoying and not at all relaxing.
A voucher for cake and coffe doesn't solve these negative points.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel19721972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We took our two children (aged 8 & 6) to this park for February Half term, it was one of the better Centre Parcs we have used and the Jungle Dome was fantastic, although it had the only real down point of the park. The toilet facilities in the dome are practically non existant, namely one.

The accommodation and the park it's self along with the pools and other facilities were hard to fault. Accommodation was good, well maintained and clean. The pool was great and enjoyed by us all. The wild water is very wild and should only be attempted by children who are reasonable swimmers, in my opinion. The coral pool where you can view fish through the glass sides was especially popular with my little ones.

Travel for us from Rotterdam was easy on good roads and the park is well signed from the main routes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We regularly stay in Centerparcs in Europe in Feb taking advantage of the lower European prices during the UK half-term holidays. This is the 6th different one we've used in three different European countries. As Centerparcs goes it was fine, house was lovely and warm and perfectly adequate for our needs. The Jungle Dome was popular with the children and the Aqua Dome had all the usual stuff. This park is in the woods which I don't like so much (The Port Zealande park for example has a fantastic coastal locatIon) but the children seemed happy enough. Park is right by the motorway and Germany is ten minutes away and we ate out in lovely Goch and Kevelaer respectively to avoid the overpriced Centerparcs restaurants. We booked this in German via the Centerparcs.de site and saved €180 over the price if you book via the Centerparcs.com portal.

Room Tip: Book via the German website to get bigger savings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rheindahlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here in November for a midweek and we booked a VIP bungalow which was nice. When we arrived we could go straight to our bungalow. Everything was clean and in good shape. The only downside was the beds which seemed to be very, very old...

We picked a very quiet time in the parc which was good. No waiting times and full availability of everything. Of course our children loved the water dome.

The restaurants were only average but I think you can´t expect more from a place like that.

Would I come here again ? As an individual, never. But with my family this seems to be a good place to get away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pitmueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
208 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The first night felt more like a bootcamp than a resort. It was hot outside (28-30 centigrade) when we arrive into the luxury villa with VIP service. I anxiously searched for the button to turn on the aircondition, but could not find it... I more thorough search discovered that there's no aircondition in the room... I immediately looked at my checklist and found out that I confirmed this point with the reservation center and they confirmed there is aircondition in the luxury villa. Well there isn't... the temperature in the room was 28.... we had to open the windows. In few minutes the rooms where flooded with flying creatures. At the moment we realized why there are different rackets in the room… the entire family started that helpless battle with the various insects that invaded our luxury villa. The one positive outcome was that the kids gave up the fight and went exhausted to bed. With no other choice I filled up the Jacuzzi with cold water to chill out myself.

Few hours later it started pouring outside and the rain took the temperature down and all the insects outside disappeared too.

At the point the good vacation really started. It was cold outside through the rest of the weekend and we had great time. The luxury villa is equipped with private Jacuzzi, private sauna, nice kitchen with espresso machine , private yard facing the lake and nice living room. Except for the missing air-condition it was really great!

The kids fell in love with this resort. They loved all the activities. They tried them all. They loved the food in the dinning room, and I must say that my wife and I also enjoyed the breakfasts and dinners.

The concept of having rental bikes as the main transportation for the week is amazing. Through the 3 days we stayed there we enjoyed every hour never felt like going outside. The on-site grocery supplies all that you need during the stay with fair pricing.

It's been a relaxing long weekend that offered great opportunity for family bonding. On the Monday morning it was really hard for the kids to depart from the resort and continue our trip.It's been an great memorable experience that they will take with them for many years.

Comments to the management:
1. I do not understant why in a luxury villa there is no air-condition. If you are staying for weekend and this weekend happened to be hot, you will be really miserable. You do not really care that through the rest of the year it was chilly and nice. Your vacation ended up being horrible. At least your reservation center should clearly state it for reservation made for July and August.
2. We purchased the VIP package, which is the supreme pumpering. However, it only provides one large towel per person that you need to use for a week without replacement. The towel is needed for bath, but also for the swimming pool (that provides no towels). For tourists, that's a big problems. I noticed that the locals brought towels from home. For tourists this is not practical.
3. Fitness center is missing in such luxurious resort.

Room Tip: Choose the large villa with the kitchen and the yard facing the lake. It is great family experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Recently returned from our second trip to this center parcs, and it was just as good second time round. We choose this one again due to the Jungle Dome which is a great feature for youngish children to go climbing around inside (though no good for babies). I would say that it is probably okay for 3 years and upwards. Our children are 3 and 6 years.

We got the ferry from Newcastle to Amsterdam overnight, and then drove here after spending a couple of nights in Amsterdam. It is about 2 hours drive on really easy motorways from Amsterdam so no hassle at all.

We went for 2 adjacent Eden VIP 2 bedroom villas as we were travelling with another family of four. The week before, a representative from center parcs rang and asked if we would like the dividing wall removed between the 2 villas. I didn't know this was an option, but it turned out to be great - effectively making a really large 4 bedroom villa with 2 living areas . The standard of accommodation for the VIP villas is very good (though no oven!) We enjoyed the jacuzzi bath and sauna, and they are located close by to the jungle dome and lake (some with views over the lake).

The aqua dome is exactly like the Nottingham one, as others have said, but it has a really scary (for me) white water rapid ride. My 6 year old loved it, but I was a bit scared of all the people going down at once and bashing into each other. I had a few bruises!

Also, take goggles or snorkel because there is a hidden away area (I don't think many people knew it was there) where you can see fishes under the water, though behind tanks.

We only ate out one evening as the food court/restaurant area is a bit like eating in a mall, so instead we went to the Pancake restaurant which is outside the main area by the smaller lake and it was great. We had some wonderful savoury pancakes, and the kids loved it.

The two 6 year olds did a couple of the children's activities and they really enjoyed them. I was a bit worried that it would all be in Dutch but there was a good mix of Dutch, German, English and some French children. The childcare assistants could speak all of the languages fluently (amazing), put them in groups, and there seemed no problem at all. Our two loved doing the circus performance - 2 hours practice in the creche, and then we got to watch them do a performance in the main market area. Really fantastic.

We got 5 vouchers per family free with our booking and these could be exchanged for activities, such as a children's sessions or bike hire, so we didn't pay any extra for things when we were there. I think that you get these vouchers ("toppings") if you book more than a few months in advance. You can only book the activities using these once you are on site.

Overall, this was a great value trip - cheaper than going to a UK center parc, even when factoring in the ferry crossing, and the kids thought that was a wonderful adventure too. Overall - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Eden VIP villas are great. Good standard of accommodation, jacuzzi, sauna, tv, dvd, fresh bread each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Business_girrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heijen
15.2 mi away
Center Parcs Het Meerdal
7.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Cuijk - Nijmegen
2.2 mi away
Auberge De Papenberg
Auberge De Papenberg
#1 of 1 in Afferden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel ter Kelling
Hotel ter Kelling
#5 of 5 in Goch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Holthurnsche Hof
14.4 mi away
Parkhotel Horst
Parkhotel Horst
#1 of 1 in Horst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Het Heijderbos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Het Heijderbos

Property: Center Parcs Het Heijderbos
Address: Hommersumseweg 43, 6598 MC Heijen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Heijen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heijen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Het Heijderbos 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Center Parcs Het Heijderbos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Center Parc Het Heijderbos Hotel Venlo
Center Parc Het Heijderbos Venlo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing