We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our Expectations”
Review of Montfaucon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Limoux
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montfaucon
Ranked #6 of 13 Limoux B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 30, 2011

The entire week went much too fast. Between bike rides to lovely villages through rolling vineyards and fields of sunflowers ready to burst and guided tours to Cathar castles and villages, it wouldn't seem that there could be time for three-hour lunches and elegant, candle-lit dinners, but somehow the staff managed everything perfectly and each meal was a French feast. Visits to Carcassone, Minerve, Queribus, Alet-les-Bains stimulated our minds and trips to the farmer's market in search of sausage, cheese, bread, pate fed our palates. In addition, Montfaucon has a chef who created unique meals when we were a maison. The interior staircase is a sculptural masterpiece and the bedrooms are elegantly furnished. A treasure and wonderful to share with old friends.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, river view especially.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suew15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Montfaucon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 69 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at Montfaucon for a leisure stay.
Visiting Rennnes les Chateau, Grotte de Niaux, Montsegur, Foix and Alets les Bains,
all our tours were guided by two very friendly, highly experienced young ladies who are
in charge of directing tours at Montfaucon.
Montfaucon is located perfectly for visiting the Cathar country.
What unusual experiences and what a wonderful time we had!
Everything is thanks to all the staff members of Montfaucon!
Montfaucon offers all that you could wish for. You are treated as the celebrity of the
residence!

Room Tip: Rooms along the riverside
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiko88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Ten of us planned a week at Montfaucon that included everything - transportation, food, wine, tours, etc. From the moment that Penny and Rochelle picked us up at the Toulouse airport, I knew we had made the right choice. Everything about the house was perfect - the furniture, the fabrics, the art and most of all the comfy beds. They took us to castles, farmers markets, wineries, and other historical sights with plenty of time for relaxing as well. Dinners were held at a hunting lodge, a castle and a Michelin star restaurant as well as a Medieval dinner prepared in the home's kitchen. Everything was planned to perfection. The charming town of Limoux is a short walk away and a delightful place to go for a morning cappuccino or a late night glass of wine. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Time_To_Go_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We were highly impressed with the beauty of the interior construction with its winding staircase, large beam ceilings and marble floors. It was like falling back in time as we entered through the front entry. The staff took care of all our needs with daily room service, breakfast served each morning with friendly smiles. Our tour guides treated us to outstanding places of interest throughout the area and soon became our best friends. This was truly the highlight of our vacation in France!!!

Room Tip: The top story rear rooms looking over the river.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olds1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

This was a great place from the begin to the end.All of the people associated with running Montfaucon were the best.I can't say enough great things about Montfaucon.This is a great area to visit in France and this is the place stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harvchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

There was nothing to disappoint. Our hosts made our stay seem as if we had been invited to a friend's house. Everything was beautifully planned from the hardy breakfasts to the spotless rooms with fresh flowers. Touring the nearby villages in the hotel's Mercedes vans provided history and enjoyment of a particularly scenic country-side. The small town square accessible by a short walk was colorful and provided conveniences of restaurants and shops. There is not praise enough for the sumptuous meals and the generous offerings of Blancquette de Limoux. My stay there was enchanting.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pozij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

What a fabulous residence...as part of an art group, we were treated like royalty. Our guides were amazing in their knowledge of the area, we were taken to many wonderful little towns to paint, the countryside is so beautiful. The food was amazing at Montfaucon and at the restaurants where we were taken to eat. A most fantastic experience at Montfaucon in Limoux where the people in town were so friendly and helpful, loved everything about my stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artistaME68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limoux
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon
0.2 mi away
Les Arcades
Les Arcades
#4 of 5 in Limoux
32 reviews
1.4 mi away
B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
1.7 mi away
La Moneze Basse
La Moneze Basse
#1 of 13 in Limoux
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ville
La Maison Ville
#1 of 2 in Limoux
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montfaucon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montfaucon

Address: 11 rue Blanquerie, 11300 Limoux, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Limoux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Limoux
Price Range: $179 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing