We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place with wonderful hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Limoux
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful place with wonderful hosts”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I stayed with Maureen and John for 5 nights in July 2011. I found them through Trip Advisor and feel I got really lucky. They were fantastic hosts. I was travelling alone and they made me feel very welcome involving me with the other guests, finding accomodation for me for a couple of nights when they were booked out, inviting me to a locals only Paella night at a local vineyard, inviting me to a BBQ they put together for friends and guests after I had checked out, offering up a free beer at the end of a long day and helping me find my way around the area. On top of all this was the simply amazing breakfasts that Maureen put on. They were amazing. I have travelled a lot and never experienced anything like them. The house is a beautiful French farmhouse that they have restored. My room was comfortable with a great ensuite. The pool and BBQ area are perfect for lounging around and cooling off at the end of a hot day. I will definately be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregHod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
62
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This B&B was a lucky find, thanks to my travel agent and her persistence. Because the day of our arrival was also the day the Tour de France departed Stage 15 from Limoux, we were unable to book a room until that night (Sunday). But from the moment we pulled in, up the steep gravel driveway, we were very glad we did.

The welcome from John and Maureen was as warm as if we were old friends already. After we settled our things in our rooms, we came down and shared a glass of wine with the couple and four other guests, all British, who had come to see the Tour de France and were on a return visit to the Domaine.

The Orchid Suite consisted of an entire wing of the house -- two bedrooms, a bathroom, a WC, and a hallway -- separated from the house's great room by a heavy tapestry curtain. The rooms were very comfortable, and Maureen had provided a few little treats for us to enjoy. The spacious bathroom had a high window opening onto a vineyard view. The windows were open to allow the cool evening breeze in, and it was heavenly.

Maureen's breakfasts were fantastic each day we were there. They featured fresh bread, fresh fruit, an egg dish from the Domaine's chickens, French-press coffee, and other goodies. There is a kitchenette available to guests who want to prepare their own food (although why would you, with one of Maureen's feasts?). And there are several places to sit outdoors and enjoy the surrounding countryside views. Unfortunately, when we were there it was too chilly to enjoy the pool -- in the middle of July! -- but we did not care, since the heat of Spain had been stifling.

The bedroom I had (the main room in the Orchid Suite) was extremely comfortable and well appointed, with a large, built-in wardrobe for storage. Its large windows opened out onto a view of the vineyards and the courtyard below. The bed was covered with a duvet, and there was free wifi! An electric kettle and packets of coffee, tea, and hot chocolate were available for evening snacking, and the bathroom was stocked with necessities and plenty of fluffy towels.

I wish we could have stayed much longer in this restful spot just outside Limoux. Maureen and John gave us very good tips for where to spend our two days: the market at Mirepoix, the Canal du Midi at Castelnaudary, Gruissan on the coast, and of course Carcassonne -- which was the reason we chose this part of France for our short sejour. One must be prepared to pay in cash, but with advance notice, this should not be a problem. And one must have a car, because this B&B is not in the town of Limoux.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, there is not a bad room to be had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Maureen & John are fantastic hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Limoux and can't wait to go back. Our room was amazing and the breakfast that was served was second to none. We met some very interesting people whilst staying there and we were made very welcome. Also there was secure parking which was important as we had our own car. Well worth a visit to this outstanding B & B.
Chris & Colin, Essex, England

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaaLaa921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This was our second stay at the Domain St. George in Limoux. Beautiful place, perfect location for us to get around to vinyards, mountains and the med. Beautiful rooms with crisp, clean linen, spotless bathroom.. I can't rave about it enough. We've always preferred chain hotels... but, Domain St. George beats any place I've stayed before. Of course the glorious weather helped and we sat by the pool after our day trips. If anyone is staying in Langeudoc THIS is defintely the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brickweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We emailed John and Maureen a long time before our visit. We asked for a particular period and they were kind enough to point out that while they could accommodate us as requested, certain events were occurring in the vicinity of Limoux the week after the dates we were interested in. We were able to change our schedule, so we changed our dates. We had several email exchanges before our visit and we liked the email exchanges so much that we were really looking forward to our stay.

To say were were pleased to have chosen Domaine St Georges is a gross understatement. John and Maureen deliver the best holiday experience imaginable. Think breakfast in a hotel or B+B, nothing comes near Maureen's and John's. Nothing! Indescribably good.

Rooms at Domaine St Georges are beautifully presented, spacious and well appointed.

Our fellow guests were a delight and several were on repeat visits and equally effusive about the charms of our hosts. We made new friends of the people we shared breakfast and informal gabfests with and hope to see them at DSG on future visits - all being well we will definitely be back.

Holiday accommodation can be just rooms and fittings, DSG does this well, but it is the hosts that bring a place to life and ultimately deliver your holiday experience - John and Maureen like what they do, they do it well and their guests reap the benefits.

Limoux is a great place to stay to visit the wine growing region surrounding it; the incredible fortress chateaus of the Cathars and Kings of France; and the amazing natural attractions of the gorges,caves and mountains. Domaine St Georges is the place to stay to make a Limoux holiday perfect. Very highly recommended.

Chris & Helen, Australia

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

After twisting my husbands arm to go here, he was already booking our return trip two days into our weeks holiday! John and Maureen couldn't make you feel any more welcome are you a guest or a friend come to visit - tea and delicious homemade cake (or a glass of wine if you prefer) and a chat on arrival. The directions from the airport were perfect, in fact their knowledge of the region and ones nearby were very helpful when it came to planning our days with useful local information regarding opening and closing times(don't forget the French lunch is 12:30 - 14:30). A very relaxing environment, you didn't have to rush off after breakfast or worry about coming back early - the pool and patio areas were very good for chatting about your day with the other guests and sharing information about places to go. John and Maureen have been holiday goers themselves and know the little things that make your stay all the more special, a guests kitchen so you don't have to go out for every meal and company should you wish it at the end of the day. The breakfasts are more than delicious they are a true culinery experience no two days are the same and everything is as fresh as can be, down to the eggs laid by the chickens every day, poached, scrambled or well you decide!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DilnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I agree with all the other reviews of this charming B & B..... a five star service at an amazing price. Warmth of welcome, cleanliness, beautiful property and garden, excellent cooking and in depth knowledge of the local area. John and Maureen could do far less and you would still have a wonderful stay, but it is their attention to detail and willingness to please and to make your holiday special that make this a marvellous place. The first evening, sitting outside the kitchen on the lovely patio, we saw two birds land only a few metres away in the garden - hoopoes, so as a keen birdwatcher I was thrilled. The area around is a beautiful part of France to explore, Cathar castles and spectacular scenery, but it was a delight to return to swim in the heated pool, or to find a quiet place in the garden to read. I only wish I had booked more than 3 nights now!

Room Tip: best views from Iris suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redheadmalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limoux
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Mauzac
Hotel Le Mauzac
#3 of 5 in Limoux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.2 mi away
Les Arcades
Les Arcades
#5 of 5 in Limoux
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
La Chaumiere
La Chaumiere
#1 of 3 in Quillan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
12.3 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
8.5 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George

Property: B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George
Address: Route de Malras, 11300 Limoux, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Limoux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Limoux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domaine St George is a luxurious chambre d'hote located amongst vineyards just outside the market town of Limoux. All bedrooms are en-suite and individually decorated with traditional French furniture. All rooms have personal touches and every effort is made to help guests feel welcome. They have the use of the solar-heated 9 metre pool, shady summer house, own gas BBQ and summer kitchen. The house is not for smokers. There is secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your B & B in Limoux at Domaine St George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b & b In Limoux At Domaine St George Hotel Limoux
Bed And Breakfast In Limoux At Domaine St George
Domaine St George Limoux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing