We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barbiel is simply the best B & B in the Tarn”
Review of Barbiel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barbiel
Ranked #118 of 235 Tarn B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Barbiel has a commanding view of the high green farm pastures and the deep lush valleys at their base. The meandering roads that link the tiny villages of this part of the Tarn climb and drop and bend around woods and farms alike. One of these roads took us to perhaps the most pleasant spot in the Tarn, Barbiel and its owners Tracy and Tim. While location is everything, so it is said, at Barbiel location is only part of the story. From the first telephone call to Tim for a reservation to the last embrace with Tracy as we departed, these two eminently experienced hosts never stopped showing their characteristic warmth, good humor, kindness and helpfulness. Tim guided us through the area with his carefully drawn maps, showing us the best views, roads to ride, historic sites to see and towns and villages to visit. They both displayed their culinary skills by cooking up only the best dishes with the best of fresh local ingredients. While they prepared various delights for us, we sat close by the kitchen talking, trading experiences, pondering the weight of the world with all the time enjoying the best little "nibbles" and quaffing the excellent local wine. Tracy and Tim have created this lovely spot by renovating a centuries old structure, which is part of an equally old farmstead. They have kept a careful eye on what their guests might desire. The rooms are well designed and appointed with all the most modern comforts. The spotlessly clean rooms sparkle invitingly. The grounds are carefully kept and the additional features of an expansively covered terrace and pool have been perched on the lawn overlooking fields, woods and valleys. Barbiel is a delight and Tracy and Tim are delightful. When in the Tarn you should treat yourselves to the best B & B in the Tarn. Call or email these two superb hosts for an extended stay and you will have the same experience that we did.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BCBartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2012

Looking forward to spending four nights back at Barbiel this year, 2012! A pool has been added since our last visit in 2010, and it looks splendid.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaNeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed at Barbiel in July 2010 and fully intend to return (maybe this year,2012)! What a fabulous experience. Nothing is too much trouble for Tracy and Tim and they go out of their way to make you feel welcome! The property is in a fantastic location with fantastic views over the surrounding countryside. The surrounding vineyards are well worth a visit and Tim will only be too pleased to recommend the best! You won't be disappointed with a visit to Barbiel!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris2672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We were lucky enough after hours of hunting to stumble accross the website for this fantastic bed and breakfast / chambre d'hote (tranquiltarn.com). We stayed for a week, the spectacular view and supreme tranquility were just what we hoped for and the fantastic hospitality and friendliness of the owners Tim and Tracy was an unexpected but very welcome bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim_Woolfson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Visiting Tracy and Tim Bayly was a high point of our stay in France. Their warm, considerate welcome, the beauty and charm of their renovated stone farmhouse and well appointed guest rooms, the magnificent commanding view of the countryside, the refreshment of their new swimming pool on a sunny day - we wished we’d been able to stay longer! Our hosts welcomed us with evening drinks and hors d’oeuvres in their living room followed by a delicious and generous multi-course dinner (Tracy’s cooking is French and superb!). From Tim’s spinach and fennel soup to Tracy’s Lemon Posset dessert, it was a real treat. Breakfast, too, was ample, varied, delicious (fresh-squeezed orange juice!) and companionable. When we asked for help planning a long walk from the house, and as well when we wanted to plan a visit to Albi, the Baylys were ready with suggestions and detailed directions. From the moment we arrived we felt that we were meeting old friends and we look forward with great pleasure to returning.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cskeele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Barbiel is a small commune situated on the limestone plateau overlooking a deep wooded valley. The owners Tracy and Tim hail from England but have made France their home and are fluent in both French and English. They gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived with afternoon tea on the terrace. The view from the terrace across the rolling hills towards the Tarn valley is spectacular. A new swimming pool has recently been installed in the grounds. Two rooms are available in the guest wing, one double and one twin/double, both with en suite. We stayed in the double room which was immaculately clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. A well equipped kitchenette is available for use by guests. Tracy supported by Tim is an excellent cook and we took the opportunity of pre-booking evening meals which we shared with them around the dining room table. We were treated to aperitifs with canapés on the terrace, a four course quality meal with coffee and as much local wine as we wanted! Tracy and Tim were really good dinner hosts and we learnt a great deal about the locality and what we should visit on our day in Albi including where to park and which routes to take there and back. They are also happy to recommend nearby restaurants.

We stayed for two nights at this Chambres d’hotes which is recommended by Alistair Sawday as a “special place to stay” and is graded with three sheaths by Gites de France. Comments in the guest book were all very positive and at 60 Euros per room per night and 22 Euros for an evening meal we felt this was excellent value for money and we can highly recommend Barbiel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tonj48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarn hotels
7.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Albi Terssac
27.3 mi away
Ibis Toulouse Lavaur
Ibis Toulouse Lavaur
#1 of 2 in Lavaur
173 reviews
16 mi away
Akena City Albi Gaillac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.5 mi away
Hotel Abbaye Ecole de Soreze
12.1 mi away
Le Domaine Du Green
Le Domaine Du Green
#1 of 1 in Rivieres
47 reviews
22.4 mi away
Relais du Sidobre
Relais du Sidobre
#2 of 2 in Lacrouzette
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbiel

Address: Lieu Dit Assac | Valence d'Albigeois, 81340, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Tarn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 235 B&Bs / Inns in Tarn
Price Range: $50 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tim & Tracy look forward to welcoming you to their secluded farmhouse in the Midi-Pyrenees, south-west France, situated in a tranquil hamlet in the Tarn department, close to the Aveyron border, only 35 minutes from the magnificent city of Albi. We have a large terrace and lovely pool, both with stunning valley views. The Bed & Breakfast has a separate entrance, two comfortable and well-equipped en-suite bedrooms and a small kitchenette. Dinner is served when possible on the terrace, please give at least 24 hours' advance notice. We are ideally placed for exploring the beautiful Tarn valley and the Bastide villages of the Tarn and the Aveyron. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barbiel France/Tarn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing