We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Party in Greece without breaking your bank account”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Far-Out Village Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Milopotas
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Party in Greece without breaking your bank account”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

For anyone who enjoys camping, this is the place for you. The bungalows are airy, if small, and most of them feature the most beautiful ocean views; the evening sunset is without compare. The site offers discounted water sport options (learn windsurfing, go cliff diving, etc.), and the place is filled with young travelers who want to have a good time. It's just a short walk or bus ride from the town center which is filled with bars for the seasoned partier, but those who prefer beaches and sunbathing will not be disappointed, either. Absolutely everything -- from internet and ATM availability to the local mini market -- is right at your fingertips. A variety of fun food options, "shopportunities," and unparalleled summer fun make the Far Out Village Hotel a top choice for a stay on Ios.

Stayed June 2009
Helpful?
Thank pineappkeshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    52
    19
    7
    7
See reviews for
5
21
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st louis
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2009

I stayed in a bungalow, which is basically a small hut with two beds. However, for the price i paid (around 10 euro) this is all i expected. The only thing I would have to say about cleanliness is the bathrooms which aren't exactly sparkling. But, they are campsite bathrooms so I guess you get what you paid for.
This hotel is located directly on the beach, and there are many things to do on the beach, such as windsurfing, sand volleyball, banana boat rides, etc. Also there are many places to eat, so no worries about food. The service is also excellent. There is always someone around asking if you need help finding something, explaining how things work, or just being friendly and saying hello. Don't expect much if you want to stay in a bungalow, but other than that, this is a great place to party.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwromine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2009

The restaurant and lounge area by the pool is wonderful. The service at the restaurant is also great. This area is clean and has a great atmosphere. The facilities on the other hand are quite dirty and smelly (washrooms, showers, laundry room). They could be cleaned more often. The showers don't drain as quickly as the water comes out so I found myself standing ankle-deep in dirty bath water.

The accomodation (tiki hut) was a two person single room and the netting above the door was completely ripped and we had to tie a towel above our door to keep out the mosquitoes. This didn't completely work, and I was bitten many times in the night.

Other than the dirty bathrooms and inadequate mosquitoe netting, we both really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola11Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle,wa,usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

have talked to many here and they say it is only really busy july to august. if you are looking for a party, come then...but on may 25th when we were here we virtually had the beach to ourselves and it was great weather! i think its probally the best place to stay in IOS, dont stay in town...stay on the beach! there is shuttle to town, and its a short walk back...highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guffman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotecondell
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2009

Far Out Hotel has the best facilities on the Island and it's located on one of the most beautiful beaches of Ios. The price quality trade of is excelent, specially in this time of the year.I had a great stance here.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cotecondell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

When we booked our room it said £15 per night so we booked well in advance. Then 4 MONTHS LATER we recvd an email stating that there had been error and it was actually £55 a night. By this stage everything else in Ios was booked out (pretty sure when they processed the order in January they would ahve picked up on this error!) . When we arrived at the village we found that it was the most revolting place we had stayed (not to mention triple the price!!!). I have been travelling europe over the last 5 years and this was by the far the most overpriced place I have ever stayed at! The rooms are basic, you pay extra for aircon, extra for breakfast (which is covered in flies), extra for tv and basically extra for everything! The hotel is right on the beach and there is a bus into town but the bus stops at midnight. You are MUCH better off staying in town and going to the beach or any of the hotels to hang out during the day (they let you swim there anyway) and then stay in town so you can get home after clubbing. Taxis are very rare so don't rely on them late at night. Dont waste your money staying at Far Out!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — leaving it!
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hazo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2008

I stayed at the Far-out village (not the camping or hotel) and i had an amazing time!
I am quite the hotel snob and travel all the time staying in world class hotels - but i was travelling with a group of girlfriends where the smallest budget was basically $30 a day.. so we had to compramise...

we put 6 of us girls in a 4 bedroom suite - and we fitted in fine - 2 single beds, 1 king bed and 2 cushioned seating areas - sheets were clean, plenty of space and a very cute outdoor seating area. the bathroom wasn't much but i didn't expect it too be - but it served its purpose.

The food was amazing - i didn't expect it too be - but im still drooling over the meals now! the pool was very nice and very clean and the staff where amazing.

We went over to the farout camping pool for a day of cheaper drinking and we all had a ball - the camping site was very clean and had everything a traveller could need - including a caffateria, little shop, booze booze and more booze - oh and for the boys they had a wet t-shirt contest too.

Both the village and camping site are located very close to the town - a quick 1.2 euro trip away - or cabs are 2 euro per person..

i had the an amazing time at farout village in Ios and i cant wait to return - my girlfriends strongly agree too!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank OzTravelbug121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milopotas
1.8 mi away
Brothers Hotel
Brothers Hotel
#1 of 44 in Ios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ios Palace Hotel
Ios Palace Hotel
#3 of 10 in Milopotas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dionysos Seaside Resort
Dionysos Seaside Resort
#2 of 10 in Milopotas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Far-Out Hotel & Spa
Far-Out Hotel & Spa
#8 of 10 in Milopotas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lofos Village Hotel
Lofos Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Levantes - Ios Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far-Out Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far-Out Village Hotel

Property: Far-Out Village Hotel
Address: Milopotas 84001, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios > Milopotas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Milopotas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Far-Out Village Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1998 an old classic Greek vacation house turned into the main building of the Far Out Village Hotel. The rooms are built in the surrounding garden, creating a miniature village atmosphere. Located right on Mylopotas beach. The restaurant and swimming pool is right in front of the main building with a fantastic view of Mylopotas beach and the sunset. All guests has access to all the facilities at Far Out Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Far-Out Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far-Out Village Hotel Ios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing