We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only place to stay in IOS” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Far-Out Village Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Far-Out Village Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Milopotas
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in IOS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you're in Ios, you are obviously there to party - Far Out is the place to stay!
It is not just a hostel, but an entire resort - with pools, bars, restaurants and a beach all at your doorstep! There are regular buses that take you into town at all hours or just a 5euro taxi ride home.

After a night out in town, you will want nothing more than to lounge around the pools or relax on the beach! Don't bother staying in town.

The bungalows were clean and extremely comfortable - even had aircon at an additional 5 euro a day charge (which can be organised on arrival), and were located at the bottom of the hill so we didn't have to trek up and down!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsCJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    51
    19
    7
    7
See reviews for
5
21
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Best hostel for partying! Made tons of amazin friends. Drank, partied and danced 10pm to 5am every night. Downtown bars, clubs and pubs are poppin every night.
The bed in our bungalow was a cement slab and quite uncomfortable not idea for best sleeping conditions. Alcohol at the bar was considerably more expensive then buying your own booze. Food was a good price and quite delicious. The pool was beautiful and the beaches were unreal. If you want a great tan and an even better party you need to go here!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaitlynMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I didn't stay at this Far-out village Hotel, in fact I stayed at the Far-Out Spa and Hotel, just up the mountain abit. I got free shuttles down here everyday as you can use these facilities as it comes part of the hotel deal.
The Pool parties here were amazing, the drinks were cheap. The girls were climbing up on the scaffolding towers, occasionally people would climb up and spray champagne over the crowd or at the girls. Had a great time here, would recommend this to any party goer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheoSox10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you're coming to Ios and are looking to party then don't even worry about glancing in another direction. This is where you you want to be.

With just two of us girls traveling, we immediately made mates after checking into our room then heading out to the main dining area for a late dinner and a jug of beer before a bunch of Aussies and Kiwis who we didn't know, joined us at our table. That's the brilliance of this village, it is SO easy to make mates. Naturally we ended up having a few cheeky beverages with our new made friends who introduced us to more mates, who we ended up heading out on the town with.

The village is about a 25 minutes walk from the main nightlife and restaurant area but there is a bus route that everyone hops on or alternatively after the last one stops at 12pm, you can either can a taxi or walk. My friend and I walked home at 7am every morning (some of the clubs don't even open until 3am) and it was extremely safe.

As for the day there is no other place you'd want to be with the beach across the road offering a range of water sports, or the pool at the village where the is a hefty day life, a crazy dance floor, and just your standard Aussies enjoying a tan. If you need a break, walk 30m down the road and hire out a quad to explore the rest of the island.

The room is nice apart from the ants, but guaranteed the only time you spend in the room is when you're sleeping.

And finally as an Aussie, I know how much we all appreciate a smoothie. There's a Greek restaurant a bit further along the beach who make the most delicious banana smoothies. When we pressed as to why other places along the beach did not offer smoothies, the lady said one day a a group of Australians came and begged her to make them a smoothie. She said she told them, "We don't have smoothies, sorry", they replied, "We don't want one, we need one" and the rest is history.

Ios is a beautiful island, and Far Out is the only place you want to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtney141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel was great. It was next door to the crazy party of campers in the far out camping, so this was a little toned down, more relaxing. A great pool area, and nice bar with restaurant, and there is also a sushi bar! The rooms were nice and spacious, came with a mini fridge and a TV and AC, both without remotes, the front desk has them, and for a CHARGE per night, are available. Was not worth it. We did however get a visit from a bunch of ANTS, but just let the desk know, and he exterminator will come and spray them away. After that, no problems. The beach was fantastic as well, the little palapas were handy since I burn so easily, and there is also a waitress that comes and takes food and drink orders, which was really nice. Good drink specials too. In the evening we headed to the main town for nice dinners as the options for dinner were a bit laking on this side of the island. It is a nice romantic setting for any couples looking for relaxation and fun!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsbloom19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at farout with some girlfriends during August. The village pool/resturant was amaZing! It looked over the beach.. There was always plenty of deck chairs, chilled music and amazing food at the bar/resturant! A local living bar attendee always came up with great cocktails and drink mixes for us! The pool area was definantly the highlight of the hotel. Next door was far out camping and they had day party's by there pool and louder more intense music! The rooms were ok.. Nothing too special but we always had clean towels.. Bathroom was very small and water never went down the plug! But that's expected in Greece. If you don't see yourself partying everynight try get a bungalow/room at the back otherwise you will be up all night cos that's all people seem to do in ios is party! Lots of Aussies at farout! Beds were average pretty hard. Air con not the best but did the job! Overall great hotel to party at / chill by the pool but mainly for the young!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 897Emma_D29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

For the price we paid, I was pleasantly surprised by the type of room we were given, nice! We had an ensuite - 1 queen-sized bed in one room and 3 single beds in another. Room was chic and sharp, white on white, awesome! Bathroom was big, airy & bright, goody! We had breakfast in their small restaurant - the lady manager's very friendly, so was the waitress at the bar outside. Lovely pool area, colours of blue & white in abundance. However, the hotel's more suited for the younger crowd: sun, sea and clubbing (loud music at the bar area in the evening!). Beach was quite deserted, even during the day - October being the end-of-season, many pensions and local hotels shut-down business early, in preparation for the coming winter months.

Room Tip: All the rooms are located away from the Reception and Pool area (where the pool bar and restaurant i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Starry-nite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milopotas
1.8 mi away
Brothers Hotel
Brothers Hotel
#1 of 45 in Ios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ios Palace Hotel
Ios Palace Hotel
#3 of 10 in Milopotas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dionysos Seaside Resort
Dionysos Seaside Resort
#2 of 10 in Milopotas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Far-Out Hotel & Spa
Far-Out Hotel & Spa
#8 of 10 in Milopotas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.5 mi away
Yialos Ios Hotel
Yialos Ios Hotel
#6 of 45 in Ios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lofos Village Hotel
Lofos Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far-Out Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far-Out Village Hotel

Property: Far-Out Village Hotel
Address: Milopotas 84001, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios > Milopotas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Milopotas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Far-Out Village Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1998 an old classic Greek vacation house turned into the main building of the Far Out Village Hotel. The rooms are built in the surrounding garden, creating a miniature village atmosphere. Located right on Mylopotas beach. The restaurant and swimming pool is right in front of the main building with a fantastic view of Mylopotas beach and the sunset. All guests has access to all the facilities at Far Out Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Far-Out Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far-Out Village Hotel Ios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing