We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, dirty, not relaxing”
Review of Far-Out Camping

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Far-Out Camping
Perthshire, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Noisy, dirty, not relaxing”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I visited Far Out Camping with my boyfriend and his friends, all aged between 18 and 25. The place is great if you want to party every night, pick up girls/ guys, get drunk, wake up at 3pm the next day, catch an hour of sun and then do it all again. It is NOT a good place to relax. The loud music starts about 3pm and continues into the night... if you happen to be one of the unfortunate ones who get put in a bed tent or tent on the other side of the dance floor, you can forget about getting any sleep either! We were all staying in bed tents, which, if you are placed in a windy location (top of hill) can be quite cool, but if not, you literally BOIL and cannot sleep past 9am (unless in coma-state). People being sick, having rocks thrown at our bed tent were just some of the many ways in which we were woken during the night! We upgraded for one night to a bungalow which was available for 1 night we were there & the difference was immense; the fan was amazing!!!

Room Tip: if you have to stay here, go for a room/ tent up the hill, away from the footfall from the bar and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    41
    15
    14
    14
See reviews for
3
22
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Overall the camping is fine. We found a nice spot under the bamboo roofs (pergolas), so we did enjoy sleeping. Plus the view from where we stayed was nice. What we didn't enjoy was going to the facilities (toilets, showers, laundry service). I couldn't think of washing any of my clothes at the laundry let alone take a shower or go to the toilet. They should consider cleaning them more often because they were by far the most disgusting i have ever seen or smelled!!!!!
My friends had the idea of waking up at 8-9 o'clock every morning and going to the toilet just after the janitor had finished cleaning but that is not my idea of vacationing!!!!
The staff was really rude too. We complained about the cleanliness but they didn't seem to care..
If you like partying and drinking and don't mind about the rest it is a great place for you to stay. People start dancing and drinking from 6 pm. Although it is kinda bad too because they get so wasted they end up sleeping in other people's tents. Lol
If you want my opinion, go to Ios, because it is a beautiful island, but stay at a hotel or rooms to let.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milopotas hotels

Leuven, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights 5 days end of august. My friend and I camped 5 euros a night which was the cheapest we've found in the cyclades. camping also pretty quiet, you can choose to go party by the pool or go back to your tent to sleep.. its well laid out like that. Shower/toilet facilites great - even loo roll! far out has a pool bar internet and restaurant all great convenient. Situated right on the beach which has watersports and sun loungers. 10 mins on the bus into town for party times! Literally had the best time ever on Ios at far out!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie_Quin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitangata, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

As long as you know how to look after yourself this place is great! People who come here expecting 5 star accommodation facilities are silly. This place has absolutely awesome facilities- pools, bars, great beach on the doorstep. Bungalows/cabins/tents are very basic but if you're hanging out in them for more then 5 minutes a day you're not experiencing what else this place has to offer. Make use of the lockers near the pool area though as valuables tend to go missing from the pool side, especially in the evening when everyones drunk.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatestheword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

Filthy facilities, very noisy, full of teenagers and 20's guys from all over Europe that drink and smoke (whatever can be...smoked!) all day long. The music from the bar area, is playing very loud all day long. Baths and WC are worse than being in Iran Military Camp. The pool water is dark green! With 200 people splashing their dirty feet in, drinking coctails and beers, getting drunk and pouring their drink in the pool... No quiet to sleep in the night. Fights, between the worst tourist class, that this Island has every year... will keep you awake and anxious. Some one was talking at 03:00 in the morning of torching with flame the camp tent of our neighboor!!! The second morning, a guy had throw up next of our tent, and was sleeping dead, on our shoes, just outside of our tent!

We stayed there two nights (from the initial purpose of a 7 days holiday) and left the 3rd morning, as we couldn't feel safe and the hapiness of the vacation had been gone!

If you are a not a sex-nad drugs-and rock and roll fan do not even think about it, for this place. And for the Island, maybe, as the whole summer becomes a Wild Party Zone.

Too pity, because is it's a really beatiful island!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dimitrios-GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

If you are going to stay here I would recommend you don't get the tent... Pay a couple of more euro and get the bungelow. The bar and the pool were great to hang around, and with the beach across the road with fantastic watersports. Everyone is really nice and its a fantastic atmosphere. There are a lot of aussies and kiwis that stay there. There is a bus that is quite regular that goes into town that leave from out the front!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shae86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We stayed in the bed tents (after eventually sorting out a mistake made with our booking). These are essentially little huts, with a two little camp beds in, and a filthy mattress on top. No pillows. No linen. Floors were unclean. Door didn't shut properly, and holes in the wall were literally stuck over with plasters.

Assuming bed tent, meant a tent with a bed in - we did not bring any camping type stuff with us - if you do stay here make sure you bring a sleeping bag and pillow.

The camping is a real party place. Which means at night it is very noisy. Also, we found the staff rude and unhelpful. It was like we were doing them a service for being there. The restaurant served school dinner like food, at restaurant prices.

However, it is right opposite the beach, which is amazing, and the far out hotel next door has a lovely chilled bar and pool which they didn't seem to mind us using.

One of the worst and dirtiest places I have stayed in the world!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaywannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milopotas
0.1 mi away
Far-Out Village Hotel
Far-Out Village Hotel
#7 of 10 in Milopotas
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ios Palace Hotel
Ios Palace Hotel
#3 of 10 in Milopotas
483 reviews
1.3 mi away
Francesco's
Francesco's
#11 of 42 in Ios
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dionysos Seaside Resort
Dionysos Seaside Resort
#2 of 10 in Milopotas
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Far-Out Hotel & Spa
Far-Out Hotel & Spa
#8 of 10 in Milopotas
77 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ios Resort Hotel
Ios Resort Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chora
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far-Out Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far-Out Camping

Property: Far-Out Camping
Address: Milopotas 84001, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios > Milopotas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Milopotas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far Out Camping & Bungalows is built on ancient olive grove terraces right on Mylopotas beach. You may choose from a simple sheltered bamboo roof for the great pleasure of sleeping under the moon and stars to cozy beach cabins or bungalows. You may also pitch your tent under the shade of huge eucalyptus trees. All guests have full and easy access to all facilities at Far Out Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Far-Out Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far-Out Camping Ios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing