We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
25
22
6
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
25
22
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews place to stay bus stop main beach short walk village
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 57 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

No clean sheets provided during 5 night stay, cleaning service does minimum to clean room, no warm water, dirty bathroom floor, awful experience. I understand you get what you pay for but this was brutal.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Soirée A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2018

the purple pig as i know has a very positive history. The family that runs the place have all the right needs to your expectations. The pool is large and clean and the campsite is vast and peaceful. The bar offers all sorts of shots and cocktails and the food is yummy and cheap. A short walk and you're on the main beach, also a short bus ride and you are in the heart of the village. A great place to be and to chill when you need to.

Room tip: try the range of shots they have
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hatsoff966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

We stayed here in May 2017 and we absolutely loved it! Our room was comfortable, quiet and clean. The pool was great, as was the bar and restaurant which made super tasty and affordable food! The manager George was so helpful. It's in a great spot just across the road from the beach, you can easily get to to town from here. will absolutely stay here again!!

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017

Love the place, the owners, the stuff everything! Here i made a new family! I come every year just for the people here. WE ADORE PURPLE PIG! It is the best camping in Ios. And here you meet people of quality!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2017

I stayed there for 3 weeks in summer 2016, was intending to go to different islands but Ios IS A TRAP (!) and the Purple Pig is the perfect place to enjoy it, so I stayed.
First I rented an absolutely new tent for camping, later I got a dorm room which was clean and nice, good AC, working fridge, comfy beds and we even had a huge balcony.

There’s a lot of partying on the island and the Purple Pig is the perfect "home base" to stay at – you get to all the party locations within minutes but you also have the option of chilling and relaxing by the pool bar if you don’t feel like going out.

The place has a nice and clean pool, a very cool pool bar were you’ll meet fellow travellers and the awesome (!!) bartender, wifi, laundry service, safes, mini market, barbecue and everything else you may need or want within walking distance!
From the pool to the beach you’re gonna walk 2 minutes (if at all)! From the pool to the day-time party places you’ll walk 5 minutes – but you don’t have the busy drunk crowd around you all day if you don’t want it. You’ll see the beach from the pool!
Milopotas beach is the prettiest and biggest beach on Ios!

The bus stop is 1 minute from the pool, you may also rent scooters/4-wheelers around the corner.
At the beach you’ll find plenty of nice restaurants, but the food at the Purple Pig is also very good, especially the BBQ the family cooks every week! Prices for food and drinks are low!
The entire family is super nice and helped with everything we needed, from directions to translation to pharmacy stuff and so on – they will always help you out!
The best part is GEORGE (!!!), who usually runs the bar! The guy’s a legend, just read the other reviews! He knows everybody on the island, will get you drunk in no time and if you’re really lucky he’ll join you for clubbing downtown! Trust me – the guy’s a legend and super fun all day around the bar!! George set me up with several girls, he has a talent for getting travelers to meet each other!

All in all I couldn’t think of a better place to stay on Ios and I will definitely come back soon!!
George and all of your family - thanks so much for hosting me and Niki, I hope you guys read this and smile!! :)
“Put the fireball on ice!” ;)

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vicf815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews