We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mathios Village
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kalimera Hotel(Akrotiri)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adamastos Hotel(Akrotiri)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apanemo(Akrotiri)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akrotiri Hotel(Akrotiri)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maison Des Lys(Akrotiri)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (812)
Filter reviews
812 results
Traveler rating
495
177
45
43
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
495
177
45
43
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerbeautiful islandhalf boardred beachrental carthe bustravel arrangementsa wonderful holidaya family run hotelevery eveninghome madehis motherhis teamcaldera beachvisit santorinimain towncleaned every day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 812 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a 10 night stay at Mathios. We had a wonderful time - the dinners were of a high quality and freshly prepared. There were not many options with the half board but the dishes were well varied throughout the week and we much preferred this to what we are used to receiving on most all-inclusive holidays: a wide variety but poor quality of food. The house wine is also fantastic!

The pools are a good size and are incredibly clean, as are the rooms and suites. The hotel staff are absolutely brilliant. So hard working and polite. We were genuinely really impressed.

I have often wondered when researching holidays whether some of the negative reviews on trip advisor are valid or whether many of them are just written by whining, miserable complainers who have nothing better to do than to try to damage respectable businesses. After staying at the hotel I am confident that many of the people who have written bad reviews are just types that don't enjoy themselves anywhere, because they love to see the worst in every situation. Just because you are on holiday, it doesn't give you the right to be rude to staff and expect every little thing to go your way. Often there will be additional charges for upgrades etc! As far as we could see, Costas is incredibly hard working and friendly and makes an effort to ensure a warm and personal atmosphere in the hotel. If you want somewhere that stays open all night, book with a larger hotel/somewhere that specifies those hours. If you want a bath in your suite as well as a shower, up grade! It's simple.

Also, the comments about the location of the hotel are ridiculous - it took us about 25 mins on a tiny quad to get to the other side of the island and the surrounding scenery is beautiful.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Paul and Cara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Mathios in August. We had a wonderful stay and very much enjoyed our time in Akritori. The staff is a big family and theya re so helpful. Kostas will treat you right as long as you keep smiling :) They conveniently have a travel agency inthe hotel so we were easily able to book excursions and ATV's. The hotel is right infront of a bus stop which takes you into Thira and the southern side of the island. This is a great place to stay and explore the southern side of the island. I would recommend contacting the hotel directly for booking. Their rates are standard but you get a better selection if you contact them directly. We had an economy room, which is okay but the bathrooms are very tight and we are not big folks.
The grounds are imaculate! The pools are beautiful, the restaurant is very good and cheap. Breakfast at 10 euro is fair. I'm sure you will enjo your time here.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at The Mathios Village in June. We stayed for 12 nights and our daughter joined us for 1 week. Santorini is a beautiful island and our holiday was made all the more pleasurable by the hospitality shown to us by Costas and his family. All the staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms and grounds are kept spotlessly clean. The food in the taverna was really tasty. All in all our stay was most enjoyable and we all highly recommend the Mathios Village experience

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

When we arrived for our ten days on Santorini, we received a warm greeting from the owner and were immediately upgraded to one of the superior suites as the owner had a spare one available. It was a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the pool and we were able to keep it for the whole ten days.

The hotel itself was beautifully presented and well maintained. The pool and restaurant area were gorgeous and the barman was excellent and very friendly. We ate there a couple of times and had no complaints although the bar closes at 10:30pm.

The owner of the hotel was extremely helpful and we arranged our car rental through him and a boat trip to the nearby volcanic islands. It all went very simply and smoothly.

The hotel is close to the village of Akrotiri which has some nice restaurants. One up the hill on the road towards the lighthouse was especially good and there's one with a panoramic view over the nearby islands, both perfect for sunset dinners! There's also a local shop next door which is perfect for buying packed lunches from.

You will need to hire transport of some sort or use the local buses (cheap and regular) if you wish to visit the other towns on the island or get to the best beaches but Akrotiri is quiet, peaceful, pretty and close to the archaeological sites.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vmathios1970, Manager at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

It was luck to have you in Mathios village , thank you to be with is 14 nights , always with smile and good energy , your family try all our cooking for dinner and lunch snacks ect , my only sadness it is that i didnt have to much time to spend with you , we are also so happy that you want to come back soon , our door is open for you any time ( we serve the some brekfast , dinners , we rent the some rooms and suites 95% of our guest love it like you , some of them they are never happy in paradise also i wish to have the magic stick to make them happy also )
we smile and we do all with our heart, kostas and the family thank you for the wondefroul review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We arrived on the beautiful island of Santorini one day before we were scheduled. Even though it was not their error, they generously accommodated us. The room was beautiful and perfectly clean. All of Mathios Village was very nicely kept up, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. We ate and "Mama's" restaurant which has reasonable prices and great pizza. Mathios Village was only a 10 minute walk to a beautiful and uncrowded beach. The receptionist, Mina, was exceptionally friendly and efficient. They even helped us plan our days. We rented an ATV, which was perfect for our trips to Fira and Oia. Mr. Costas treats his guests like family. Overall, the whole place is like a beautiful little village at your service.
A couple tips: There is a great grocery store next door and be sure to take the road to the lighthouse. On the way to the lighthouse there is a cute roadside shop with great local wine and generous samples and a very friendly owner. Just beyond that is a great view of the sunset.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews