We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mathios Village
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Akrotiri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I had an enjoyable stay here and would like to thank Mr. Costas, Mina, Vasilis and all the staff who were friendly, hardworking and very professional. The food was tasty and the hotel is in a good location. Its not a crowded area, so you get enough peace and quiet, but its close enough to the activity and easy to get to places by bus, or you can rent your own vehicle and drive around. Would definitely visit again!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank char231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 810 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

We spent a few days here - the place is away from all the posh super-crowded glamour of the island - but you get better views and you're closer to the better beaches (including the famous colored ones...); we really felt welcome, the people are genuinely nice and all the complex around the pools is friendly and cosy. The studio with a loft is a good fit for a family. Kostas will help you with anything from transfers to the port/airport to renting a car. It's a very good choice for Santorini - the casual way.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank alecu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We booked this trip in a travel agency package so we had no idea what to really expect, other than the pictures looked nice. We had hoped for the best...IT WAS AMAZING. Everything was perfect. From the start, we were treated like family. It's a family run hotel and everyone works so hard and works together! It was clean, quiet, relaxing, and beautiful. We loved it and will definitely be back!

The owner of the hotel Kostas was especially friendly and helpful. He also rents cars and at first we were a little scared of driving on an island we'd never been to -- without GPS -- but trust us RENT THE CAR!! There's only one major road. And you can see the whole island on your own, at your own pace and whenever you want. Kostas was right! No regrets! It was the PERFECT vacation! Thank you Kostas and family!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vmathios1970, Manager at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thank you for your visit , thank you for your smile always that give us power to go on , we are very happy to hear from a gernalistl like you and your wonderfoul granma that review , your opinion for our hotel and travel agency , we offer the some service to all the guest and to you both , also i was lucky that you stay in our Hotel ! see you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I recently had a lovely family holiday staying with Costas and his family. From being collected at the airport to being dropped off for our flight home we felt as though we were being given special treatment, but it seems that everyone has the chance to experience this!

The Hotel is about a 5 minute walk from Akrotiri, and a 10 minute walk down to a lovely black beach - (a 20 minute walk back up though!!) The views of the caldera are fantastic and well worth the walk - and because of the shelf there are some amazing waves onto the beach.

Even though listed as a 3* plus, it was so much more. We had two lovely rooms one by the pool and one overlooking the sea. They were spotlessly clean and the sheets and towels were changed regularly. The bathrooms have a powerful shower and a few toiletries are provided, as well as a decent hairdryer. Our room was quite large with a fridge, air conditioning a big wardrobe and bedside tables, but not really any drawers. My son's room wasn't quite as big and again not much storage space for clothing. As well as the double bed, the kids loved the fact that one of the beds was at the top of a set of steps (the other was a single, at ground level!) We were very impressed by the ladies cleaning and continually wiping down surfaces on all the furniture on balconies as well as the public areas. The whole place is lovely, lots of flowers and shrubs and an assortment of different shaped buildings housing the rooms. There does seem to be a variety of rooms of different sizes, and therefore different price bands, so make sure you book exactly the size room you require. Although if possible I think Costas would upgrade.

There are two lovely pools, one seems to be a bit deeper than the other, both lovely and clean. There is nothing for children other than the swimming pool, which was perfect for our 7 and 8 year olds, so unless you plan to go out sightseeing it probably wouldn't be ideal for young teenagers.

In between the two pools there is the restaurant, which serves, salads, snacks and drinks up till about 2pm and then from 6.30 anything you want. There is a daily set menu for about 12 euros, which we had on one night but the a la carte had lots of other choices we wanted to try. Costas came and told us what specials were on offer. The food was delicious, Greek food, cooked by Costas' mother. It was not at all Greek 'tourist' food, it was all authentic home cooking. We probably could have eaten for a little less money up in the village, but this was the real deal and for the sake of a couple of euros we preferred the ambience. A special mention should go to Vasili - who seems to be working 24/7, he is always there to help with anything, having been on hand at breakfast time, he makes really delicious salads, toasties, cheese pie and sandwiches at lunchtime and he's there again in the evening serving dinner. A couple of things we really loved, were the starters of tzatziki, eggplant dip and the cheese pie, obviously the Greek salad was delicious. We had pan fried fish one night and another night spaghetti with shrimps, the children had pizza, the spaghetti and meatballs and chicken souvlaki and left their plates clean!

As we were only there for a few days, we didn't go very far. Other than the walk down to the black beach, we took the local bus (1.6 euros) down to the archaeological site and spent a couple of hours in there, it is well worth the 5 euros entrance, lots of information as you walk around, fascinating to see what has been uncovered, and as it is all under an air cooled roof, good to get out of the heat! From there we walked to the red beach, there are snack bars and little market stalls along the road. The red beach is an amazing geological site, it takes a bit of climbing up and over rocks and shale, but worth the climb and then a swim before the climb back!! Although there are beds and parasols for hire for 7 euros a day if you want to stay longer. A guest at our hotel walked to the beach near the archaeological site and took a boat trip, 5 euros, to see the red beach and then a black beach and white beach, people were then able to get off and have a swim. Costas has lots of ideas of how to spend your time, and money, if you want to go further afield. We spoke to some guests who made full use of the local buses, which ran half hourly for most of the time. They went to Fira, an interesting place in itself, and from there you can get buses to all the main sightseeing places on the island - a definite for us next time we stay here.

We have no real negatives about our stay at this hotel, although I think I would struggle for storage space if there for more than a few days with children, but other rooms may be different. Breakfast was good but no variety, the same every day which might be boring if there for two weeks! Perhaps different cereals, muesli, croissants, some fresh fruit.

I can recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a truly quiet family run hotel with attention to detail by someone who really cares that you have a good stay with his family, and will make sure that you do.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ordinary-folk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vmathios1970, Manager at Hotel Mathios Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

It was luck to have you in the Hotel , always with good energy , and smile , we try so hard to make every one happy , but it is not easy 97% of my guest are so happy, . you have seen it also , From guest like you that you work on airlines easy-jet and british airways have experience in traveling with Hotels ,and thank you that you trust my restaurant 3 times per day breakafst and lunch & dinner & yo ust also see you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a familiy run hotel in a very quiet area of southern Santorini with fantastic views of the Caldera, with beautiful sunsets....you don't have to travel to Oia for those!. We stayed a full two weeks here and loved every minute of it. Kostas and his family work very hard to ensure you have a fantastic stay. Nothing is too much trouble. Our room was a good size with TV, hairdryer, fridge and A/C. The rooms were cleaned daily and towels and bed linen changed regularly. The hotel was quiet and all areas were exceptionally clean, including the two lovely pools. There were plenty of sun beds and umbrellas. A pool bar served drinks and snacks. The food was very good (and home made by Mama) at the hotel and reasonably priced. There are three Tavernas in the village centre to also try and others further afield (10 - 20 mins walk away). Our only reservation was that during the two weeks there, the breakfast never varied, which became very boring in the end. What is served is good and fresh, but just a change of meat, bread or fruit might have been nice. In the Akrotiri area enjoy walks to the Caldera and the Adriatic sea to the East. The Archaeological site of ancient Akrotiri is well worth a visit as is the ancient castle in the village.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marg029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had planned to stay at Mathios Village for 6 days, but extended our stay with another week already on day 2. It's a great place for a relaxing holiday.

The pool area is lovely, the food is very nice and home made and the staff is very kind and helpful.

Kostas will help you with anything you need such as car rentals, trips etc.

We will definitely come back to this little oasis.

The only thing that could be improved is the breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel takes your breath away when you see it. From the front entrance to the back of the gardens it's like you are transformed to a different world. The rooms are big and spacious , the bathrooms clean and large , the balconies are overlooking the pools.. Double pools!!! There is a little chapel in the edge of the property , adorable and at the back of it , the gardens with the richest colors of pinks and whites spilling over the walls. Over the horizon the vineyards overlooking the Aegean Sea. The people friendly and helpful all the time. The food delicious and affordable.. Our stay well worth it.. Bravo... We will certainly be back... Thanks to all of you for making it a memorable one... Elpida from Florida...

Room Tip: Rooms at the middle of the pool or at the top level of the hotels in Santorini mostly have the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elpida t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akrotiri
0.5 mi away
Apanemo
Apanemo
#1 of 12 in Akrotiri
722 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 7 in Megalochori
542 reviews
4 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 40 in Perissa
788 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bella Santorini
Bella Santorini
#6 of 11 in Perivolos
339 reviews
4.2 mi away
Villa Manos
Villa Manos
#1 of 15 in Karteradhos
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mathios Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mathios Village

Address: Akrotiri 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Akrotiri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Akrotiri
#5 Luxury Hotel in Akrotiri
Price Range: $81 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mathios Village 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mathios Village is a family run hotel on Santorini Island near the Caldera cliffs. Set amongst the green vineyards of the peaceful Akrotiri village, only a few minutes away from the volcanic “Red” and “White” beaches, the majestic caldera and the world’s famous archaeological landmarks. Mathios Village will satisfy the needs of the most demanding visitors by offering a variety of unique styled rooms and suites, large open air swimming pool and the country yard, all tastefully decorated, creating an idyllic place to spend your holidays in Santorini in class and comfort. At our restaurant you can enjoy a breakfast buffet, homemade Greek meals and organic wine. In our hotel there is also a Travel and a Rental Agency. The Hotel offers a unique atmosphere, so much for families as for couples, as it combines all the amenities of a deluxe lodging, reminding more of a traditional village, than a typical hotel, that instantly makes you feel like home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mathios Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mathios Village Hotel
Mathios Village Akrotiri
Hotel Mathios Village Santorini/Akrotiri, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing