We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Views and Service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Apanemo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apanemo
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Akrotiri
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing Views and Service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

The location of the Hotel is amazing!!: You get to see the whole Caldera from a 'different' angle - Fira, Oia Imerovigli and the rest of the hanging towns are on the other side of the Caldera!! The hotel has beautiful gardens that are well being taken care of by the family owners of the hotel. The hotel pool (actually 2 pools one under the other + a join jacuzzi pool) is set in front of this beautiful views. The rooms are very clean and well decorated. Breakfast is very good and served in a special room with big window facing the Caldera.
Also in the area of Akrotiri - Some of the best Taverns found around the Island of Santorini.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrekTheWorldIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    97
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
98
361
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

After our stay at Apenemo Hotel In Akrotiri Santorini we felt compelled to share our experience with you. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and we were looking for somewhere special, and we certaInly found it ! Our room no 21 was beautiful it was large modern airy and nicely furnished we also had a roomy bathroom with modern shower, but to top it all( if you could) was the stunning view when you opened your doors onto your own private balcony. In the morning when your door was opened ( get your husband to do that ) you could just lift your head off your pillow and look out over the caldera and distant views of Fira and oia, they really are incredible views. also when you come back from your evening out you can sit on your balcony with a bottle of wine and see the towns of fira and oia twinkling in the distance. ( yes i know i sound like an old dafty but trust me ). The breakfast room is very nice light and welcoming there are seats inside and outside , the seats outside look out towards the town of Akrotiri which is lovely when having breakfast. The breakfast consists of breads, cakes, pastries,ham cheese, eggs. fruit ,coffee ,tea and juice. it is a substantial breakfast, (try the cakes yummy )Now for the pool it is a gorgeous 2 tier infinity pool with breathtaking views again over the caldera what else can i say about that but you wont want to leave. Spiros is a great guy and will help you with anything and recommends good restaurants , places to see Etc Spiros and his family are wonderful hosts and really welcome you into there home. Now Akrotiri itself is a 10-15 mins downhill walk and a little longer walking back when you have had your evening out. I would recommend a car at least for a few days to see all this beautiful Island. We had a car which spiros organised for us and it was delivered to the hotel while we were having breakfast and it is also picked up when you have finished with it. We also couldnt resist having a quad bike for a day also delivered for us , that was great fun. Fira is a thriving town with an abundance of shops , clothes , designer, jewellery Etc. also lots of bars and restaurants, we found it very busy and in the evenings people line up by the walls overlooking the sea to get that spectacular view of the sunset . Oia is also a lovely place to visit again very busy , chic and very expensive with shops and restaurants again people go there for the sunset.. I think we had the best of both worlds where we stayed as it was quiet and if you go to a taverna about 5mins walk away you get great views of the sunset without the crowds.. The taverna is called Aelos with fab food especially the moussaka , and the owners are really nice people too we went there 5 times it was that good. Also in Akrotiri village there is a lovely little tavern called Zafora also lovely food and owners. Forgot to mention a great views for sunset is at the windmill just outside Akrotiri. If you make your way out of Akrotiri down towards the red beach just follow the road right to the sea front , you can park there, there are about 5 or 6 traditional tavernas along the sea front, my husband booked a table one evening and the owner had put 3 or 4 tables on the jetty right where the small boats pull in to drop of a few people from the large yachts and cruisers which are anchored around nearby it was a truly lovely romantic night. the restaurant we liked there was Stolidas Taverna.After all that I havent mentioned the weather all i can say is HOT HOT HOT Beautiful we didnt see a cloud all our stay.Well to finish off all i can say is try this great hotel Apenemo as it is truly a jewel in the crown. Thanks Spiros

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaydevil56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

Hotel Apanemo has spectacular views and the apartment we were in was superb. The view from our balcony was breath-taking and best of all, it was QUIET. Like a little slice of peaceful heaven in Santorini. Spiros, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. The room itself was nothing special but sufficient. The pool, however, is awesome: clean and gorgeous. Come stay at the Apanemo! We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deniseacole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

Excellent apartment with stunning views of the island, Caldera and the sea at all angles.
Spiros and his family are lovely and can't do enough for you. Will organise quad, scooter etc and have it there in 30 mins. Highly recommend getting a Quad (it's the best way to travel!). Aeolos tavern, 10 mins slow walk, great food lovely people and stunning views. Great beaches at Perissa 10 mins on Quad. Steer clear of red beach if you prefer quieter beaches and no rock climbing. Eros and Wave beach are lovely. Great holiday. Not impressed by Thira but Oia is very beautiful and worth a visit - some excellent galleries and shops.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkbubbles68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
278 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

This was our second visit to the Apanemo and I know it will not be our last! This time we stayed for 10 days because our trip 2 years ago was so fabulous that we wanted to stay longer this time. Once again, Spiro and his family were fantastic and we felt like we were back with friends. This hotel is easily one of our favorites of any place we have stayed in the world. It is in Akrotiri on the caldera with incredible views of the caldera (which not all hotels have even if they say they do!!). The pool is our childrens' favorite pool anywhere and we spent many hours playing around the pool and relaxing. We love the location because it is easy to drive around the island and it is nice and quiet. The breakfast is fantastic with a good variety of choices. The bathrooms have been redone since we were last there. We can't wait until our next trip to Santorini and the Apanemo!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

Location :

Apanemo is located up on the hill of Akrotiri ( 10 min drive from the port, 20 min drive from Fira and 30 min drive from Oia ). The place is very relaxing and the area is not crowded.

Hotel :

Our room was very clean, very spacious, with fridge, AC, Television and had wonderful view on the caldera. We also had a beautiful terrace. The infinity pool is wonderful, clean and quiet. It offers an impressive sensation of freedom.

Breakfast :

The comprehensive breakfast offers everything you need to be satisfied ( coffee, orange juice, cake, Greek yogurt, feta, olives, tomatoes, fruits, cereals,... ). The breakfast area also avail of 5 tables outside with views to the island.

Management :

The management staff is very friendly and is always available to answer your questions. When we arrived, he gave us a lot of tips on beaches and places to eat. We followed all his recommendations and we haven't been disappointed.

Recommendations :

This place is definitely a little gem in the island. I would definitively recommend this place. It absolutely worth the price which is by the way cheap for the quality of services offered.

Little tips :

You will need to rent a car or quad to move around. The area doesn't offer much to do at night. But it is part of the relaxing atmosphere of Apanemo. Also, if you arrive by boat, make sure you have a taxi waiting for you. The port is an absolute mess and it is very difficult to find a bus or free taxi.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julienchito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

After spending some time in Fira and Oia we rented a car and drove down to the Apenemo in Akrotiri for our last few days on the island ofSantorini. What a fabulous place! The amazing view of the volcano and the coast of Santorini as it curves northward is spectacular but the view inland and across to the east coast is beautiful too. The infinity pools and colourful gardens were even better than they looked on the website. We were greeted by Spiros, who made our stay very special by his friendly, helpful attitude. He appeared to be there at all hours keeping things running smoothly and was always ready to recommend a restaurant or tell us which beach would be best that day by looking at the direction the wind was blowing.
We had apartment with our bedroom in a loft. It was small but extremely clean, with a lovely bathroom and incredible view from the small patio. We were only steps from the beautiful pool and breakfast room which also had free Internet access. We ate a good breakfast each morning on the lovely balcony overlooking the eastern coast of the island.
We absolutely loved this hotel and will definitely stay here on our next visit to Santorini. The location is excellent but we would recommend renting a car so you can visit the rest of the island. The island is small so it is easy to drive anywhere on the island and return to the relatively inexpensive comfort of the Apenemo.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineHutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akrotiri
5.1 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astarte Suites
Astarte Suites
#3 of 12 in Akrotiri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
7.0 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#4 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 7 in Megalochori
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apanemo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apanemo

Property: Apanemo
Address: Akrotiri 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Akrotiri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Akrotiri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apanemo 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apanemo is a traditional village style complex of independent and fully equipped studios and apartments with excellent view to the volcano and to the famous Caldera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apanemo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apanemo Hotel Akrotiri
Apanemo Hotel Santorini
Apanemo Santorini/Akrotiri, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing