We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable stay in Santorini”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Apanemo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apanemo
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Akrotiri
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Memorable stay in Santorini”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We recently visited Santorini and stayed at Apanemo Hotel. From the moment we checked in and checked out , we were treated like a family member. If I return to Santorini I will definitely stay at Apanemo Hotel. The view from the hotel is breathtaking . The hotel is clean and tidy. Highly recommended.
Thanks to Spiros and family. Best Wishes

Deepak
Newcastle upon Tyne - UK

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    97
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
98
361
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolzano, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have just come back from a week at the Apanemo and had a fantastic time. Spiros and his mum were perfect hosts: always friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
We had room no. 5 for 4 nights and then moved to the mini-apartment (no. 10) for the last 3 nights. The room was well equipped and the balcony was sheltered from the vicious Meltemi wind, so you could sit outside. The mini-apartment has almost 360 degree views, and looks directly over the Caldera, so was a dream. However, the wind made it almost impossible to sit outside, and the few hours when we didn't have the wind, the balcony was in direct sunlight and was too hot. The apartment itself, though, was spacious and comfortable, although there wasn't much that you could use to self-cater (although I am sure we could have asked Spiros for whatever we wanted).
Apanemo is up a hill from Akrotiri, so if you don't have your own transport, it's a steep walk down to the bus stop and the village (and even steeper back up!), so a hire car, scooter or quad bike is essential.
The southern part of Santorini is quieter than the rest of the island, so if you're looking for a relaxing, quiet place to stay, with excellent service and comfortable rooms, Apanemo is just the place for you.
And if you want the addition of an infinity pool with a view straight across the Caldera, then you MUST book a room here!

Room Tip: Room 10 has amazing views, but is at the very top and so gets the wind. Room 5 doesn't have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esp67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have just returned from 10 days at the Apanemo after being recommended by our son.
From the moment we arrived till we left with me shedding some tears everything was just perfect.
The reason I felt so sad to leave was because it almost felt like I was leaving family behind.
Spiros Mumma, and Isabel are just so helpful, kind and informative nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was lovely, clean, and spacious, breakfast with cheese puffs, donuts, pumpkin pie all made by momma were delicious, the infinity pool amazing, and the views from all around are spectacular.
The whole gang went out of there way to make our stay the best.
110% satisfied

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirleyanne6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zejtun, Malta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We recently visited Santorini and stayed at Apanemo hotel. This hotel really was a great find: it has amazing views of the island and the Caldera, you get to stay in rooms built in the traditional Cycladic style with all the amenities you could need all whilst experiencing amazing Greek hospitability. I would definitely stay here again when returning to Santorini. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 (apartment) and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shiftupmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Nice service before you arrive! We have to change our stay in Greece, and Spiros kindly help us rescheduling our visit with prompt email reply. First impression on Santorini is great!Nice service before you arrive! Thank you Spiros!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tintingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I endorse all the great things that have been said about the Apanemo and its manager, Spiros. For those who like to be a little away from the touristy core (like Fira) of a vacation island, The Apanemo should be your first choice. (You'll need a car, however. And don't try to navigate there the first time in the dark.) But once there, you'll be very happy with your choice.
One caveat: beware the "rooster room" (room 19) if you like to sleep past 4.00 am. Room 23 a great one.

Room Tip: As stated above, ask Spiros to give you a room away from the barnyard side, and that heelish rooster...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rande K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

A great place to escape the touristy crush & commercialism of Fira. Village atmosphere; serene & stylish. Very friendly modern family-run hotel with superb views of the caldera from the South rim. Our room had a balcony to take it all in with a glass of wine......the pool is inviting (but it was still a bit cool at the end of April!) Spiros was full of good advice. Breakfast was more than adequate. BUT you need a car or scooter given the location. Had an excellent meal in the village (at Taberna Maria).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chagger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akrotiri
5.1 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#15 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astarte Suites
Astarte Suites
#3 of 12 in Akrotiri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
7.0 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 54 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#4 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 7 in Megalochori
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apanemo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apanemo

Property: Apanemo
Address: Akrotiri 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Akrotiri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Akrotiri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apanemo 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apanemo is a traditional village style complex of independent and fully equipped studios and apartments with excellent view to the volcano and to the famous Caldera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apanemo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apanemo Hotel Akrotiri
Apanemo Hotel Santorini
Apanemo Santorini/Akrotiri, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing