We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windy but wonderful”
Review of Apanemo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apanemo
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Akrotiri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel is amazing. As soon as you park your car (and you will need a car) in front of the hotel and start looking around, you will be struck by all the breathtaking beauty that surrounds you. Not only does the hotel offer an incredible view of the caldera, but the hotel itself is unique and picturesque.

The owners of the hotel were warm and welcoming, always greeting us with a cheery "kalimera" when we came up for breakfast and waving goodbye when we left. Eleftheria cooked up a delicious breakfast with different cakes every day, which you can eat outside on the balcony of the breakfast room. The cleaning ladies were so sweet and did and excellent job of keeping our room spotless. Spiros was really helpful when it came to providing advice on what to see and do. He was also very helpful lending us plates and utensils when we brought back crackers, sausages and cheese to consume on our private porch. We had some lovely evenings here, drinking local wine, feeding the seven cats, and conversing with a nice German couple who stayed in the room next to ours.

We had a great room, number 24, which was very large, clean and newly renovated. It was just heaven after a terrible stay on Ios. Naturally, there is always some room for improvement, in this case: the internet connection was a bit unstable, the shower was missing the part where you hang the shower head, and the beautiful infinity pool was FREEZING (the wind makes sure you will get splashed with cold water if you attempt to lie there on a sunbed, and I applaud you if you can stay in the water for more than 5 minutes). We heard "Apanemo" means "no wind", but perhaps this is an ironic name, because it varies from very to extremely windy. Nevertheless, we had such a wonderful time here, and I will recommend Apanemo and Santorini to all my friends and family.

There is something special about Santorini. It lived up to our expectations of being a very romantic island. Highlights included the trip to the volcano and hot springs (book with Dakoutros in Fira - they are cheap), the Open Air Cinema by Kamari Beach (magical!) and walking around the village of Pyrgos at sunset (bring a camera!). I will remember this trip for the rest of my life.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank January_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 717 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Apanemo hotel for 7 nights during the end of June 2012. This was a “mistake” as we should’ve stayed at least 10 nights! We had a great time at this hotel. It is an intimate and relaxed hotel with about 25 rooms/apartments. We loved its architectural style and the outside décor and evening lighting fits perfectly to it,just like on the pictures. Our room was well priced and we were very happy with it.We had an unobstructed view of the caldera and could walk around the hotel to have the view over the Mediterranean ocean to the south of Santorini. Breakfast was good, the view from the balcony and the Greek coffee was awesome, and the service from Spiros and his family and staff was great. The pool was very nice and big enough for a smaller hotel like the Apanemo. It has two levels and being an infinity pool it gives you great views over the caldera when you’re in it.
Akrotiri is in the south western part of the island which is the quiet side and very good for relaxing. You almost get the feeling you’re in a different time era. Here you will meet the friendly locals who want to sell you beautiful home-made organic wine and olives. It is away from the hustle and bustle of Fira and Oia. If you want to party every night, then rather stay in the eastern side of the island. And if you rent a scooter to explore the island, make sure you can drive one, or opt for a Quad Bike as the roads can be tricky in Santorini and it’s not a place where you should learn how to drive a scooter.
During June/July the weather was good, around 30-35 degrees Celsius every day with no clouds. The first 2 days we had a bit of wind, but this went away and resulted in great sunny days. We went sightseeing during the days and restaurant hopping in the evenings – Spiros has some good tips about where to go. We loved Zafora’s in Akrotiri and Captain Dimitri’s fish taverna near the lighthouse. There we had the best grilled fish and if you see Zack, please say hi to him (he seems to be the father of most of the puppies in that part of the island…)
Spiros and his family are great hosts and made our stay very pleasant and memorable. We also loved Santorini itself and our plan is to go back there again one day and stay at the Apanemo. Please also remember that most comments posted on this site are subjective so they must be read in that context. For instance being quite easy and rustic travellers the style, ambience and budget of the Apanemo suited us perfectly. Our room needs to be clean, value for money and maybe have a bit of a view. We got all this and more at the Apanemo!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisAndChris_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, and all of us agreed that this hotel is absolutely spot-on! We have probably got the best apartment in the hotel complex, a four-person apartment with a view of the caldera! you can basically open the window and see the nea kameni and the aegean sea in front of you! We also have a little sort of private balcony area for us to enjoy the sun and hv a wine and cheese at night! It's in Akrotiri so it's a bit far away from the town and you should really rent a car if you want to stay here, but because of where it is located, the whole area is much more quiet and peaceful than Fira and Oia, a great place if you really want to chill out and relax! only 15 min drive out to Fira anyway so it's not bad at all, and there's always parking space in Fira even we went in the peak season (early august). The location of the hotel also means it's only 10 min drive away from the old akrotiri site and the red beach! (red beach is very special but i will opt for Kamari if you want to enjoy the sun more as it is more organised and reachable, as you will need to do some hiking before you reach the red beach). the owners are very helpful and very friendly, thoroughly enjoyed our visit!

Room Tip: Apartment on the north side of the hotel (facing the caldera), however the apartment next to the rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed at this Hotel for 10days in Summer 2012. Its a little bit away from the main city (Fira) but I would almost say that this is good. It takes you 15minutes to be everywhere (by quad or car), The rooms are excellent and the family who runs the hotel is super-friendly. No matter what you need, they will help you. The View and the Pool are excellent ! I would recommend this highly !!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swiss_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Santorini in general is absolutely amazing, but this hotel is gorgeous. The owners are friendly and very helpful. Oh, and the view from this hotel is breathtaking. Apanemo is located on a hill; therefore, you will need transportation. Honestly, you'll need transportation regardless of where you stay in Santorini. There are so many things to see that taking buses are just too exhausting and time consuming. Luckily, Apanemo will help bring your car, fourwheeler, or bike there and when you check out, you can leave it there. Prices were 30 for smart car, 25 for fourwheeler, and 15 for the bike. (In euros)

Anyway, about the hotel and island:
There is breakfast in the morning that they make themselves. It's nothing special so don't expect a buffet. There is a bakery down the road though with wonderful pastries and of course, some cheesepies (tiropitas) and spinach pies (spanakopitas).
The view, as I mentioned above is breathtaking, but if you want the best view of the sunset, I would suggest going to Senor Zorbas. They have good food compared to the other taverns I ate at and they have the BEST view of the sunset.
Speaking of food, I wasn't too happy about it. The taverns in Akrotiri must have stopped caring because the food was either overcooked or just unsatisfying. The hotel will recommend you go to a Tavern (I forgot the name). The gyro platter and the lamb chops are very good from there. If you are with a group of people (there was six of us in total), you'll end up paying around 100 euros. Honestly, your better off going to get pitas and spending fourteen. Not only will you'll enjoy it, but you'll be saving money. (What I mean by pitas are sandwiches such as souvlaki, gyro..)

The one thing I didn't like about this hotel is that there was no shuttle service. When we were going back to the port, it took us 4 hours because the bus schedule was ridiculous. Thankfully, They pick you up from the bus stop and drive you back there when you are leaving.

Room Tip: We had a loft room and I would highly recommend it! I suggest putting a card (not a credit card, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

we stayed here mid July and thought the location was idyllic. Away from the busy places like Fira and Oia but close enough to be able to get there by car. You do need a car - the hotel is located on a hill and during the summer, walking there would be extremely difficult.
the hotel itself was beautiful. We stayed in the smaller room for two nights with the gorgeous bougainvillea on the balcony. The bedroom was pretty basic with a tiny TV with bad reception. The bathroom, whilst small was clean and looked newly fitted. We then moved to room 21 which had a view of the volcano and it was amazing. Loved the new room, with access to wifi and a better TV (not that we watched much). Bed was comfortable and bathroom was lovely. the showerhead didnt work properly but Spiros fixed it for us so no complaints there.
We rented a car from Axion and I would recommend not filling up your tank completely. we made that mistake and ended up handing the car back with half a tank of fuel! Gutted.
Would recommend getting to Oia for about 10am before it gets packed, hot and busy! We ate at some gyros which were lovely including the one near Apanemo - next to the bakery. We took the food back to the hotel and ate it on the balcony. The breakfasts at the hotel were fine and if you need lunch they will make this for you.
Overall, one of the most scenic places we have ever been too with a beautiful view of the caldera and a brilliant pool which was much needed with the extreme heat of the summer. Spiros and his family are extremely hospitable and we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Far from the riotous Fira, Apanemmo hotel is a quiet and pretty place with a fantastic view on the caldera. The kindness of the owner Spiro, the beautiful swimming pool and the breakfast are very appreciable. The situation of the hôtel is very good, not far from the south beaches. Prices are fair, unlike Oia or Fira. When we come back to Thira, we go to Apanemo.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etophyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akrotiri
3.4 mi away
Lilium Villas
Lilium Villas
#8 of 81 in Fira
785 reviews
2 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 7 in Megalochori
541 reviews
3.4 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Firostefani
514 reviews
7 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
5 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#1 of 21 in Firostefani
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apanemo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apanemo

Address: Akrotiri 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Akrotiri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Akrotiri
Price Range: $125 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apanemo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apanemo is a traditional village style complex of independent and fully equipped studios and apartments with excellent view to the volcano and to the famous Caldera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apanemo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apanemo Hotel Akrotiri
Apanemo Hotel Santorini
Apanemo Santorini/Akrotiri, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing