We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice B&B, Great views, Room a little rough around the edges.”
Review of Apanemo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apanemo
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Akrotiri
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice B&B, Great views, Room a little rough around the edges.”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Apanemo is a nice B&B with a great views and a cool pool. The location is good as it is not in the tourist traps of Fira and Oia however you will need a car as it is about a 10-15 minute drive to Fira. Its close to a number of good beaches including the red beach and Perissa. There are also a few restaurants close by, one within walking distance. The room we had was nice with an upstairs loft , great view and nice bathroom however it could do with a bit of renovation as it was a bit rough around the edges. Also Spiros the owner is very helpful and makes good suggestions about restaurants and activities.

All in all this was a nice B&B but if you don't drive you would be better off staying in Fira or Oia.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank killianf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    99
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
101
375
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Our trip to Santorini was fabulous thanks to the service provided by Spiros who was always friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was excellent but would have been better if toast making facilities were available.
From our spacious room we had views from every window and our own private balcony.
Spiros helped organize a hire car and it was a short drive to the main tourist attraction, the beautiful town of Oia. The local restaurant just up the hill from the hotel was very friendly and had a great selection of meals. Also it was a great place to watch the sunset, I would recommend this restaurant as opposed to Marias in Akrotiri.
I would highly recommend staying at Spiros' Apanemo hotel and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnNich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We echo all the previous positive comments with especially great hospitality and welcome from Spyros and his family. They were very accommodating and from the start provided all the information for our enjoyment on Santorini. View is unbelievable from every angle of this hotel. Room #21 is part of the collection of rooms with Caldera views only, but the road noise can be a nuisance. Room #2 is cozy & amazing with panoramic views of the Caldera, island and southern beaches. Breakfast on the terrace is very nice with a wide array of regular options with one unique homemade item (the honey donut holes and tomato balls were our favorites!). Like anywhere else on the island, expect to rent a means of transportation to get to the other parts and explore. This location is great for our tastes because it was quiet, off the beaten path and away from throngs. You can choose to not leave Apanemo or explore as much as you wish or do both! Expect windiness from this high perch (payoff for the view) and yes the pool is cold but much needed on hot days! Computer access in breakfast room was a nice perk. We would return to Apanemo in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Room 2 is great, 21 has great view but road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koernbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This is a hidden jewel on Santorini. Off the beaten track, far from the touristy craziness of Thira or Oia. This place is heavenly-- beautiful rooms with terraces, infinity pool with a view over the Caldera, homemade treats for breakfast. Apanemo is a family-run business, and the family is very much present. The only negative, albeit minor, is that some of the superior rooms are directly over the main access road, which is rather noisy at night. The view from these same rooms, however, is unbeatable, and well worth the earplugs.

Room Tip: superior rooms have best view but can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucaEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We came to Santorini for our honeymoon and couldn't have been more happy with our stay at Apanemo. Spyros, the owner, makes the hotel seem more a family-run lodge as opposed to another fancy hotel in Santorini. The room was spacious with a large balcony and a fantastic view of the Caldera. Akrotiri is on the southern end of the island. It's quieter and less populated which makes it easy to find good spots to watch the sunset without battling the crowds you find in Ia or Fira. Spyros is from Santorini and had fantastic advice for dinners at family-run places. We enjoyed every suggestion that he gave us, in particular Captain Dimitri's and Aeolos right in Akrotiri. His suggestions were restaurants run by local famiies who don't charge an arm and a leg and provide delicious food. You definitely need to rent a car if you're staying in Akrotiri. But the fact is that the good beaches are on the east coast of the island and the good hotels and caldera views are on the west coast. So even if you were staying in Fira or Ia, you'd probably still need to rent at least a motorbike or four-wheeler. Plus driving the island is easy and the best way to see everything! Spyros told us the name of his friends at the port who own a car rental so they gave us a good deal. All in all, a great stay, lovely infinity pool overlooking the caldera, and we can't wait to come back. Breakfast is great too!

Room Tip: Book in June before peak season starts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeDesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I have been traveling for a little bit over 4 months now and found Apanemo to be the best place we've ever stayed. We rented a car and drove there at night which was a little tricky but once you get there and drive in the day time it's much easier. Our first impression was "wow" the view is spectacular! Then we were given a Map, restaurants, and things to do- believe it or not a lot of hotels don't do this for you so it was really nice to have advice from Spiros. And then we were taken to our room and it was even better than we could have imagined. Simple yet Greek style and just classy. In the morning we woke to another beautiful view from right outside our window. Breakfast is included and very tasty, it's nice when you get a seat outside enjoying the beauty of Santorini. The pool is clean and quiet. The staff was super friendly, especially the cleaning lady who I left my hat with haha. We woke up every morning happy we were there, drank wine on the terrace at night and dreamed of retiring there, not just Santorini, but at Apanemo. Thanks so much for making our trip wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JustRachelio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed in this hotel at the beginnig of June 2011 and it was quite full.
The first impression was good as the view is fantastic and the owner is very nice but to me it immediately turned out to be a two stars category, a no frills hotel targeting young couples or friends with low expectations for service.

Location: The hotel is located about 15 minutes by car from Fira and 30 from Oia. I reccomend to hire a car.
From the hotel we could experience wonderful views: both from our room and from swimming pool you can see all the Caldara.

Rooms: large and basic. There's wi-fi connection.
Both from the room and from veranda you can admire the Caldara.
The veranda is nice but with no privacy.
The cleaninig of the room is really poor: for all our stay we experienced a floor really sticky and sleepery (seems like detergent not rinsed) and towels are of poor quality (with a scrab action on your skin!).

Breakfast: really poor quality. We did not like it as there wasn't anything fresh and the quality of food was poor.

Due to Santorini hotel rates, we anyway reccomend this hotel if you can get a good price and if a low service level is not a problem for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akrotiri
5.1 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 48 in Imerovigli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astarte Suites
Astarte Suites
#3 of 12 in Akrotiri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
7.0 mi away
Pezoules
Pezoules
#2 of 55 in Oia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#10 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#4 of 75 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 7 in Megalochori
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apanemo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apanemo

Property: Apanemo
Address: Akrotiri 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Akrotiri
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Akrotiri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apanemo 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apanemo is a traditional village style complex of independent and fully equipped studios and apartments with excellent view to the volcano and to the famous Caldera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Apanemo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apanemo Hotel Akrotiri
Apanemo Hotel Santorini
Apanemo Santorini/Akrotiri, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing