We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Get away!”
Review of Kalimera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kalimera Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Akrotiri
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Get away!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Hotel Kalimera has all the Greek charm you expect to find in Santorini. A small family run hotel, it is a stop off in paradise. Collected with a smile we drove from the city of Fira to the smaller but far more lovable Akrotiri. There are many hotels dotted around the town but Hotel Kalimera has the perfect balance of a contemporary hotel with traditional Greek touches. The staff couldn't have been more helpful even cutting Aloe Vera for my friend who had ambitiously stayed too long in the welcoming sun! We were offered a choice of rooms and were thrilled to find fridges in both to keep our water cool. We got excited to find a room which had a split level; double bed on ground floor with a wooden stairs leading to two singles on top. Food was great, very reasonable dinner prices and amazing hot chocolates. Breakfast was not extravagant and the only slight glitch, would have preferred more then one fruit option. But the selection of breads and cereals made up for it. Bus stops right outside the door and staff were very helpful in giving us all information on things to see and do. There is also a mini market, right beside the hotel which is handy for snacks and ice creams throughout the day. The pool is a perfect size and we had lots of fun lounging in the various seating area's around the Hotel.

The cleaning service was superb, everyday we came back to a new clean room to welcome us. Me and my friends would definitely travel back for another get away whenever we could!!

Room Tip: Pool views give you a nice view away from the road and you catch the sea horizon on the other side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    66
    29
    7
    12
See reviews for
37
128
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

When i decided to go in Santorini, i've never imagined that when i left from the island, i felt like leaving my home! "KALIMERA" is one of the best hotels that i've ever been, like a small paradise in the middle of Akrotiri!!! It's quite, very clean, the pool bar is so amazing and also the owners of the hotel are so friendly, kind and helpfull...
I hope soon enough to come back in Santorini and stay again in the same hotel...

Definately you should stay there..

Thierry

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thierry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

First, the good. The guy who picked us up at the port was very nice and welcoming. The hotel itself is absolutely gorgeous! And the dog is adorable! Also, you can walk to the site of Akrotiri, and go a bit longer and you are at Red Beach, which is gorgeous! The bad: The lady working there seemed very ornery. She seemed put out when we asked for help. Also, there are so many rules! There are rules for what you can and can't do in the bathroom, there is a huge list of rules for being near the pool. For example, you can't eat any kind of food at the tables near the pool unless you bought it from them, and you can't use room towels near the pool, only your own. Also, the wifi was pretty hit and miss. It seemed to only work in our room if you were right by the door. All in all, I didn't have a bad stay, but it wasn't amazing either. It's a ways away from Fira, but the bus stops right in front of the hotel. It is a beautiful hotel, just far away from everything else. It's perfect if you really just want to relax.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spencer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorghis, Manager at Kalimera Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear guests
I red your review with great respect but to be honest I believe you are a little bit injustice with us and let me explain why. First of all you don't mention that we provide you pool towels for free!!! Second the area you mention that you cannot bring food is the area of the pool bar and the restaurant!! Moving on our hotel has four wifi stations just to cover more space. Maybe if you were telling us we would be helping you to connect with a different station. Last but not least when you mention 'far from anything else' you forget to mention the significant attractions you find of our location, so let me mention two of the most important on the island. First the Ancient city of Akrotiri which is of the notable archaeological site worldwide and of course the most appealing and popular beach of the island, the Red Beach. I could go on and add more but only with these two your description fade
Best regards
Yorghis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We've never returned to the same hotel in our lives. But after spending a week at the Kalimera in late September 2011, when it came to looking for a quiet charming retreat from the world in Santorini this year there was only one place we wanted to stay. The hotel is small enough to always feel intimate, designed and laid out to seem quirky and placed in a part of the island that feels a little more unique. Spotlessly clean and a wonderful place to return to each evening after a day of sightseeing.
Where Fira and Oia (beautiful as they are) are slick and filled with touristy shops, Akritori captures the true essence of island life and is a fabulous place to wander and indulge in the local food and wine. Now that Ancient Akritori (well worth a visit) has opened just minutes away - this is a great place to base yourself and unwind for a week or two.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobdog10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and had a pleasant experience. The location is far away from the action around the rest of the island but the rental car was cheap ($55 Euros for two days) The price is very reasonable and the room was clean. The bed was hard. My husband likes firm beds, so he was happy. I had a bit of a back ache. (This was the 4th hotel we stayed at in Greece and many seemed to have firm beds) The staff was friendly and helpful. Wifi was great and worked in our room. The pool is beautiful and the breakfast was average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsAMoreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 11 days and had the perfect restful holiday away from the bustle of more popular places on the island! The family were very helpful and work tirelessly all day, 24/7 it seems. The cleanliness was amazing and thorough every day, even down to wiping every surface and piece of wood balcony/ window frame. The only noise was from the birds and occasional dog... And shot gun when we were there as the migration is fair game to all at dawn!
Great pool and good food and wine.
Perfect to walk from and explore, easy bus route everywhere. Beach easy walk away.
Perfect Greek tavernas dotted around the village.... Don't ever judge a book by its cover as the food in all of them is great and the local wine very good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ochre999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santorini, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Kalimera beginning of September. When we reached the island Giorgos picked us up from the airport. He was kind enough to give us all the information we needed about the island as it was our first time there. The hotel is spotless and nicely decorated. It's also in a very good location if you're looking to relax for a few days and visit the ancient city of Akrotiri.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EliannaSanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akrotiri
0.1 mi away
Adamastos Hotel
Adamastos Hotel
#9 of 12 in Akrotiri
139 reviews
4.9 mi away
Milos Villas
Milos Villas
#49 of 80 in Fira
141 reviews
4.9 mi away
Aegean Plaza Hotel
Aegean Plaza Hotel
#27 of 75 in Kamari
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
El Greco
El Greco
#22 of 80 in Fira
1,680 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Star Santorini
Hotel Star Santorini
#4 of 8 in Megalochori
194 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Kalma
Hotel Kalma
#4 of 7 in Mesaria
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalimera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalimera Hotel

Property: Kalimera Hotel
Address: Akrotiri 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Akrotiri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Akrotiri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalimera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalimera Hotel is a traditional, family run villa, highly committed to Santorini's architecture & culture. Kalimera is privileged to be situated on a beneficial region on the southern part of the island of Santorini, at the outskirts of Akrotiri village, which is a well preserved, quiet settlement. The villa has been designed and built with the greatest respect to local architecture and design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kalimera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalimera Hotel Santorini/Akrotiri, Greece
Kalimera Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing