We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Akrotiri Archaeological Site
from $49.60
More Info
from $54.20
More Info
from $173.10
More Info
from $57.70
More Info
Reviews (4,771)
Filter reviews
3,031 results
Traveler rating
1,689
875
327
92
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,689
875
327
92
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour under cover volcanic eruption amazing site bronze age lost city of atlantis ancient history red beach entire site wall paintings entrance fee walk around information boards public bus well worth the visit euros per person visiting santorini
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,031 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

We took the bus to this site. Best to leave early and come back before the crowds. We waited for a group of ten to get the $10 Euro per person rate on the guided tour. Well worth it. They do go quick but are informative and answered any questions I had.
This was one of the most interesting sites we saw on our trip and we did all the sites in Athens.

Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

This is an extensive site of a fascinating and very ancient and clearly sophisticated town. The information is good and it is easy to get around on the walkways. It has the benefit of being covered. A visit here is complemented by a visit to the museum in Fira where the wall paintings and artefacts are displayed. Pity they can't display them in situ. They could make more of the additional facilities like the shop, we found the stall outside the site was good and we bought the most up to date guide there.

1  Thank jean p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The guide, Nikos, made this. He clearly knew what he was talking about (distinguishing between fact and supposition) and communicated it well (despite several non-Anglophones in our party speaking very loudly to each other during the English explanations). It’s all laid out very well and clearly - there are written explanations there if you choose to go without a guide.

Thank anthonya451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wow is all I can say. The degree that all this has been kept safe and secure to sift thru for answers. Is absolutely incredible. The tags that were on each stone, the structure that was built around to maintain the site and it’s history is phenomenal.

What a awe inspiring place

Thank harleybella908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good site worth a visit if you stay a few days in Santorini. Consider 1 hour visit and then proceed to the red beach.

Thank P808DSvalentinac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is what has been discovered of the remains of a city in Thera (aka Santorini) of the same era as the Minoan city of Knossos. The place was decimated by a volcanic eruption, but, interestingly, only the structures and streets are being found - no remains of people, animals or valuable artifacts. The reason: the dwellers were given forewarning by the foul smell of sulfur dioxide gas, and picked up and left for another place to live. Our guide was a degreed archeologist who was also a licensed guide. A visit to the site is highly recommended, and because of the way the shelter around the site is constructed a cool high 60's low 70's F temperature is experienced.

Thank cswd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very interesting to see and walk through such old buildings. The signs explain a lot, but a guide is highly recommended.

1  Thank Willemijn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The whole of this site is under cover and is very well presented as there are walkways constructed in a sympathetic way to enable visitors to view the site without damaging it. the walkways don't just skirt the perimeter but go through the site so the visitor can take various routes depending on the time they have to give to the viewing.
Guides can be hired as well to provide the stories of how the site was discovered and excavated and to also tell the 'story' of people who lived here before it had to be abandoned due to volcanic activity and earthquakes.
Well worth visiting and, if you are visiting in the high summer as it's undercover and air conditioned it provides a break from the broiling sun. By the way the site also prides itself on being as environmentally green as possible as the building was designed that way and it is run that way too.

Thank Gwespyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We caught the local public bus from Fira. I think it cost about 2 euro for a single trip, and the bus stops and picks up right outside the front gate.

I arrived imagining some dusty holes in the ground but found a huge climate-controlled building covering an enormous archaeological excavation site. Some work still going on, but most apparently suspended due to the economic problems in Greece.

The history of the site and the eruption is amazing, and the quality/complexity of the buildings were well beyond what I'd imagined for that era.

This place is so much more real and human than pyramids and temples - this was a living and working town.

Highly recommended ( and only a short walk from the Red Beach if you want to make a day of it )

Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Imagine standing beside a structure that is from 5,000 years ago! So hard to imagine but so awesome to experience. Well laid out and easy to understand. Fascinating to see the actual excavation occurring during our visit. Highly recommend as a do not miss on Santorini.

Thank vivian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews