We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Akrotiri Archaeological Site
from $57.80
More Info
from $54.40
More Info
from $85.60
More Info
from $96.00
More Info
Reviews (4,773)
Filter reviews
3,033 results
Traveler rating
1,690
876
326
93
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,690
876
326
93
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour under cover volcanic eruption amazing site bronze age lost city of atlantis ancient history red beach entire site wall paintings entrance fee walk around information boards public bus well worth the visit euros per person visiting santorini
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,033 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

The archaeological site at Akrotiri is wonderful. Please purchase the guide book by Christo Doumas to fully appreciate the site and the museum.

Thank jcturner33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

You need to go to Pompeii,it was ok but not worth the money we paid with the coach and a guide I think 47 Euros and it only cost 6 Euros to get in when we looked on our Ticket .There wasnt even a Museum to see any artefacts that had been found .Most uninteresting ..You will be disappointed if you are expecting the same as Pompeii.

Thank Priscilla008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

We spent 2 days of a 7 day Greek Island cruise on Santorini. the first day there was a provided tour to Oia, Fira, Pirgos, and a few other towns. We decided to do a smaller group tour with Kalisiti and we went to the Akrotiri archaeological site. entrance was about 12 euro. The site is enclosed with a roof and there were people actually working in there. This is one of the most important prehistoric settlements of the Aegean. Ruins of a whole Minoan city were found which had been destroyed around the year 1500 B.C. by an eruption of the volcano of Thira. I was buried under lava with two and three story buildings, city squares, shops, and workshops. Average person would probably spend a couple of hours there. There are a lot of descriptions posted and it was interesting.

Thank edmsgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

We took the bus to this site. Best to leave early and come back before the crowds. We waited for a group of ten to get the $10 Euro per person rate on the guided tour. Well worth it. They do go quick but are informative and answered any questions I had.
This was one of the most interesting sites we saw on our trip and we did all the sites in Athens.

Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an extensive site of a fascinating and very ancient and clearly sophisticated town. The information is good and it is easy to get around on the walkways. It has the benefit of being covered. A visit here is complemented by a visit to the museum in Fira where the wall paintings and artefacts are displayed. Pity they can't display them in situ. They could make more of the additional facilities like the shop, we found the stall outside the site was good and we bought the most up to date guide there.

1  Thank jean p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The guide, Nikos, made this. He clearly knew what he was talking about (distinguishing between fact and supposition) and communicated it well (despite several non-Anglophones in our party speaking very loudly to each other during the English explanations). It’s all laid out very well and clearly - there are written explanations there if you choose to go without a guide.

Thank anthonya451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wow is all I can say. The degree that all this has been kept safe and secure to sift thru for answers. Is absolutely incredible. The tags that were on each stone, the structure that was built around to maintain the site and it’s history is phenomenal.

What a awe inspiring place

Thank harleybella908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good site worth a visit if you stay a few days in Santorini. Consider 1 hour visit and then proceed to the red beach.

Thank P808DSvalentinac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is what has been discovered of the remains of a city in Thera (aka Santorini) of the same era as the Minoan city of Knossos. The place was decimated by a volcanic eruption, but, interestingly, only the structures and streets are being found - no remains of people, animals or valuable artifacts. The reason: the dwellers were given forewarning by the foul smell of sulfur dioxide gas, and picked up and left for another place to live. Our guide was a degreed archeologist who was also a licensed guide. A visit to the site is highly recommended, and because of the way the shelter around the site is constructed a cool high 60's low 70's F temperature is experienced.

Thank cswd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very interesting to see and walk through such old buildings. The signs explain a lot, but a guide is highly recommended.

1  Thank Willemijn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews