We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Pyha Log Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pyha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pyha Log Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Pyha
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in the 3* cabins in January and booked through inghams. We flew from gatwick which was about 3 hours and the transfer to pyha was 2 hours. The cabin was lovely and warm, it's got to minus 35 for the last couple of day! It is set in the forest and I loved that we were staying on a path where local people also lived! The sauna was great, warmed us up after a day on the slopes. The kitchen had everything you need, and the beds were comfy! The stairs to the main mezzanine bedroom were very steep so we decided to bring the mattresses down and sleep on the sofa area, this worked well as we were sleeping by the open fire which was lovely! The bathroom has a heated floor and the sauna is easy to use. There was only 2 of us in the cabin but it could sleep 4, I think that would have been fine but space for your luggage was tight for 2 of us so would have to be organised with more people. We booked self catering and packed bacon, frozen stew, part backed bread, tuna and snacks in our luggage to cut down on costs. The cabin is situated a couple of minutes from the supermarket (k-mart) and there is also a sports bar and souvenirs shop by the Kmart aswell. You can book half board but it is a tough walk uphill to the hotel which takes about 15-20 mins. Can't comment on the food as didn't eat there but have to say when we waited in the hotel it didn't feel like it had any atmosphere! We ate at the huttu hippu a lot, the lunch menu is awesome! Nice big warm comfort food, their burgers are excellent! Only a 5-10 minute walk from the cabins. The t bar lift is situated about a 5 minute walk away or you can walk about 10-15 minutes to the bottom of the main slope. We loved the slope as it was so quiet!! We booked to do some extras which I would highly recommend! First we did snowmobiling/skidooing- this was great fun going through the forest, driving them was fun and then we stopped at a teepee for warm juice and biscuits and also walked on a frozen lake, the next day we went reindeer sledding which was nice and relaxed and learnt about reindeer. We also did husky sledding which was amazing! I would definately recommend this as it's such a rush, plus we got to hold baby huskies! We went snowshoeing to find the northern lights which was great walking through deep snow on the mountain, sadly we didn't get to see them. Also huttu hippu do a Lappish traditional meal on the Friday night - we tried attic fish and reindeer and I have to say, reindeer tastes amazing!! It's not a massive meal- a la carte so found we were still hungry after but was still worth it to try something different. All in all we had the most amazing holiday and would definately come back to pyha!!! We snowboarded and managed to do a lot of excursions aswell but would suit anyone, whether they ski or not. I would recommend staying in the cabins as they really to add to the experience! It's feels like you are in narnia! Also someone mentioned about their sauna not working, as we booked with inghams if we had any problems they would send someone round to fix it within 24 hours, our hallway lightbulb blew and they fixed very quickly!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tigger112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 20 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

4* Log Cabin Pyha with Inghams

We stayed here at the end of January 2014 with Inghams travelling from Manchester.
Our flight was approximately 3hrs 30mins and within 20 minutes of landing at Kittila we were on the small minibus to Pyha. Transfer to Pyha was approximately 2hrs, a very steady drive through the snow covered forests. On our arrival we were met by our rep James and taken to the log cabin. We had made it! Time to relax and enjoy our holiday.
The log cabin was large and claims to sleep up to 7. I think this would be very cramped and a party of 4/5 would be a better figure. There are some very steep stairs to the upper floor and bedroom and may be unsuitable for small children. There is just one small toilet and sink with a heated floor which was adequate for our purposes (party of just two). Large shower area with a very warm heated floor, drying area and sauna. Within the shower area there is a washing machine, now we had a few problems with this, there were no instructions in English and we managed to get the drum stuck – please make sure you close the small metal doors before switching it on. Our rep with the help of the owner manage to resolve this for us.
The cabin was warm and cosy at all times, managed to reach -30c one night and I was comfortably sat inside with just a t-shirt. The main seating area around the TV was large with comfy seats and views through the woods towards the ski slopes. If you sit in the right place you can watch the skiers coming down the slopes. At the same time it’s a secluded location well away from the main road (which was very quiet anyway) a very tranquil location.
The bed was comfortable and bedding adequate. It would have benefitted from larger fitted sheets and blankets and some new pillows as a 4* accommodation would suggest. There was only limited storage place with just one small wardrobe, but this was only a minor niggle.
Kitchen was well equipped with all modern facilities available, I do think if there had been a large party you may have struggled at meal times with plates, mugs etc., but for 4/5 I think it was about right.
One of the best features is the central fire place, where we had a log fire burning each evening. There was a huge wood store just outside so you will never run out
The cabin is in easy walking distance of the nearest shop - the local K-Market. I would estimate a 10 to 15min walk. Nearest restaurant is at the foot of the main ski lift called Hitto Uula and is only 5-10 minute walk (through the forest and snow). It is some distance from the main hotel and I wouldn’t recommend the half board option due the distance you would have to walk, approx. 25mins most of which was up hill!!
The cabin sits in a wooded location with plenty of walks straight from the door, cross county skiing tracks just a few minutes away, sledging area and outside BBQ just 5 minutes away. ( Buy some local sausages and make yourself a fire with free wood provided) . Ski Slopes 5-10mins.
We were not there for the skiing but for the cold and snow. We were not disappointed 2-3 feet of snow and it snowed virtually all week. Pyha is a small quiet place but still lots to do. Husky Safari, Snowmobiles, Reindeer’s, Ice Climbing, Cross Country Skiing or just walking through the endless tracks in the snow - a fantastic winter wonderland. You will not be disappointed. Please don’t hesitate to get in touch if you want more information

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed here from 12th to 19th January. Lovely cabin. Inghams have 2 of these cabins which are next door to each other, we were in 2B. They are a short walk from the shops, only about a 5 minute walk.

The key is kept in a key safe at the back of the cabin. Really handy when you go out as you don't have to worry about taking it with you. If you should lose it, it costs you about 300 Euros! You are given the combination number when you get your Welcome pack from the Inghams rep on the coach.

The cabin has two bedrooms. One is downstairs off the living room and is just big enough for a double bed and a cupboard with shelves. There was no hanging space and just enough room to walk around the bed. The bedroom upstairs is under the eaves and is large enough for 2 single beds at one end and a 'sofa' bed at the other. Much more room in here. There is also a large mezzanine with a double and a single bed. The stairs leading up here are pretty steep, so if you have young children you need to be careful. I didn't like coming down the stairs unless I had slippers on as I was worried I would slip.

If you enter through the back of the cabin there are 2 entrance doors. On the right hand side there is hanging space for your coats and a large cupboard. On the left is the only toilet and then a door through to the shower/sauna. There is also a washing machine and drying cupboard in here. We never used the drying cupboard once as this room was so warm we just hung our hats or gloves up or even left them on the floor and the underfloor heating soon dried them off!

The living room was a nice size, with a flat screen tv, dvd/vcr player and a karaoke machine! There was a large sofa with nice, comfy cushions, a coffee table and a rug. The kitchen was off the living room and had a large table. It was well equipped and had everything you needed, including a dishwasher.

It was lovely and warm. We needed it because toward the end of the week we had temperatures below -30. It was nice to come in out of the cold to a beautiful, warm cabin.

We would stay here again definitely; though we did check the prices for 2015 and they are a lot more for the same week than the amount we paid.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ukdarrenfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our sauna did not work and neither did some of the other cabins on our tour. Although the cabins were clean and spacious with a good log fire, our main reason for the cabins rather than the hotel was the sauna. We were very dissappointed that this took 1 hour to get luke warm.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Christy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We took the grandchildren and families to Lapland with Canterbury Travel. Three days four nights, what a dream, we had a fantastic time everything was just perfect. It is so difficult to decide on which company to go with. We wanted small groups. It was so importantant that the grandchildren's dreams (and ours) lived up to expecations. We went on dog sledges, reindeer sleigh, and snow mobiles, great fun for all. I have to say that Canterbury Travels filled that dream, the staff were excellent and definately went the extra mile, led by very efficient managers. This is the first review I have ever written, I hope it helps other grandparents/parents to decide.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Did the Idyllic 2night/3 day trip from Dublin Ireland and it was just magical. So many activities for the kids and adults. All the activities take place is remote places so it truely feels like you are out in the wilderness searching for Santa. My kids had an amazing time and so did we. Canterbury travel were so easy to deal with - can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in Pyha suite which was perfect for 2 adults and 2 kids ( it could easily have slept a 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 387JCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Wonderful 2 day break to Pyha, Log fire and Sauna, warm rooms, lovely ski resort.
Grandchildren found the real Father Christmas, it was magical and worth every penny!
Memories will live with us all for ever. Cannot recommend this travel company enough.
Well organised, from start to finish. Well Done to all the staff, a wonderful Mrs Christmas, Father Christmas and all the elves. Snowed most of the time went Friday 9th December and returned Saturday evening late. Happy to answer any questions

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank ellajoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pyha Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyha Log Cabins

Address: Pyha, Finland
Location: Finland > Southwest Finland > Pyha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Pyha
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Pyha Log Cabins Finland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing