We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Canterbury Travel Lapland in Search of Father Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pyha Log Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pyha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pyha Log Cabins
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Pyha
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Canterbury Travel Lapland in Search of Father Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

Wonderful 2 day break to Pyha, Log fire and Sauna, warm rooms, lovely ski resort.
Grandchildren found the real Father Christmas, it was magical and worth every penny!
Memories will live with us all for ever. Cannot recommend this travel company enough.
Well organised, from start to finish. Well Done to all the staff, a wonderful Mrs Christmas, Father Christmas and all the elves. Snowed most of the time went Friday 9th December and returned Saturday evening late. Happy to answer any questions

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ellajoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2009

stayed in pyha log cabin 4 adults 2 children the cabin is very warm log fire in the corner built in sauna in cabin had lcd tv also cd dvd player very well catered for temperature hit minus 27 during day down to 33 at night great for the kids loads of snow pyha has a sports bar open from 6pm till 2am down near the local k supermarket 5 euro a pint you can bye beer 12 bottles from supermarket 4.6 alc for 11.95 euro not bad women will have to order wine & spirits in what our girls did was take it from uk packaged in suitcase this will save a lot of money as this is very expensive in finland also take things like pasta noodles cup a soups part baked bread also breakfast cereals. pyha has the carlsberg bar also the hotel bistro bar halfway up the slope serves a massive freshly cooked pizza large french fries & side salad & free water enough for 2 hungry adults & child 18 euro the bottom of the slope has a bar resturant 11.90 euro for very large pizza & fries beer 4.60 euro a pint also serves many other dishes we done the snowmobile safari well worth doing youre need that break after crossing the ice lake for hot chocolate & pastries to warm up a must try holiday great fun even for the adults pyha is very good next year yillas finland

  • Liked — warm clean & cosy
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank nightmarehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2008

We have just returned from staying in one of the superior log cabins offered at Pyha, Finland. Party consisted of myself, the wife and both of our sons (20 and 22).

None of us have been skiing of snowboarding at all before, and Pyha was chosen due to the option of other activities other than the slopes.

The lads chose snowboarding, with the wife and me choosing skiing. Pre-booked all our gear hire (not clothing) and weeks lessons in the UK. Easy. The ski school was excellent with local english speaking tuition providing for an enjoyable time and my wife and the boys were surprisingly adept at weeks end.

Slopes are well tended with no ski lift queues. Snow in the area was light and powdery (we had about a foot+ while we were there).

The log cabin was fantastic. This was one of the main reasons that my wife chose Pyha. I think she was a Canadian trapper in a previous life. Very warm and cosy accommodation with all mod cons included. Drying room, sauna + shower (with underfloor heating if needed), outside warehouse for ski gear and also log store for fire.

If you are taking young kids be warned that the stairs to the upper bedrooms are very steep.

The cabin was quite a distance from the slopes but the walk was mostly level. Scenery around the cabin was mostly wooded, but with the fresh snow was very picturesque and quiet.

Snowmobile safari (2 hours) was great fun and we think worth the money. Local restaurants are good with the restaurant next to the nursery slope also providing a good if a little expensive a la carte menu (try the peppered reindeer steak).

If you like your apres ski drink, be warned that the main bars are located near to the main hotel and is a good 20-25 minute walk with quite a bit uphill (take a toboggan for the trip home).

Finally, talking of toboggans, adults be careful on the sledge runs. They are quite fast and bumpy and resulted in your truly suffering a whiplash injury that stopped the skiing. Serves me right trying to relive my youth after too many years.

Highly recommended for families.

Booked via Crystal holidays, rep was superb. Transfer time from Kuusamo airport was 3 hours so take a good book and some food and drink for the trip.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank stevensgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2008

February 3rd 2008
1 week in Pyha log cabins

we booked with Crystal Ski, from Gatwick. flew to Kuusamo, then about 3 hour transfer to Pyha. but well worth it.

The log cabins are set amongst the pine trees and surrounded by snow. Absolutely fabulous. Ours was the middle one of 3, but we didnt have anyone on one side and couldnt hear the next door people.

Each one has its own log fire and sauna, so great for relaxing after a hard days skiing or on trips.

They are very warm and well equiped. We had a double sofa bed in the lounge - although matresses to keep separating! And the mezzanine floor had another 3 or 4 single matresses - we didnt bother using the mezz as the steps are 'log' step ladder and nicer to sleep in front of fire. fridge, microwave, cooker and everything you need for a week. A large heated airer to dry and warm boots and clothes and plenty of storage space.

We had a Type A cabin - ideal for 2 adults, there wouldnt be any privacy for any more than that.

Cabin was located near the T bar, 2 min walk or ski round back of cabin down through trees. Near Ski hire place and restaurant - Hutta Ulla. We didnt go up to the hotel as it was trek up the hill.
Supermarket was a 5 min walk.. easy! especially as the scenery is so fantastic.. snow and pine trees and log cabins dotted amongst them.

We did run out of logs by the 3rd night though!! you can buy them from Supermarket

They are pretty basic, but it is a log cabin after all!! A fantastic escape from reality and romantic getaway.

There was aTv but we didnt watch it - and a Radio/cassette, we took an Ipod and docking station.

what more can I say? I cant wait to go back!
i have posted photos on the Traveller Photo area for Lapland/Pyha

  • Liked — Location and facilities
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank blondieK_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2008

We have just spent a week in Pyha over New Year, staying at the Log Cabins, travelling with Crystal Ski from Manchester. It was so good, we have booked again for next year!

The cabin was well equipped and cosy with a sauna, log fire, drying cupboard and even underfloor heating in the bathroom. The kitchen area had everything you could want; oven, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, dishwasher. We were very close to the main ski slope, just into the woods, and could watch the ski lift from our cabin.

We took the '5 day learn to ski' package from Crystal Ski. We collected our boots, skis, poles, and lift passes from the rental shop at the bottom of the main slope. Nothing was too much trouble and they were very careful with fitting, including helmets for the kids. A lot of the equipment seemed new.

The ski instructors were great, especially with the children, and we quickly progressed from the nursery to the family slopes which were reached by the main ski lift and a short walk/ski. We made some good friends at ski school and look forward to seeing you all again next year!

As temperatures dropped to -21 during our stay, with only a couple of days of light snow, conditions were quite icy, but it is possible to ski to the door of your cabin on cross-country tracks which criss-cross the resort.

On New Year's Eve all the ski school instructors skiied down the main slope with beacons and then there was a firework display. It's difficult to do it justice but it was very spectacular set against the snow-covered forest.

Pyha is a very quiet resort with just a small supermarket, the hotel Pyhatunturi, Carlsberg bar and a couple of other cafe/restaurants. The first night we ate at the hotel which was ok if a little impersonal. We ate several times at the excellent Huttu Uula restaurant at the bottom of the main slope. The a la carte restaurant is good, particularly the sauteed reindeer and also the reindeer fillets which were far better than fillet steak! The owner and his family are really welcoming and the service is good - best to book as they got very busy. They also have a cafe-type menu, serving pizzas, burgers, etc as well as hot chocolate (with mint liqueur to warm you up!).

We also ate at Huttu Hippu for lunch which is very close to the family slopes - the food here was excellent too.

Pyha's location on the edge of the National Park means that we could go for long walks in the snow. It is really is like being in Narnia and we can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YorkshireHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2007

Myself and my boyfriend wanted a week in the snow but also wanted something that provided other activities than skiing. so we booked a week in Pyha (prounced Poo-Ha) in Finland, Lapland.

When you get to Pyha it's like walking into Narnia. It is so beautiful and being Finland you are guaranteed the snow unlike for instance the Alps who had little snow this year.

We went at the beginning of Jan and it was so quiet that sometimes it would just be us on the slopes.

The log cabins are amazing especially the log fire and the private sauna! The cabins are generally down the bottom of the hill with all the amenities at the top of the hill however if you're brave enough by a sledge and slide back to you cabin! They are self-catering which is abit of a pain when you get in from being on the slopes all day but you can always go up and eat in the hotel. I'm a vegan and they catered for me really well.

We arranged to go snow-mobiling over the lake which was fantastic, to see the huskies (and get to hold the puppies) and a snow-walking experience round the national park which is absoutley stunning.

The people are really friendly and all speak fantastic English.

I cannot reccommend this place enough although people associate Lapland for kids there were only 4 in our group and the rest was couples.

The only slight downside was that we sometimes only got 4 hours of daylight and one day it dropped to -30 which was so cold! But hey we're in Lapland it's not meant to be hot!

We are returning next year as we loved it so much!

  • Liked — Everything It Was Perfect
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Chelwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2007

Just come back from a weeks snowboarding in Pyha.
Had an absolutely fantastic time and have no complaints. Everyone in the resort spoke excellent english.
Snow conditions were perfect and we came back with a lovely tan!
Saw the northern lights twice and had a couple of feet of snow while we were there.
No queing for any of the lifts which is excellent if you want to spend your holiday actually boarding or skiing than standing around as can be the case in other European resorts!
The cabin was beautiful. Very spacious and had everything in it we could ever need - heated floors and a sauna! Our cabin was a couple of minutes walk from the T bar lifts but the scenery is so stunning you didnt really notice.
The trips away from the resort were first class- snow mobiling and husky and reindeer farm visit. Well worth the money.

This resort would suit absolutely anybody - families, couples, older people and even non skiiers!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank loobielooe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pyha
0.0 mi away
Lapland Hotel Luostotunturi
0.0 mi away
Ski-Inn Hotel Pyhatunturi
Ski-Inn Hotel Pyhatunturi
#1 of 1 in Pyhatunturi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Santa Claus Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Levi Hotel Spa
Levi Hotel Spa
#1 of 9 in Levi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kakslauttanen Arctic Resort
0.0 mi away
Holiday Village Pyhan Asteli
Holiday Village Pyhan Asteli
#2 of 5 in Pyhatunturi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pyha Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyha Log Cabins

Property: Pyha Log Cabins
Address: Pyha, Finland
Location: Finland > Southwest Finland > Pyha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Pyha
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Pyha Log Cabins Finland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing