We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good snorkeling and close view to a turtle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Selingan Turtle Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pulau Selingan
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We went on a tour with Borneo Guides for one day and one night on the island. Getting there from Sandakan takes two hours by boat. We arrived at 10:20AM. After lunch (included) we hired snorkels, 10RM (3.80euro) and walk to the ‘bounty’ beach with an enclosed area where snorkeling was allowed. I did find the Red Sea a better snorkeling place but the island did beat Belize, Thailand and Tanzania by far.
After diner (included) we did need to wait till we called to hurry to an egg legging turtle. We did need to stay behind the turtle. We did got a good view to the process. It was allowed to make pictures if you did buy a license (10RM) but flash was strongly forbidden (it scares the turtles away). The change to make a good picture in the dark is very small. The turtle did produced 50 eggs. After several minutes the last of the 50 eggs were possessed. The turtle was measured (shield 89 by 90cm) before we went back. After that we could see the process of burying the eggs in a secured area and after that the releasing of one nest of hedged baby turtles into the sea.
We did leave early in the morning after breakfast (included).
Only one or two (when fully booked) turtles are being viewed by tourists. The night we were there 34 turtle did lay eggs on the small island. Some places on the beach has many flies at night time.
The room was better than expected. Nothing to complain here. The meals where ok but not great. Drinks where not expensive.
I did find the island a terrific place to go. The snorkeling is good, the almost empty beach beautiful and the experience with the turtles was great.
GPS 6.175288, 118.060915

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 148 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

When going to Selingan you must remember why you're there; to share in the experience of seeing turtles and turtle conservation at close range 30 miles out in the Sulu sea. If you want 5 star luxury then watch a documentary about turtles on TV. To be honest I would have slept on the ground to have the privilege of seeing a female turtle at dawn complete her nest and drag herself down to the sea. Fantastic.

The team at Selingan are doing a tremendous job whilst still balancing responsible tourism with conservation. I could not recommend this trip more highly. The accommodation and food is basic but adequate, the lifetime experience is unequalled.

Room Tip: Stop worrying about the room and get out there and see the turtles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polybin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We went there end of May, sunny day, we had a wonderful holiday with sun, sand and turtle.

There is a limited accommodation in the island, hence we were start booking 6 months in advance. However, the price we get was shocked!! Please do not hesitate to ask few agents to get comparison, in the end all will get the same “treatments” in the island, there is no VIP or luxury service (it is a luxury trip to have a private island and beach). Therefore, please get the cheapest deal when you make booking. At first, I got a quote from KL agent with RM980/pax for 2D1N. Than we can easily find cheaper rate on line, even we get lower rate from local agent in Sandakan, it was just 2 weeks before we stay (perhaps we got last min offer, I am not sure.)

We have to depart from Jetty at 9.30am, and the journey take around 1.30 hour. After that we have plenty of time to enjoy at the beach after lunch. We did snorkeling and swimming in the crystal clear sea water. All the swimming equipments are available to rent with the reasonable price. There is no other network coverage, only Celcom is working well there. No other entertainment, no wifi and no TV in your room. All back to basic and wish you have a well rest.

The most important show start after dinner, 8.30pm, depends the first turtle arrive in what time and weather. We did nothing and wait, there is an exhibition hall upstairs to spend your time. Please bring play card, it can spend your time while waiting.

We were lucky to have first turtle at 8.45pm, the ranger brings us to see turtle laying the egg, please bring torch light the journey is dark. After that we visit hatchery for hatchling and last release the baby turtles. The whole process spends you approximately 1.30hrs. It is only one round, no second round. However, we do appreciate and feel touching to their effort to protect wildlife, we shall show respect to them.

Next day, the breakfast start at 6am and we depart to Sandakan at 7am. However, please try your luck to the beach and see any other turtle, it is what my friend did and he saw a last turtle just finish laying egg and heading back to sea.

It was a meaningful trip for us and unforgettable, I feel shame as a Malaysian who do not aware there is such a beautiful place to have turtle laying egg everyday, I was fool just think only east coast of Peninsular Malaysia have a chance to see turtle during selected season.

Please prepare insect replica, sun block, drinking water and isotonic drink. It is one bottle drinking water provided, but is not enough and is not cheap selling there. Fullboard meal provided with Asian food serve with rice, just do not understand why they do not provide spoon, only serve with fork and knife… again, no drinking water to be served, only coffee and tea.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeilekHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We booked our trip directly with crystal quest as we were travelling independently. We turned up at the jetty and they were expecting us. The boat ride was just under an hour and not too choppy. The island was beautiful - white sandy beach and turquiose sea. The room was lovely and very spacious with good aircon and great shower (not sure what other reviewers were used to but I wouldn't describe it as basic!) Also the food was great - a reasonable choice of fresh buffet dishes and plenty of it. Daytime you are lazing on the beach (or you can hire snorkelling kit at a small price to swim about viewing the coral reefs and plentiful fish) and after dinner everyone waits in the dinner area until the ranger calls the first nesting of a turtle. The turtle viewing is well managed - the ranger describes what is going on, ensures everyone in the group gets a view and is ultimately very protective of the turtle. They collect the eggs the turtle lays and you see them placed in the hatchery with a label. Finally it's back to the beach where they release the newly hatched babies and everyone cries Ahhhhh when they all scramble across the sand and into the waves.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4dchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

we booked with Borneo Adventure on a two night,three days Sandakan adventure.Their partners in Sandakan were S.I. Tours who looked after us for the whole of the duration. The lodge at Selingan turtle island was very basic .We had twin beds with a shower and toilet. We only had one pillow each and asked if we could have another pillow which they said they would leave in our chalet, when we arrived back at our chalet which was near on midnight I saw that they had left me an extra pillow but was covered in brown stains and was filthy dirty, how anybody could expect me to lay my head on that,so ended up sleeping on top of the bed in my jeans etc.also the bedding could have been cleaner. I have complained to Borneo adventure and S I Tours who have passed my comments on and the chalet operators is aware of the need to improve things. This month they have started to renovate some of the chalets.lets hope they bin the pillows as requested.Selingan is a monopoly, there are no other accommodation options on the island, in contrast there are various lodges along the Kinabatangan River. Getting back to turtle island, we only stayed one night here with lunch and dinner provided.After dinner we waited for the ranger to call us as he was on watch seeing if any turtle were coming in to lay their eggs. We got a call at 9pm as two turtles had arrived, it was amazing standing round seeing the turtles laying their eggs , each turtle laid about 80 eggs and then the ranger carefully put the eggs into a bucket and transfered them to their hatchery. We were also very fortunate to see a bucket full of baby turtles being let out to sea, we were so pleased that we had seen this. We came here in March which is not the time of the year when most turtles come in to lay. however I understand from our ranger that 16 turtles came in that night. Our guide was Remy,he made this tour as he was so friendly and knowledgable

Room Tip: sorry cannot say as they are renovating some of the chalets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angie001fromkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This trip to Seligen Island was special, but beware some of the accommodation is more than basic and food to mastch. The turtle experience makes it all worthwhile and the sunsets are magic. Don't miss going up the Kinabatangan river afterwards whern you return to Sandakan.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jake69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We left Sandakan quite early for our 45min speedboat ride to the island. The accomomodation on the island is fairly basic, in chalets with twin beds. Our chalet was immaculatly clean, beds were comfy, the aircon worked well, and the en-suite shower provided plenty of hot water. The island is quite small, but the number of guests is limited, and everything felt very relaxed. We were given a hot buffet lunch (included in the tour fee), and soft drinks & beer were available for purchase. After lunch we hired snorkelling kit, and investigated the coral garden. This was very good, with much better coral & fish than some other (better advertised) locations. The white sandy beach was perfectly clean, and there was some shade provided by palm trees. Lifeguards were in attendance all the time - and all seemed to stay awake !!
There is a well laid out visitor centre, and some helpful staff who explain about the turtles, and the work done byy the park. After another buffet dinner, it was off across the beach to watch a turtle laying her eggs, and then watch the release of hatchlings to the ocean - all very impressive.
A breakfast was provided the next morning - which was adequate but rather "English", with eggs & toast & jam (rather than fruit & local fare). Then off on the speedboat back the mainland.
We were lucky with glorious sunny weather, which made the trip seem very relaxing. But the stars of the show were definitley the turtles. This is not a cheap trip, but its highly recommended as something uniquely informative about the local wildlife.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TWinster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Selingan
22.5 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
666 reviews
23.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
22.6 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 33 in Sandakan
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 33 in Sandakan
539 reviews
22.5 mi away
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
20.7 mi away
Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selingan Turtle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selingan Turtle Island

Address: Pulau Selingan, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Pulau Selingan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pulau Selingan
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Selingan Turtle Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Selingan Turtle Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selingan Island Hotel Pulau Selingan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing