We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely renovated rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Break Sokos Hotel Tahko
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tahkovuori
Turku, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nicely renovated rooms”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We approached this hotel a bit worried after reading the comments about restaurant noice. I did call to hotel directly to pre-check what kind of program was arranged during the weekend of our stay and as there was no shows booked we took a room from this hotel. We also asked for as quiet room as possible and got one from the backside of the building. This room sure was quiet so we were very satisfied from that point of view.

The room was nicely renovated and in excellent condition all around. Extra bonus was a miniature fridge that we found from the room. You could strore some snacks or drinks in cold, although as expected the noise can be disturbing. We did move the fridge to bathroom which muffles the sound. Room we stayed in was with two beds, small side desks by the bed, closets for clothes but no proper desk as one of the walls was equipped with two folding beds. These do not take room when stored but on the other hand do not allow proper desk to be included either. In case you are in need of writing/laptop space for serious working then it might be a good idea to check that the room has a desk.

As commented by previous reviewers the shower arrangement is very impractical - water will get sprayed all around the bathroom due to miniature (read: non-existent) protective wall. You can survive with this sure, but just don't leave anything dry close when showering. Cleanliness and all equipment in bathroom was in perfect condition. Hotel sauna and pool were offered free of charge to guests. We did not have any issues with air conditioning as it seemed to work okay during our stay - however, weather was rainy and on the cold side so there was no need to get the room any cooler.

The lobby and the restaurant where breakfast are served I guess have not been touched during the renovation as they look a bit tired, dark and boring. There is clear contrast between the room that is nice and bright and the restaurant that is not. Food that was served was good quality and there were plenty of options to choose for any liking. This is the benefit of chain hotels as they follow the standards and once seen one you know what to get in another. On the other hand there was nothing in presentation or food itself that would have been a positive surprise so its best to expect the standard buffet line and nothing else.

Service in this hotel was mixed with bartending and then occasionally taking care of quests which is not the best combination in my mind. However, things got done in fact-based finnish style which I assume was chosen as we the quests were native too.

Room Tip: Check the location of restaurants etc. if you want to find a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lumihiutale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    25
    24
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
21
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel has an excellent location in the middle of what's going on at Tahko. What it also means is that there will be noise.

For summer visitors the place is pretty quiet, in winter quite the opposite. The service during the summer is very friendly and helpful as they have less guests -> more time.

Don't expect wonders of your room. I stayed in a superior room and even that was pretty small. The bathroom is clean but no luxury, a small update would be welcomed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maitorahka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We have stayed overnight here several times but this time was the rock bottom of the whole chain of Sokos Hotels. Upon arrival, waitresses were more interested in serving beer and booze in the bar than welcoming hotel guests. Had to shout and wave. Asked for a quiet room, preferably forest-side, targeting a good night sleep. No. The front-side room we got was unbelievable hot with practically no ventilation at all although its interior was brand new with pleasant smell of new wood.

Boom-boom-boom. It started at 10 pm. when opposite night club Piazza was opened. Good bye to night sleep. After midnight I was filled up and walked snappy to the reception to require a QUIET and cooler room. Finally we got it. It was a forest-side room which we initially wanted. Bathroom's floor had previous guest's hair and vents were dirty - poor cleanup service. It's shower screen is far too narrow resulting almost totally wet floor - poor architect planning according to the reception staff. In a room with brand new interior, gosh! Otherwise the room itself was very clean and spacious.

The breakfast was as good and versatile as normally, although lacking wheat buns and (once again) bacon.

The hotel has undergone a major renovation but its ventilation remained the same, i.e. very poor and underpowered. Unbelievable decision by a nationwide big hotel chain!

Room Tip: Ask for a forest-side room in upper floors if you want a good and peaceful night sleep, neither abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tahkovuori hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oulu, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed one night in Sokos Hotel Tahkovuori in April. It was very quiet time there, ski season was almost over, though few slopes were still in use. Corridoors look little oldish and rooms are somehow oldish too. There was a very small fridge in the room, which you have to plug if you want to use it. It was quite noisy! Room was quite small. There was no shower curtain or proper wall in the shower area, so bathroom floor easily gets wet while taking shower. No balcony in our room. Nice view to the slopes. Breakfast ok, quite similar to other Sokos Hotels. Friendly service, except breakfast personnel didn't even greet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pariscity044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Finland, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We spent a weekend here in the beginning of April, 2012. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were quite spacious and clean. We had a room with a sauna and the sauna was a great disappointment - I had never seen a sauna that small and it didn't get very hot. The rooms with saunas don't cost much more than the normal rooms but I wouldn't pay extra for that again! The breakfast was good, a lot of options. We were there at Easter and apparently at least during that time Tahko is a party centre for many people so even in the hotel they played loud music in the corridors (there is a bar upstairs) during after ski. Otherwise the rooms were quite quiet. The lounge bar was also nice.

I think the hotel was very average and the location is good, if you want to be in the centre of "all the action" in Tahko. However, it was quite expensive and if you're travelling with friends I'd suggest you rent a cottage!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reeakristiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed four nights here April 2012. Hotel is recently renovated. Our room even had a sauna.
Hotel is located perfectly whether you are thinking cross-country skiing or downhill skiing.

Only breakfast could be a little better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dynamic_Sibelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Our two-night stay at Sokos Hotel Tahkovuori provided very good amenities for our family ski trip. The hotel has a reception/bar for snacks, a restaurant, a mini hamburger/pizza place and a super market (Sale). The menu in the main restaurant is 'Spanish' with Eastern Finnish twist - sounds very odd, but like in most hotel bars, has something for everyone: sandwiches, steaks, salmon etc. With a kid's play room next to the restaurant, it was actually a relaxing 'family after ski' setup.
From the hotel there is around 300m walking across the lake to the ski slopes. This is ok, but there is also the option to drive and park the car on the ice. Ski rental and some other restaurants are right next door, so the location is very handy, probably among the best in Tahko.
The standard room was good size with two clever foldable full size extra beds for the kids. The bathroom was not shining new, but the little private sauna and drying cabinet for wet ski stuff made us very thankful after full days in the slopes.
There was no fridge in the rooms - cold drink would have been nice after the sauna. Of course, balcony would have done the same thing.

I would stay here again, and would recommend for all skiers and groups, including families. I doubt I will ever come here outside skiing season, though.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahkovuori
0.1 mi away
Indie Hotel Ukko
Indie Hotel Ukko
#1 of 3 in Tahkovuori
21 reviews
24.4 mi away
Spa Hotel Kunnonpaikka
Spa Hotel Kunnonpaikka
#6 of 18 in Northern Savonia
47 reviews
3.2 mi away
No photo provided
Golden Resort
#2 of 2 in Tahkovuori
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tahko SpaSuites
Tahko SpaSuites
#1 of 11 in Tahkovuori
34 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tahkotours
Tahkotours
#2 of 3 in Tahkovuori
4 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tahko Hills
Tahko Hills
#4 of 11 in Tahkovuori
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Break Sokos Hotel Tahko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Break Sokos Hotel Tahko

Property: Break Sokos Hotel Tahko
Address: Saeaeskiniementie 560, Tahkovuori 73310, Finland
Location: Finland > Northern Savonia > Tahkovuori
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tahkovuori
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Break Sokos Hotel Tahko 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Break Sokos Hotel Tahko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing