We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great holiday again thanks to Galini Pension Ios” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galini Pension

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Galini Pension
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yialos
Certificate of Excellence
ARGENTINA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great holiday again thanks to Galini Pension Ios”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

I have come back again to stay in this beautiful hotel, my 20th time,mind you it has changed quite a bit in 20 years now every year they are updating the hotel but this year i didnt recognise my newly refurbished room absolutley beautiful " bravo" I have stayed this time 60 days and would like to stay for ever but unfortunitly i have to leave .For me ios is in only galini pension.The oweners feel like family it is ,very clean ,peaceful ,relaxing, great wifi! with beautiful garden and the sea on my doorstep" paridise "what else could i ask for.I cant wait to get back.,Thankyou for everything,Patricia.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArgentinaEnrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    24
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
44
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Galini Pension is a really lovely family run hotel located in the port of Ios.It is just a few minutes walk from the port beach and a great selection of shope and restaurants.From here you can catch a bus into the main village or the other beaches.
Bernice and Illias make such an effort to take care of all the guests and make them feel welcome.The rooms have everything you need includung aircon and great wifi!
Galini Pension is for people of all ages-couples,party goers or familys!It is definetly a great choice if you are planning a trip to Ios!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

Ilias, Bernice's husband was there waiting for us at the port and gave us a lift with our bags the short distance to Galini. There we met Bernice who had our room waiting and once we had settled in, she gave us a quick run down of all the local amenities, beaches and routes.
The room was clean and cosy. The kitchenette was well equipped and on the single occasion we needed a bottle opener, Ilias got a new one for the room. The shower had plenty of hot water and was always clean.
The pension had a great atmosphere and even though we didn't use it, the garden would be great for chilling out in the hot summer evenings. The WiFi signal was strong and we had a couple of Skype calls without any glitches. We also had some laundry done - by far the best service we've had on the Greek Islands. Not sure I should mention it was free, but I'm going to anyway!
Galini is located about 2 minutes walk from the Yialos beach - surprisingly quiet and clean. The Chora is about 10 to 15 minutes walk away; you can get the bus from the harbour area if you wish but we always walked up.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MozMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

They picked us up at the port after our ferry was 1h30 late! The hotel was a bit noisy since our room was next to the reception area and we could hear everything. The room was very clean, we had a fridge in the room, blow dryer, air conditioner, etc. The hotel is located right next to the port (within walking distance - 10 minutes). And there's a beach right in front of the hotel. However, if it's the nightlife you're looking for than the hotel is located a bit too far. You have to either take the bus (which finishes at 12am) or climb the stairs up to the village where all the bars and clubs are.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nani12_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

Nice place to stay, calm, not to expensive and very close to the port and in front of the beach. Nice view of the bay and right beside the city and nightlife. The owners are friendly and helpful. They provide transportation to the port. Rooms have a fridge and it's possible to have a little kitchennette. We didn't have breakfast there because we get up very early in the morning (around 7h30 am) and the breakfast is served only around 8h30 am. Also, the room where you eat smell badly cigarette. They gently offered to wash our clothes for only 5 euros. No pool.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

I stayed in Galini in July and had a great time. The Owners were very nice and made me feel very welcome and at home. I cannot recommend Galini enough. It was very hot in IOS in July and the hotel was a great place to cool off and relax after the beach (which is about a 3 minute walk) as it had many areas that were constantly in the shade.
There were great snacks and VERY cold beers, ice creams and soft drinks.
The free wi-fi was vey fast, rooms were very clean and the bill was VERY reasonable. If you go to IOS you must stay here. I will be staying here every time I go to IOS.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wacker21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

had such a great time, it was a really nice hotel just what we wanted. loved how the owners where so helpful and that the hotel had so much to offer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smith47049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yialos
0.3 mi away
Brothers Hotel
Brothers Hotel
#1 of 45 in Ios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homer's Inn Hotel
Homer's Inn Hotel
#15 of 45 in Ios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.7 mi away
Far-Out Village Hotel
Far-Out Village Hotel
#6 of 10 in Milopotas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helena
Hotel Helena
#22 of 45 in Ios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yialos Ios Hotel
Yialos Ios Hotel
#6 of 45 in Ios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Mata
Villa Mata
#7 of 45 in Ios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galini Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galini Pension

Property: Galini Pension
Address: Yialos 84001, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios > Yialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Galini Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galini pension is a family run business it is situated nicely beside the port of Ios and Yialos Beach. With a peaceful and friendly atmosphere all of our rooms are well equipped with air conditioning, tv, fridge and ensuite standard, some of our rooms also have a kitchen inside. Galini is known for the beautiful tropical garden that surrounds it, very helpful staff ,reasonable prices and good quality Galini is your perfect choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Galini Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galini Pension Ios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing