We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right choice!”
Review of Avra Pension

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avra Pension
Ranked #1 of 2 Yialos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Avra Pension was the right choice for our visit in Ios. The rooms are quite, clean, with A/C, balcony and flat TV, private parking and just 1 minute on foot from the port of Ios. Mrs Katerina, is the most kind and polite room owner I've ever found. If I visit Ios again I'm sure I'll stay in Avra pension!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank George_G1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 301 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed just one night between ferries and were very positively impressed by the standards of the rooms, the most convenient location and the warmth and friendliness of the welcome. The room was spacious, comfortable, spotless and well equipped. The breakfast was truly excellent, served with style, abundant and varied. An oasis of peace and comfort, designed and run with caring attention and love by Katerina, a very capable host.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gabriele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very close to everything you need: beach, supermarket, restaurants, shops, car rental... The owners were helpful and friendly. Our room was big, clean and comfortable. We stayed there for one week and we were very pleased. Ios island is great!! Very good value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Veronica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Located at α quiet place, near supermarket, car rentals, restaurants and close to the main village. Excellent service from the owners, always friendly and always thinking in the best interests of the people staying there. Stayed there for 8 days and me and my husband were very pleased with our stay. Very good value for your money. Changed towels every day. It had everything..well not everything, except a swimming pool :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gina_eco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Close to everything while remaining quiet. Very helpful and friendly owners. Everything was spick and span and appreciated the small details. Breakfast was good...All in all a most pleasant surprise and great value for money :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaeAthens_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here for 4 days in June. Very well situated Pension just a minutes walk to supermarket, restaurnats and shops. Good sized room, very clean with plenty of hot water and lovely soft clean towels every day. There are safe deposit boxes provided in the reception area ( no charge). Beautiful homemade breakfeast served on a lovely patio area with comfy couches and cushions. Katerina is a wonderful hostess and a really lovely lady. The moment you arrive Katerina sits you down and gives you information on the whole island and provides maps and any information you need. She is always on hand to anwser any queries/questions you might have. It is fantastic value for money and I would definitely stay here again. Very fond memories of Avra Pension.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irenedunne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very well maintained pension in a quiet location. Port, busstop, restaurants, carefour at walking distance and if you like longer walks (1 hour) you can go to Chora by 3 different paths. Rooms decorated with Greek furniture. Good beds and shower. Fantastic breakfast with choices. The owner was very helpful in helping to solve our dispute with a ferry company. The only disadvantage is maybe the lack of a view, but we did not mind because we only use rooms to sleep. We will certainly go back to Avra next time we visit IOS.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yialos
0.7 mi away
Brothers Hotel
Brothers Hotel
#1 of 42 in Ios
445 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 5 in Chora
115 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dionysos Seaside Resort
Dionysos Seaside Resort
#2 of 10 in Milopotas
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yialos Ios Hotel
Yialos Ios Hotel
#4 of 42 in Ios
387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liostasi Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Homer's Inn Hotel
Homer's Inn Hotel
#12 of 42 in Ios
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Pension

Address: Yialos 84001, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios > Yialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Yialos
Price Range: $31 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avra Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avra Pension accommodates you in a two- storey building, having 15 rooms which can host 1, 2 or 3 persons each. Every room has its own balcony/ terrace, A/C, private bathroom with shower unit providing 24hours a day hot water, hair dryer, guest amenities, LCD television, refrigerator, boudoir (women’s private care furnishing), bed linen of exceptional quality, slippers, spacious wardrobe as well as free Internet access 24hours a day (Avra Pension Wi-Fi hotspot). Baby cot appropriate for babies or little children available upon request. Avra Pension has a wonderful, full of flowers, yard with large comfortable couches, where our continental breakfast is served daily with a splendid variety of homemade marmalades, as well as a generous selection of traditional recipes and locally produced goods and eatings. Our hotel lobby is decorated with special care to every single detail by the hostess in order to create a sense of traditional Cycladic interior design. By the time of your arrival you can take a breath lounging in our spacious vintage sofas, surrounded by the authentic ambiance inspired by the truly Greek homey atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Avra Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Pension Ios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing