We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable stay !”
Review of Avra Pension

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Avra Pension
Ranked #1 of 2 Yialos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Close to everything while remaining quiet. Very helpful and friendly owners. Everything was spick and span and appreciated the small details. Breakfast was good...All in all a most pleasant surprise and great value for money :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaeAthens_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 301 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here for 4 days in June. Very well situated Pension just a minutes walk to supermarket, restaurnats and shops. Good sized room, very clean with plenty of hot water and lovely soft clean towels every day. There are safe deposit boxes provided in the reception area ( no charge). Beautiful homemade breakfeast served on a lovely patio area with comfy couches and cushions. Katerina is a wonderful hostess and a really lovely lady. The moment you arrive Katerina sits you down and gives you information on the whole island and provides maps and any information you need. She is always on hand to anwser any queries/questions you might have. It is fantastic value for money and I would definitely stay here again. Very fond memories of Avra Pension.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irenedunne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Very well maintained pension in a quiet location. Port, busstop, restaurants, carefour at walking distance and if you like longer walks (1 hour) you can go to Chora by 3 different paths. Rooms decorated with Greek furniture. Good beds and shower. Fantastic breakfast with choices. The owner was very helpful in helping to solve our dispute with a ferry company. The only disadvantage is maybe the lack of a view, but we did not mind because we only use rooms to sleep. We will certainly go back to Avra next time we visit IOS.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very very nice place!! Very close to the sea and to main village Chora. The owner is very kind and attentive. the room is clean, spaciuos and pretty with a little terrace. Breakfast is spectacular, fresh fruit, honey and jam,greek yoghurt, toasted bread, cakes, and a lot of kindness. Great base for touring the island with a quad or scooter (but quad is preferable).
Highly recommended for everyone. you will not regret

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonardo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

friendly staff, welcoming locals and rooms very nice and clean! this place is close the harbour and it's far away just a pleasant walking from the centre. if i will come back in Ios sure i book again in this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank daniel1382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very clean, nice rooms, the owner was always on hand to help.
best homemade breakfast!!!
Avra Pension is one of the best choises on IOS Island.
I would choοse it for my next staying in IOS.
Its very close to nearby restaurants harbour nightlife & shops.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Petrou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was a one-night-stop before travelling further on our boattrip. We met a "mother-like" woman who was so kind to us and made a breakfest like it was home at her house. The rooms had nothing to complain about, just clean and fresh. It is close to the harbour, just 50 metres and that is a good reason to stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mr_Andreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina_bouloumpasi, Owner at Avra Pension, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Mr_Andreas,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience in Avra Pension with TA members. We are located in Yachting Marina, Gialos, a big plus to begin exploring the island. Feel free to contact us if you ever decide to come back to Avra Pension, we will be glad to welcome you again. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yialos
23.4 mi away
Hotel Dina
Hotel Dina
#16 of 46 in Parikia
101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brothers Hotel
Brothers Hotel
#1 of 42 in Ios
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yialos Ios Hotel
Yialos Ios Hotel
#4 of 42 in Ios
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Homer's Inn Hotel
Homer's Inn Hotel
#13 of 42 in Ios
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Helena
Hotel Helena
#20 of 42 in Ios
73 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#4 of 4 in Chora
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Pension

Address: Yialos 84001, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios > Yialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Yialos
Price Range: $31 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avra Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avra Pension accommodates you in a two- storey building, having 15 rooms which can host 1, 2 or 3 persons each. Every room has its own balcony/ terrace, A/C, private bathroom with shower unit providing 24hours a day hot water, hair dryer, guest amenities, LCD television, refrigerator, boudoir (women’s private care furnishing), bed linen of exceptional quality, slippers, spacious wardrobe as well as free Internet access 24hours a day (Avra Pension Wi-Fi hotspot). Baby cot appropriate for babies or little children available upon request. Avra Pension has a wonderful, full of flowers, yard with large comfortable couches, where our continental breakfast is served daily with a splendid variety of homemade marmalades, as well as a generous selection of traditional recipes and locally produced goods and eatings. Our hotel lobby is decorated with special care to every single detail by the hostess in order to create a sense of traditional Cycladic interior design. By the time of your arrival you can take a breath lounging in our spacious vintage sofas, surrounded by the authentic ambiance inspired by the truly Greek homey atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Avra Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Pension Ios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing