We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good that I don't want to share it........wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Avra Pension

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avra Pension
Ranked #1 of 2 Yialos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So good that I don't want to share it........wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at Pension Avra for four days in June 2012, we were three people aged 55,75 and 84, but there where young people there too. On honeymoon I guess .-) It was a beautiful experience and maybe our best during our vacations touring five islands. And it was extremely good value for money.

The hotel is so clean, so well equipped and so welcoming - there is not a single spot anywhere, just blue doors, white walls, flowers, newly painted outdoor furniture, shells, ancients ceramics etc.
Each room has access to either a private or - a big balcony for two or three rooms together, with very comfortable clean and nice outdoor furniture.

All rooms have comfortable beds, nice decoration, good airconditioning for free, fridge with a little freezer for icecubes, hairdryers, good showers with toilet, big wardrobes, mirrors etc. There are shutters, blue as well - to shut out the light, and there are curtains in light materials.'

Katarina the owner says: She loves her work - and she works very hard. The love easily noticeable in all her small and simple but esqusite decorations - shells, flowerpots, colors, sweets in the lobby, coffecups, plates old and new ceramics, materials etc. etc. They have a safe with private lockers. She helps you very easily with maps and where to go and what to do. You don't have to ask!

Very clean, dry and good smelling linen and towels changed every second day, a little basket with rosepetals and lavender leaves with soap and shampoo in the bathroom, even two pairs of new white cotton slippers in my room, that I saved for the next guest.

Absolutely no disturbing noice at all - only a far distance nice little call from the hens. Very quiet and familiar, I was offered a glass of local wine coming home at night, and it was extremely good and relaxing to sit at the porch listening to natures own sounds. This is not a place you stay if you want to party - and Ios town where the party is - is not at the port either. You can walk up to town taking the old road, see the pictures, steep and charming with steps, take good shoes - takes 30 minutes, or you can take the bus 3 minutes walk, at the port and leaves you at the entrance of Ios town. By the way the village is not at all horrible and stuffed with drunk youngsters as we once thought, we went early - had dinner around nine or ten o'clock - and it was extremely charming. But be aware - it wakes up at night - and for some of us that can be funny and charming too...Young girls with high heels - we were amazed - have you ever climbed a mountain in high heels....???

There is an excellent supermarked right to the left in the port, they have everything, there is also a bakery, very nice one, and many fairly nice restaurants. The ferry drops you of five minutes from Avra, you need no support. The beach to the right in the port is nice and clean but very shallow and hot, it has a few restaurants etc. - you may prefer to take the bus a little further. There are also some hidden beaches you can walk to along the seaside.

Avra is beautiful! Don't hesitate. You will not have a great view of the sea, but you will be in an open friendly quiet and clean atmosphere with great view to Greek countryside and charm.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, even those on the ground floor, all rooms are quiet, and all of them have a con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OsloGoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina_bouloumpasi, Owner at Avra Pension, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear OsloGoody,
It's a pleasure to read such a nice review (and detailed!) of Avra Pension. We always do our best to make you feel like you were at home and to have success is our purpose. I am delighted to know that we made it! We look forward to welcome you back again. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    45
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
171
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel 1 month ago and all i can say is that i loved it! What can i say about the staff! What amazing people always there to help you. Breakfast area and breakfast it self were great. The accommodation enjoys a very good location and i will visit again Avra next year if not this year!

Regards from John!

Room Tip: ask the staff and everything will be solved!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Avra Pension, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear john j,
Thank you very much for your feedback of your recent stay in Avra Pension. We are really happy to know that we meet your expectations and that your days with us have been succesful. I prepare the breakfast, on my own, every day with fresh homemade- organic products, such as marmelade, bread, cake, eggs, thyme honey, fresh orange juice, fresh fruits and Ios cheese. I am trying to provide "individual breakfast" in order to satisfy the preferences of each client! We will be delighted to see you again if you ever come back! Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lismore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at Avra and it was wonderful. This is possibly the cleanest place I have ever stayed. Great location. Nice breakfast. Lovely hostess. Great value.

Room Tip: If internet in your room is important, check the signal strength in each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcnct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Avra Pension, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear customer,

Thank you for your polite review! We hope to see again as soon as possible!

Best regards,

Katerina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed in Ios at Avra Pension for 5 days and it was a wonderful time because we felt really welcome. In Avra Pension we got very helpful information about walking, about beaches, about a wonderful retaurant nearby and so on. The lady who owns the Avra Pension speaks good English and French and she likes her job- she prepared the breakfast with self made bread, cakes, jam and at lot of oranges for juice, with their own products(eggs, olive oil). We had our Golden Retriever with us and the dog was welcome and treated nice. The room was beautiful and clean. To relax we liked sitting on the balcony in a quiet surrounding. It would be great to find more often a place to stay like Avra Pension.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina_bouloumpasi, Owner at Avra Pension, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Walter,

Thank you so much for your review. We are really pleased to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay at Avra Pension. We hope to see you again in Ios!!

Best regards,
Katerina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed there for one night. It was very convenient as we arrived by boat and it is literally 5 minutes walking distance. Very clean and spacious rooms with balcony, wifi, hairdryer and tv (although we didn't manage to get the Tv to work in one of the rooms). It's very close to the bus stop that takes you to Ios town and Mylopotas beach and it costs only 2,20. Each double room cost 20 euro, outstanding value for money!
The owner is a delightful lady who helped us in every possible way and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerina_bouloumpasi, Owner at Avra Pension, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your kind review! We are pleased you had a pleasant accommodation in our hotel. Regarding the technical problem in a TV mentioned, as our technician said, the ploblem is in the central digital signal of the island that is brand new and doesn't work properly yet. These days the technicians will fix the mulfunction.
Hoping to see you again,

Katerina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Avra pension is the ideal place for vacations at the island of Ios.It is located just 50 metres from the port and the bus station to chora.Yalos beach is ,no more than a 5 minutes walk.
Excalent hospitality, clean rooms and more than enough facilities plus the very reasonable prices, made our vacations unforgetable.
Highly recomended.
Mihalis and Aleka Bachas.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripolitsiotou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Hi Reader,

we (a German young couple) had a great time in Greece. One main resean despide the countryside and the weather was definitely the "Avra Pension". The staff is more than friendly. They are helpful and you can have great conversations. Also you will receive many advices for IOS and other islands. The rooms are perfectly clean (every day cleaned). With 3 minutes form the port is the location excellent.

Have a great time in IOS by choosing Avra Pension!

Thanks again and kind regards form Germany

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ijgijg i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yialos
0.7 mi away
Brothers Hotel
Brothers Hotel
#1 of 44 in Ios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yialos Ios Hotel
Yialos Ios Hotel
#6 of 44 in Ios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liostasi Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ios Palace Hotel
Ios Palace Hotel
#3 of 10 in Milopotas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lofos Village Hotel
Lofos Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Helena
Hotel Helena
#21 of 44 in Ios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avra Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Pension

Property: Avra Pension
Address: Yialos 84001, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios > Yialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Yialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avra Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avra Pension accommodates you in a two- storey building, having 15 rooms which can host 1, 2 or 3 persons each. Every room has its own balcony/ terrace, A/C, private bathroom with shower unit providing 24hours a day hot water, hair dryer, guest amenities, LCD television, refrigerator, boudoir (women’s private care furnishing), bed linen of exceptional quality, slippers, spacious wardrobe as well as free Internet access 24hours a day (Avra Pension Wi-Fi hotspot). Baby cot appropriate for babies or little children available upon request. Avra Pension has a wonderful, full of flowers, yard with large comfortable couches, where our continental breakfast is served daily with a splendid variety of homemade marmalades, as well as a generous selection of traditional recipes and locally produced goods and eatings. Our hotel lobby is decorated with special care to every single detail by the hostess in order to create a sense of traditional Cycladic interior design. By the time of your arrival you can take a breath lounging in our spacious vintage sofas, surrounded by the authentic ambiance inspired by the truly Greek homey atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Avra Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Pension Ios, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing