We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic family hotel resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vravrona
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic family hotel resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

This Hotel is a great family hotel and offers brilliant relaxation. The refurbished pool, beach furniture and rooms are of high standard and kids are welcomed and well looked after. Kids are brilliantly entertained and one can swim either in the hotel pool or in the sea which is right in front of the hotel. Al staff speak English and French and are very helpful and accommodating. The breakfast buffet is superb and the evening buffet meals cater for all tastes. Authentic Greek cooking at its best. The location may seem a bit isolated, but within 15-20 minute walk, there are fish tavernas, cafes and bars. We had a great family time.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StellaD88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    303
    162
    83
    67
See reviews for
204
328
44
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

The hotel isn't that amazing but the views are stunning and the beach is great.
Swimming pool and the spa are great too.
Stuff aren't really that helpful.
Location is literally in the middle of nowhere. Not for sightseeing.
We stayed for 1 night to catch a flight in the early morning so it was good for that.
They provide a free shuttle bus to the airport and from the airport but for only for certain timings (for late ones you have to pay 37Euros).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Akram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurrieq
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights at Mare Nostrum . Enjoyed everything. Food is good . Large pool and a private beach . One thing that needs improvement is that most staff they speak French , Greek and little English . And wifi not good . After all it was a pleasant stay .

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Scalpello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

I booked this for 1 night as we were arriving quite late from London. I chose it because it's reasonably near, but not at, the airport and had received good reviews. It took 3 emails to eventually get very basic, and misleading, directions from the airport as we were driving ourselves.

Overall it was a disappointing experience. Having eventually found it after getting hopelessly lost in the dark we discovered a very large, incredibly crowded (lots of very noisy unsupervised kids) and somewhat jaded establishment. Our room was ok, with a nice-size balcony and great seaview (which cost extra). Nice grounds and beach area. Breakfast was ok, but a real bunfight - surprisingly given the size of the place, there was nowhere to sit outside for breakfast.

This place was adequate for 1 night only, but certainly wouldn't be our choice for a longer stay or holiday. Nightmare!

Room Tip: Seaview definitely - best thing about the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thespecialagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla Beach, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Instead of staying at airport hotel we drove 10 minutes to mare nostrum. Looks like an older Club Med, but beautiful grounds great pool, right on the beach, lots of people, hotel inside looks tired ,corridors long dark and so early 80s or late 70s. For a night or two its ok

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padova, Italy
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had to stay just overnight in Athens before getting our connection flight from Crete going back home. We choose the hotel based on booking.com statement it was 5.3 km from the airport.
After reaching the airport arrival hall at 9:20 p.m. , we were greeted with vigorous hand shaking and several shoulder and arm patting by the shuttle driver. Much to even greater amazement, we were let waiting for half an hour before being driven along almost disquieting narrow dark roads well longer than 5.3 km.
Checking-in was very, very slow and we were told no kind of dinner was available but a sandwich in the room, or pizza kebab outside…
We finally entered our room and 10.30 p.m. , fasting and about one hour later than planned, so that - as I must admit - I was already a bit disappointed.
The bathroom showed large amount of black material (whose nature I preferred not to investigate), the floor was improperly cleaned with hair and dust everywhere, the filters of the old air conditioner where full of dust as well, the fridge contained nothing but three small bottles of still water. The bed were short, had no headboard so that it was impossible even to comfortably read and the single available pillow was the thinnest I ever had in any hotel.
We had to wake up at 6:30 to get the 7:00 airport shuttle to get our 8:55 flight (no luggage to register, no check-in already having boarding passes: no comments) , before breakfast was served. Dirty glasses, cups, filled ash-trays and disorder reigned around, thus preventing in any case any wish to eat there.
After reporting the internet misleading coordinates , they kindly declined their responsibility and showed us a letter they had sent to booking.com, being replied distance is measured by satellite and not by road, so this was not their fault, indeed.
Even trying to evaluate the hotel under a different perspective, we found it rather depressing, both as facilities and location.
The atmosphere was very humid and , although nice mountains surrounded the bay the hotel is facing, no beach appeared to exist, but a sort of quagmire was on the right side.
The space looked overfilled: I had never seen previously second row pool side sun beds, and mini-club, tennis court and all what might be supposed being considered amenities were close each other and to the rooms. I would not even imagine the level of noise at 11 a.m.
We felt relieved when we reached the airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doctor G 06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vravrona hotels

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

This was an overnight stay for my family. Currently staying at the hotel (standard triple room bungalow with a sea side view). It is NOT close to the airport, as suggested. It's actually about 20 minutes away (with no traffic). It's in a secluded area. The view of the water and pool area are beautiful. Aside from that, this place is extremely outdated. Probably a 2 star. Our room is dirty & dusty and needs a good cleaning. The refrigerator cabinet has so much dirt and dust on it that we are totally appalled. The walls need to be cleaned (noticed 2 dead bugs on the wall). The room also has an old, musty smell. The air conditioner continuously drips water. This is a horrible experience. I'm thankful that we checked in very early and are checking out at 4:45am. Otherwise, we would not stay at this hotel. I would recommend that management takes some time to walk through these bungalows. Just awful.

Room Tip: Don't stay here and don't be fooled by the petty pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank VacationsRUs2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vravrona
Aquamarina Hotel
#4 of 7 in Nea Makri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avra Rafina
#1 of 1 in Rafina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Studios Kleopatra
#1 of 1 in Glyki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel

Property: Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel
Address: Vravronas Ave, Vravrona 190 03, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Vravrona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vravrona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mare Nostrum Thalasso Vravrona
Hotel Mare Nostrum Thalasso
Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel Greece/Vravrona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing