We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Missing Martinique and Plein soleil”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Plein Soleil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Plein Soleil
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Le Francois
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, AC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Missing Martinique and Plein soleil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

One of the reasons that I love Martinique, that sensual, sophisticated French Caribbean island, is that I love (Hotel) Plein Soleil. Over the years, I have watched it “grow up.” Both it and the owner, Jean Christophe, came of age in the hotel business some 17 years ago; its restaurant always refined, is now a landmark for contemporary cuisine, a fusion of Franco-Caribbean fare. Long overdue, the hotel is now officially rated four-stars, according to strict, French standards. It has always been considered a romantic getaway, a tranquil outpost of civility, one with its own brand of humor and savoir faire. The clientele that it draws is sophisticated, appreciative of the artistic, colorful environment. ‘love those ‘luxe, bi-level cottages with private plunge pools, that are in demand.
Most of the Plein Soleil staff has achieved long-term status. ‘Christophe’s niece, Marie, has blossomed into a managerial force, which gives her uncle well-deserved time to be his creative self; he is now plotting the hotel’s latest redecoration. George – and that’s a lovely lady – has been a smiling presence in the restaurant from the beginning. Nathaniel rose from the ranks and is now a celebrated chef. Robin and Radick, who came as students from a hospitality school in Eastern Europe, morphed into loyal and capable members of the Plein Soleil family. Michel, a graduate last year, exhibits pride in his professionalism. And we loyal repeat guests are made to feel as if we are of the same family. Nice!

Room Tip: The smallest accommodations have tiny bathrooms. If you are a couple by all means upgrade, even if i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinglady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Christophe Y, Gérant at Hotel Plein Soleil, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you very much for having taken the time to give us your feedback on Trip Advisor.
We really want to make our guests as happy as possible so thanks again for your comments and I will forward your reviews to our teams. It will be a great source of motivation for them.
Hope to see you soon here and best regards...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    74
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
25
142
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We read a lot of reviews on Trip Advisor about this hotel and they all mentioned the same thing - the "road" into the hotel is appaling - it's like driving through the middle of a quarry. If you do decide to visit, the best way to get there is via a little village called "Chappotte". I think in general it is probably best to rent a 4x4 in Martinique, because you'll need it for places like this, also for some of the best beaches and for visiting the volcano. The hotel itself is very chic and stylish, especially the restaurant which is very airy, bright and has fantastic views. The food in the restaurant is really excellent, which obviously has a big Caribbean influence. The rooms are all spacious, well equiped and (thankfuly) have mosquito nets. We spent most of our time swimming/relaxing beside the pool (which could do with a refresh as I got some splinters from the wood surrounding it) and chilling out in our veranda. Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it but we were unhappy that a few complaints we made were unattended too. We spent a lot of money to stay here and complained to the owner about the three times one day where we asked for the pool to be cleaned of the dead animals that were floating about (it was never done). Also requests to replace some damaged items in our rooms fell on deaf ears. We also disliked some of the staff's attitude - some seemed to be on holiday themselves but there were one or two who were very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rjdmccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Christophe Y, Gérant at Hotel Plein Soleil, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. It is really important for us.
We will work on all your reviews to improve the quality of our services.
Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We've been home over a month now and my feet still haven't touched the ground. The Hotel Plein Soleil provided the perfect setting for the trip of a lifetime. Simply gorgeous all around: the grounds, the suite, the staff, the food. Perfectly private and romantic, perfectly appointed suite, luxurious and spacious bath, and private pool. The staff treated us like royalty and catered to our every whim. The cuisine is simply sublime and we never wanted for anything more. We specifically chose the atlantic coast to be away from the masses and unplug. Francois is perfectly located for easy access to all points north, south and west so adventuring was easy when we wanted it. The Hotel Plein Soleil is perfectly located for quiet and solitude and there were days that we never left the property - only moving from pool to pool and meal to meal. I never need to search the perfect vacation spot again - I found it at Plein Soleil.

Room Tip: There are only sixteen rooms on the property so you really can't go wrong. All are dotted aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Christophe Y, Gérant at Hotel Plein Soleil, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Let us thank you for having taken the time to give your feedback on your stay at Plein Soleil.
It is really important for us and we will forward your comments to our team.
Please let us know when you will come back in Martinique, it will be a pleasure to see you again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2010

We stayed here for three nights after having a flight cancelled, another flight delayed, and fleeing from a terrible hotel.....when we arrived we were very much in need of some relaxation and some luxury, and this hotel provided both in spades. It's a lovely, stylish boutique hotel set in the hills outside of Le Francois. It is a remote location so you absolutely need a car, and the road to get there is very bumpy. The staff were efficient, helpful when asked, and very patient with our non-existent French. We ate several meals at the restaurant, which has a limited menu but is excellent. On our last evening the staff even printed out a menu that had been translated into English, which was a very nice touch. We enjoyed our stay here immensely and would definitely recommend it to others.

Our standard room was large and comfortable and had a nice view, although it did not have a balcony, which was a bit of a disappointment. Next time we would definitely splurge on one of the larger rooms with a private plunge pool. The only negative comment I would make is that the bathroom was tiny, and the entire bathroom would get soaked during a shower. I would also recommend that they develop a better website with more information about the types and prices of rooms, to help travelers understand their options.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennclinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Christophe Y, Gérant at Hotel Plein Soleil, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you very much for your comment on Trip Advisor.
It is really important for us. Let me inform you that we note all your reviews and we will forward to our team.
Hope to see you again here and regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demie
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2009

This was the 2nd hotel of our trip. It was not on the beach but had a great pool. The hotel is really cute & chic. Definitely a romantic spot not made for young children but they were extremely accommodating for our son.

When we arrived we got there 1 hr before check in but the staff made great efforts to get our room ready early so that we could put our son down for a nap. The pack & play was already in there with a mosquito net. (CAUTION: USE THE NET!! Its there for a reason, our son got so many bites when we didn't use it!)

The food is absolutely wonderful! Amazing food. There is a reason why the travel magazines say you have to go for dinner. Be prepared for European style service (i.e. not the rush that people in the U.S. are used to)

The rooms are very spacious. The internet in the rooms was a little shaky. Better to go to the front area where one could get better connection. The staff was extremely friendly. There is babysitting service if you want but its pricey. It's easy to rent a car from the hotel. Big veranda sitting area with the master rooms that is very nice.

Once you leave the hotel, there are beaches 20 miles north & 20 miles south. So definitely rent a car.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Christophe Y, Gérant at Hotel Plein Soleil, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback on Trip Advisor.
We really appreciate your comment and we will pass on your positive comments to our staff.
Let me inform you that we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2008

Spent a week travelling around Martinique and stumbled upon this wonderful place seemingly in the middle of nowhere.

Quite the best of the French Caribbean. Exquisite food (breakfasts especially), service and rooms. Petals strewn on empty tables is one of many lovely touches.

Do hire a car if you stay here, and it becomes the perfect base to explore from.

The Pool is fine but its really the beaches in Martinique you want to see.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank adrianbunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2008

Great hotel located on the eastern part of Martinique (Le François). We didn't clearly knew what to expect before arriving at the property and we were very impressed. It is located 10 minutes away from Le François and 5 minutes away from the main road going along the coast. As we wanted to go around the island and visit, the location was perfect.

The hotel is very nice (old colonial house), newly renovated, and sits on top of a small hill. The room (master) was quite big, with its own private (large) terrace. It is very well decorated with great taste. The terrace, which has a small table, an outside "bed" and a small kitchen. Being with an 18 months old child he was able to go around the room and terrace which was very useful.

The food is very great. Breakfast and dinner was impressive.

The only drawbacks were the absence of bath (only a very small shower) and the distance to the nearest beach (~25 minutes).

  • Liked — Rooms, terrace, food
  • Disliked — No bath in the room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank julo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Francois
8.3 mi away
French Coco
French Coco
#1 of 3 in Tartane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel La Pagerie
Hotel La Pagerie
#1 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
12.2 mi away
La Suite Villa
La Suite Villa
#2 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Fregate Bleue
Hotel Fregate Bleue
#3 of 5 in Le Francois
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel Corail Residence
Hotel Corail Residence
#1 of 9 in Sainte-Luce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
12.2 mi away
Simon Hotel
Simon Hotel
#1 of 8 in Fort-de-France
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plein Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plein Soleil

Property: Hotel Plein Soleil
Address: Pointe Thalemont | Mansarde Rance, Le Francois 97240, Martinique
Location: Caribbean > Martinique > Arrondissement of Le Marin > Le Francois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Le Francois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plein Soleil 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Plein Soleil is situated in the hills above of << Le francois>>, and is just 25 minutes from Martinique's Lamentin International Airport. You traverse a banana plantation to reach this chic hideaway that is equi-distance from the beaches of the south and the mountains and rain forests of the north. Far from the congested tourist zones, set amid a tropical garden and surrounded by lush vegetation, the hotel's 16 Creole and Caribbean style rooms are housed in five colourful villas. They enjoy a wonderful view of the Bay of Francois. Plein Soleil is a haven of beauty, peace and quiet. Three of these lovely villas host the Guest, the Master pool bedrooms. The Guest rooms are on the first floor with a nice sea view, and although naturally well ventilated, are equipped with air conditioning too. The Master pool are on the ground floor, they have a large bedroom with a lovely large veranda and a fully-equiped kitchen. The Master pool room has also a private swimming pool. All the rooms have a bathroom, and a king-sized bed. In both styles of accomodations, there is rustic wooden furniture and objets d'nature and a canopy of netting surrounding each bed. Two others villas house the suites. The Jardin Suites are in a single-story house and have a spacious bedroom with a large bathroom and separate commode. There is also a spacious deck with its own private pool. The Duplex suites are in the second villa. A large living room awaits you at the entrance on the first floor. It has a delightful sun-deck. On the ground floor, an inviting room welcomes you; its deleuxe bathroom opens to the terrace and its private pool. Guests can lounge around the hotel's main swimming pool with its enchanting sea view below or relax in the inn's stylish greathouse, listening to calming music or speaking with the affable owner of Plein Soleil, Jean-Christophe. Bilingual in French and English, he is always pleased to share the secrets of a sucessful stay in Martinique. Welcoming you graciously, he will make you feel that his home is your home in Martinique. The hotel restaurant awaits you in the main house and its enlarged terrace is adorned with a nice, fresh basin. Guests will be able to enjoy the thousand-and-one flavors created by our chef. He will have returned from a several months of training with Alain Ducasse, one of France's most famous chefs. The table d'hote restaurant offers a different menu each day, with a choice of two entrees (appetizers), two main courses and two desserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plein Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plein Soleil Martinique/Le Francois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing