We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A good balance between comfort and informality, and the view was fabulous” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fregate Bleue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Fregate Bleue
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Le Francois
East Sussex
Level Contributor
136 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A good balance between comfort and informality, and the view was fabulous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at the Fregate Bleue at the end of a two week trip to Martinique and Guadeloupe, so we wanted to relax for a few days before travelling home.

We stayed in Amanda which we think is classified a suite - but all the rooms are slightly different. This one was large with some old furniture (bed, desk, chest, and wardrobe) but no easy chairs. There is a mezzanine with two single beds which was very bare - not sure it would be much fun sleeping up there even for kids. Good quality bed and bed linen. Bathroom OK (but why just shower gel sachets and nothing else?). The kitchenette very basic and a bit tired, but adequate for simple food preparation. Everything was very clean.

On paper we thought it was expensive for the room but we found on this trip that all the accommodation on the islands was relatively expensive - and you do seem to pay a lot extra when you have a bit more space and a sea view. On both counts, we felt this was worth the extra and it was a joy to be able to sleep and enjoy the sea breeze with the window open and not worry about security.

The balcony has a fabulous view and has loungers as well as table and chairs. It was a charming place to sit and drink a beer, have a chat or just snooze and had it enjoyed the sun for a greater part of the day. We had breakfast and only one evening meal at the hotel while we were there. We had looked forward to the dinner but it was actually the least good meal we had on our holiday so our experience was a bit different from others. But if you have had a long day it was great not to have to dress up and get in the car to go eat.

Madame and the staff were very helpful and we found we only had to ask for something for it to be supplied or corrected - a saucepan for example, a salad bowl, and the fact our fan wasn't working. Madame Lucy explained she had had to be absent in France on and off for the last few months and that she was working hard to catch up on maintenance and organisation. She was very helpful with information about where to go, what to do, how long things took etc which meant we were able to make the best use of our time there. We didn't particularly miss beaches as we'd seen a lot of sand over the previous two weeks so we enjoyed the quiet of the swimming pool at the hotel. And we were able to do a late checkout for no charge on our last day which was fantastic. I would say the hotel strikes a nice balance between a luxury/comfort and relaxation without formality.

I would agree with everyone else - you do need a car to make the most of a stay here. But the location is really fantastic as a base to tour Martinique because it is central and beyond the worst of the traffic holdups around Fort de France. Only 30 minutes from the airport too.

We would recommend Salines for the beach (about 45 minutes and wonderful swimming) and Habitation Clement for a visit. Nothing much in Francois, but lots of nice bars and restaurants to try up in the hills. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RandDtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    60
    17
    9
    14
See reviews for
33
81
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
caribbean
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

A beautiful small hotel, where colonial furnishings blend harmoniously with all modern amenities and where the peace and quiet and warm welcoming ambience has to be experienced to be believed! A really homely atmosphere prevails and being centrally located this an ideal base from which to explore the beautiful island of Martinique.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saggyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frégate B, Gérant at Hotel Fregate Bleue, responded to this review, September 8, 2016
Google Translation
Merci pour votre commentaire.

Depuis de nombreux changements à venir découvrir lors de votre prochain séjours.

A bientôt,

La direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

I cannot recommend this hotel more highly. My husband and I along with my inlaws rented the appartment. What a joy it was to stay there. The views are magnificent with an covered outdoor kitchen and dining area and massive balcony from which to ppreciate it. Every room is seperated by doors, with its own bathroom and air conditioning. The lounge area can also be converted into extra sleeping space, also with extra bathroom attached should you want to accomodate a large family.

We did not take breakfast as there is a fabulous French supermarket just a short drive down the road, but the evening meals we booked were superb. Basically we were asked what we wanted and it was cooked to order.

It is a definite bonus that the hotel is located in a residential area as it is very quiet. One families dogs were a bit noisy a couple of nights but a pair of ear plugs from the flight resolved the problem.

The owner, Yveline, is a delightful, as are the staff. Everyone is so helpful and always looking for ways to make your stay even more pleasurable

The pool is great to plung into and cool down although a bit too shallow to get a really good swim, but with so few rooms in the hotel, we often had the pool and the terrace to oursleves.

A great place to stay for families with young children or a couple looking for a quiet escape.

There are some wonderful places to visit in Martinique too, wonderful wild beaches or beautuful white sandy shallows and terrific botanical gardens to name just a couple

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frégate B, Gérant at Hotel Fregate Bleue, responded to this review, September 8, 2016
Google Translation
Merci pour votre commentaire.

Depuis de nombreux changements à venir découvrir lors de votre prochain séjours.

A bientôt,

La direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF / P
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2008

Hotel Fregate Bleue was a great spot for a quick four day trip to Martinique. It has regional charm and is convenient to the airport, Fort de France and several good beaches (45 min from Salines). It was quiet and our room was large with an expansive ocean view. The couple in charge are very nice and hospitable. We have been to Martinique 11 times and like this place.

  • Liked — Large room with great ocean view
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ilets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frégate B, Gérant at Hotel Fregate Bleue, responded to this review, September 8, 2016
Google Translation
Merci pour votre commentaire.

Depuis de nombreux changements à venir découvrir lors de votre prochain séjours.

A bientôt,

La direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2008

We stayed here for 10 days in Jan 07 - been meaning to write a review ever since! We felt it was a lot of money for the standard of accommodation - the room was full of old fashioned furniture and a had a strange mezzanine area used for storage which wasn't very nice. The bathroom needed upgrading - this was annoying, as it isn't expensive to replace rusty soap holders , bins etc.

The balcony was lovely, really big with beautiful views. Breakfast was very poor but served on a lovely terrace overlooking the sea. The "swimming pool" was more like a bath and situated next to the carpark. Nobody was ever in it (I wonder why).

Location was terrible. In the middle of nowhere actually, so don't even think about not hiring a car. And there is no access to the beach. In fact you can't really walk anywhere from the hotel.

Martinique is really beautiful with a perfect climate but a car is definitely needed.

Mme de Lucy was rather false although willing to give suggestions on where to go and what to do. At the time I think we paid around 1200 euros for the 10 nights which was extortionate for the standard of accommodation.

  • Liked — Balcony and views
  • Disliked — Location and price
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Corrie2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2007

We arrived unannounced for a night in early December, and were welcomed with open arms even though the hotel had been putting things to rights after the ravages on Hurrican Dean (we would never have noticed!) All other reviews sum it up - delightful property with homely feel and Mme de Lucy couldn't be more helpful. Her staff were the best we encountered on Martinique, and dinner was one of the best we tasted. Glorious location, but car essential to reach nearby wild and wonderful beaches. A real gem.

  • Liked — Personal touch and feeling of being part of the family
  • Disliked — Lack of direct access to sea
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frégate B, Gérant at Hotel Fregate Bleue, responded to this review, September 8, 2016
Google Translation
Merci pour votre commentaire.

Depuis de nombreux changements à venir découvrir lors de votre prochain séjours.

A bientôt,

La direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2007

This is a charming address located at the very end of a bumpy road on south-east coast of Martinique.

Actually this is not really a hotel, but a "home" where Mrs de Lucy personnally greets you every morning, does her best to run this 10 room unit, and makes suggestions for you to discover this island.

Rooms are rather large with old pieces of furniture, those on the upper floor having a nice view over the ocean and the nearby isles. However sound insulation is not always perfect...

Breakfast and dinners on the terrace were very nice moments.
Breakfast choice may be a bit limited, but dinner quality and service were fine.

  • Liked — Wonderful view, excellent welcome by the owner and staff.
  • Disliked — Poor sound insulation.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank French
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frégate B, Gérant at Hotel Fregate Bleue, responded to this review, September 8, 2016
Google Translation
Merci pour votre commentaire.

Depuis de nombreux changements à venir découvrir lors de votre prochain séjours.

A bientôt,

La direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Francois
12.4 mi away
Hotel La Pagerie
Hotel La Pagerie
#1 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Corail Residence
Hotel Corail Residence
#1 of 9 in Sainte-Luce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
12.8 mi away
La Suite Villa
La Suite Villa
#2 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Residence du Village Creole
Residence du Village Creole
#6 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
7.1 mi away
HOTEL CAP MACABOU
HOTEL CAP MACABOU
#2 of 2 in Le Vauclin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
11.4 mi away
Residence Oceane Hotel
Residence Oceane Hotel
#1 of 4 in La Trinite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fregate Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fregate Bleue

Property: Hotel Fregate Bleue
Address: Fregate Est 4, Le Francois 97240, Martinique
Location: Caribbean > Martinique > Arrondissement of Le Marin > Le Francois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Le Francois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fregate Bleue 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central point for exploring the island, located on the east side of Martinique in the town of Francis, this small boutique hotel 5 minutes from downtown offers a panoramic view of the Atlantic and its islets, in a haven of peace and freshness. Located in a quiet location 50 meters from the sea, you will be able to relax around the outdoor swimming pool and lush vegetation, while enjoying the light breeze of the trade winds. With its Creole architectural style and antique furniture for some rooms and modern for the other, this hotel offers a genuinely warm and friendly atmosphere, making it an ideal holiday resort. Fregate Bleue has 16 rooms with different standings, ranging from garden view room to the spacious suite with sea view, not forgetting the large family rooms or rooms "Loft" in the attic. This boutique hotel proposes you a wide choice of type of accommodation that suits all for holidaymakers and business travelers. All rooms are equipped with independent air conditioning, free wireless internet, a TV, a telephone and a hairdryer. Some also have a kitchenette. The restaurant will allow you to enjoy all your meals on the terrace near the pool or in air-conditioned room and enjoy, among others, a local Creole cuisine. Free parking is available. The hotel also has a laundry room. You can also enjoy special rates on many sports, cultural and leisure, located near the hotel, thanks to our privileged partners. The location is currently towards the award, to be taken up by the same group that recently renovated hotel La Pagerie GPS: 14 ° 36'18.98''N / 60 ° 52'22.17''W ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Fregate Bleue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fregate Bleue Hotel
Hotel Fregate Bleue Martinique/Le Francois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing