We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,203)
Filter reviews
1,203 results
Traveler rating
543
343
162
79
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
543
343
162
79
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka lobby area swimming pool indian ocean hotel management sea view welcome drink curry set menu tasty food house keeping restaurant staff front office garden ruchira buffet boys
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 1,203 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2019 via mobile

The resort is quite large with lots of facilities. Checking process is painfully slow where guest have to wait in non-airconditioned lobby which is far away from the front desk. I waited more than one hour and they forgot about my presence until I made a call to the hotel number inquiring the long delay.
The room was clean and spacious eventhough it looked bit aged. The door does not have double lock and safety locker is not functional. Room was not soundproof. You may hear everything from corridors.
Swimming pool was quite large and well maintained. There was good selection of food and beverages yet in my opinion bakery products seems like couple of days older.
Overall experience is satisfactory specifically considering the price. However things such as checkin process should be more organized.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Fisher5478
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_CFH, Executive Secretary at The Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2019

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor .

We wish to thank you for your constructive feedback. We also do regret that there were certain aspects of your stay with us which did not have a positive impact on your holiday experience. All aspects highlighted by you on service and product have been taken note of and looked into.

Once again we thank you for taking time to write to us and we certainly hope to have you with us again.

Thank you
Poornima Mihindukulasooriya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2019

The swimming pool is full of people swimming with their under-wears room is smelly and old wouldn’t recommend it not worth it at all especially for the smelly room part,, ps the beds don’t look clean at all

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Ahmed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_CFH, Executive Secretary at The Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2019

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor .

We wish to thank you for your constructive feedback. We also do regret that there were certain aspects of your stay with us which did not have a positive impact on your holiday experience. All aspects highlighted by you on service and product have been taken note of and looked into.

Once again we thank you for taking time to write to us and we certainly hope to have you with us again.

Thank you
Poornima Mihindukulasooriya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2019

Decent bedrooms, nice pool area, friendly staff and good quality buffet breakfast /dinner. We used both the gym and games rooms which were adequate but could do with a face lift. There are a couple of bars/ restaurants within 2 mins walk on the beach for a drink/ lunch. It's too far from the town to walk, but you can take a tuktuk if you want to do so.

If you want to go further a field, step onto the beach in the morning or evening and ask one of the locals about a day trip. We got Dilan (thick head of black curly hair and speaks excellent english) to take us to Gale and the local turtle sanctuary. We also stopped at Tsunami memorial which was a very poignant experience.

Room tip: I would avoid the ground floor if possible.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRGAp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_CFH, Executive Secretary at The Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2019

Dear Guest.
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at The Palms, Beruwala.

We appreciate your encouraging comments on our services and facilities. We will certainly convey your gratitude to our staff for their hospitable service.

Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback and we look forward to having you with us back again.

Warm Regards
Poornima Mihindukulasooriya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019

A very homely hotel perfect place to relax and unwind. Not too far from Colombo on highway.The friendly courtious staff from the reception to the dining are well trained.We were spolt and well looked after by the entire team.Will definitely be back for a longer stay.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Dramaqueenforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_CFH, Executive Secretary at The Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2019

Dear Guest.
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at The Palms, Beruwala.

We appreciate your encouraging comments on our services and facilities. We will certainly convey your gratitude to our staff for their hospitable service.

Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback and we look forward to having you with us back again.

Warm Regards
Poornima Mihindukulasooriya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2019 via mobile

Went their for a wedding.. everything is good... nice scenarios can be seen..view of the beach is perfect... the pool is just awesome... but the food is not much tasty... Clean rooms...So I rate good.. everything is good except for the food...

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank dulmii2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_CFH, Resident Manager at The Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Dear Guest!
Thank you for taking time to write your comments and appreciation on Tripadvisor.

We always welcome feedback from our valued guests to help us maintain and improve our product and services.

We're delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay, and was happy with the service provided by all levels.

Thank you for visiting and we hope you will return soon and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews