We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
Trip.com
StayForLong
Travelocity
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,203)
Filter reviews
1,203 results
Traveler rating
543
343
162
79
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
543
343
162
79
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka lobby area swimming pool indian ocean hotel management sea view welcome drink curry set menu tasty food house keeping restaurant staff front office garden ruchira buffet boys
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 1,203 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2019 via mobile

Lovely place, highly recommend, great food and great location if your planning to spend spend some time at the beach, staff service is excellent. Specially wanna thank Salini for recommending Palms beruwela hotel. Definitely will visit again...

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank KushalyaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_CFH, Resident Manager at The Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Dear Guest.
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at The Palms, Beruwala.

We appreciate your encouraging comments on our services and facilities. We will certainly convey your gratitude to our staff for their hospitable service.

Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback and we look forward to having you with us back again.
Warm Regards
Ruchira Karunarathne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2019 via mobile

What we like the most?
Cleanliness of the entire hotel incl. the premises, and the staff. Hotel room is very cleaned, also the hotel and entire property incl. the garden is kept very cleaned and maintained. Hotel room cleaned everyday, kept cleaned towels & toiletteries everyday which made us to look forward to have a lovely shower. Shower itself is so nice and flowing so much of water feeling us not to leave the shower:)
Every staff incl. the management staff at the hotel were very nice, polite, helpful and attentive to detail. Unfortunately I couldnt get names of all the staff but a few can name such as Noorani, the Front Office Manager, Ruchira, the Asst. Manager, the F&B Manager (couldnt get the name), the Exec. Chef (one with the black uniform, again couldn’t get the name), also there were few more management staff were around us very nice & helpful. I myself was a hotelier for some years at Intl. 5* Hotels therefore I know when the staff is good how can it make a difference for guests stay!
I love the hotel lobby, in fact there were many opened hallways which were so good to enjoy fresh breeze flowing in from the Indian Ocean.

What we didnt like?
It was so peaceful & quiet until certain group of guests arrived (2 Indian groups, on 2 days - one day a group of men & women, the next day a group of men). All of them were unbelievable noicy wherever they were, they had absolutely no respect to other guests! When they jumped into the pool it was like some wild animals ransacked a neighbourhood! When those people jumped into the Pool we and few other Western tourists were in the Pool and on the Pool benches, we were shocked & surprised to see their behaviours, still we calmly looked at them for few minutes to see whether they will realize how much they disturb others but sadly they didnt instead they continued neither hotel staff warned or stopped them. In the end we and other Western tourists left thr pool!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Jayaseeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_CFH, Resident Manager at The Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Dear Guest.
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at The Palms, Beruwala.

We appreciate your encouraging comments on our services and facilities. We will certainly convey your gratitude to our staff for their hospitable service.

Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback and we look forward to having you with us back again.
Warm Regards
Ruchira Karunarathne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019 via mobile

Really a good place to have go on for a vacation. Good food quality and rooms are clean and comfortable. Have very large swimming pool and it's perfect. Hospitality is very well satisfied from the staff. Beach is next to the hotel. Perfect and highly recommend place for to visit with your family and Friends.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank dhanukasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_CFH, Resident Manager at The Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Dear Guest.
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at The Palms, Beruwala.

We appreciate your encouraging comments on our services and facilities. We will certainly convey your gratitude to our staff for their hospitable service.

Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback and we look forward to having you with us back again.
Warm Regards
Ruchira Karunarathne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2019

My husband and family have stayed at The Palms Hotel countless times. In fact, since Christmas we have taken 7 or so separate bookings over Christmas Day/Boxing Day as well as weekends (often just one night due to work etc). Although there are countless hotels to stay in this proximity, The Palms offers excellent service from all their staff, right from greeting on arrival, bell porter, pool staff, restaurant staff through to senior management. I am always touched they always remember our 4 year old daughters name and go above and beyond to enlighten her stay.

The hotel is extremely well appointed in extensive large well maintained gardens with several ponds with small fish. The pool is a super size and as the majority of the pool is not too deep there is a vast area for small kids and non swimmers to cool off and have fun. Additionally as the pool wraps around a sitting area on the ground floor of the hotel, there is often a large shaded area over the pool for those wanting to cool off yet not catch the sun.

Furthermore, there is a large reef off the beach a very short walk from the hotel which can be enjoyed all year round.

The buffet offers a great selection of food, however if you are after something specific you only need ask. During our stay last weekend we noted many children and requested fried rice dish be available at the buffet for not just our child but all the children, and it was there just as we asked. If you are after a seafood spread they have a separate restaurant by the beach where you can order ala carte.

Rooms are very clean and more than adequate, wifi, tv, tea/coffee etc are all available, room service is also prompt.

We highly rate this hotel, we only wish we are able to find time to stay more nights each time we go.

We thank all the staff for your warm welcome and our outstanding hospitality - we look forward to staying with you again soon!

Room tip: All rooms have ocean/beach view, many also have pool view. The hotel has a lift and ramps so is highly recommended for wheelchair guests.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SarahMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_CFH, Resident Manager at The Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Dear Guest.
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at The Palms, Beruwala.

We appreciate your encouraging comments on our services and facilities. We will certainly convey your gratitude to our staff for their hospitable service.

Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback and we look forward to having you with us back again.
Warm Regards
Ruchira Karunarathne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2019

I booked this hotel for an early celebration for my mom's birthday. We had to wait a little until the rooms were ready.
The good things about the place were the clean big pool, decent rooms that served the purpose a private beach a few meters away adjoining the hotel. The best part of our stay was the kitchen staff. We had other plans for her but when we walked in for dinner they had a table beautifully decorated with Happy Birthday written in coloured rice. After dinner the hotel staff carried a small cake lit with sparking candles to our table for my mom to cut. We all were surprised and my mom was very delighted. Such a sweet gesture from the hotel staff after only mentioning that we were coming to celebrate her birthday. We hadn't told them to do any of these. Special thanks to Mr.Raj, the F&B manager.

Food was average, nothing to complain about. Desserts were good. The food during lunch (which was a set menu) was very good.
We requested for a late check out asking for an hour extension but our request wasn't accommodated even though there were hardly any guests in the hotel while we checked-out.
Overall it is a good hotel to relax in if you are looking for a short break close to Colombo.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank Vasuki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_CFH, Resident Manager at The Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Dear Guest.
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at The Palms, Beruwala.

We appreciate your encouraging comments on our services and facilities. We will certainly convey your gratitude to our staff for their hospitable service.

Whilst thanking you for sharing your positive feedback and we look forward to having you with us back again.
Warm Regards
Ruchira Karunarathne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews