We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Destinia.com
Trip.com
CheapTickets
StayForLong
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,202)
Filter reviews
1,202 results
Traveler rating
543
343
162
79
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
543
343
162
79
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka lobby area swimming pool indian ocean hotel management sea view welcome drink curry set menu tasty food house keeping restaurant staff front office garden ruchira buffet boys
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 1,202 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2019 via mobile

Would like to state that only the property is worthwhile to stay. Rooms are big and clean. Massive property in serene surroundings. Dont expect anything else. It will lead to utter disappointment.
The staff is not at all friendly. No smile on their faces. Absolutely stone faced. Instead of asking if we are comfortable , or if food is an issue or whether we require anything during our 3 night stay. We were asked only the last day in the morning if our stay was comfortable. I mean the hotel was absolutely empty. Only merely 3 -4 rooms were occupied because of the untoward incident in Colombo. They could have treated us specially and made us feel at home.
Imagine not being asked for 3 whole days if anything needed.
We stayed in Sri Lanka for 12 nights. We had been treated in all hotels very very well. The hospitality in all other hotels was par excellence.All the hotels had low occupancy. But that did not deter their treatement towards us. Infact hotels went out of their way to make some food items for us. They were also very friendly and spoke to us. Infact told us that they were so happy and grateful that we did not cancel our trip unlike other numerous guests and that we are warmly welcome and will make our stay comfortable.
Such hospitality is well remembered and cherished.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank ratna2438
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_CFH, Resident Manager at The Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2019

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor .

We wish to thank you for your constructive feedback. We also do regret that there were certain aspects of your stay with us which did not have a positive impact on your holiday experience. All aspects highlighted by you on service and product have been taken note of and looked into.

Once again we thank you for taking time to write to us and we certainly hope to have you with us again.

Thank you .
Ruchira Karunarathne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019 via mobile

My tour Advisor kept my family in this hotel instead of originally planned Hotel Kingsbury. The rooms are good, cozy. The vegetarian food was okay. The only drawback with the hotel management is that they had too many bouncers moving in cafeteria suspiciously watching all Indians. I felt it as an insult. Why do you need bouncers to keep a watch on customers? Secondly the bearers were rude. When I asked for spoons, I was instructed to go to a particular table to fetch but they refused to bring. Once I went to get Roti at buffet spread, they were over, I went to Chef who to prepare and requested him to kindly give me one Roti. I was the only one to demand & was standing in front of him. He prepared but flatly refused to put it in my plate, instead put it into the container where Rotis were supposed to be kept. I feel sorry for these types of attitudes. God save customers

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank GUNAJIRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_CFH, Resident Manager at The Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor .

We wish to thank you for your constructive feedback. We also do regret that there were certain aspects of your stay with us which did not have a positive impact on your holiday experience. All aspects highlighted by you on service and product have been taken note of and looked into.

Once again we thank you for taking time to write to us and we certainly hope to have you with us again.

Thank you .
Ruchira Karunarathne
\

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2019

We had four days at The Palms, following an 8 day tour of Sri Lanka. We arrived 3.5 hours too early for check-in as our tour company made these arrangements. We were tired, hot, and a little frustrated.... The staff at The Palms were AMAZING. They greeted us warmly, were so welcoming, and responded immediately by giving us a 'holding' room whilst we awaited check in, and then worked really hard to check us in early. From then on, we had the most wonderful four days - thanks to Amanda and her superb colleagues. The room we were allocated was perfect, had a sea view, was clean and spacious and we instantly relaxed - meaning we could maximise our time at The Palms. The food was gorgeous - varied, tasty and thoroughly enjoyable. The pool experience is the best I have ever had, on any holiday - the team ensured the pool was so clean, the area around it always spotless, sunbeds and towels prepared as soon as the team saw us arrive, and nothing was too much trouble. We wanted to swim in the delectable Indian Ocean also - the hotel is situated within meters of the beach - and the team took care of our belongings whilst we swam. I honestly don't have enough words to say how wonderful this experience was - the customer service and focus was exemplary. We were sadly there when the devastating attacks took place over Easter weekend, so there was much sadness around - but given that we were there, having stayed in several hotels throughout the tour I was so grateful that we were at The Palms during this time. Thank you to Amanda and all the staff; without exception you were awesome. Sam xx

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SammiQuill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_CFH, Resident Manager at The Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2019

Dear Guest

First and foremost I would like to thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us .

We do regret the inconvenience caused during your stay with us .I do assure you that we always strive to maintain the highest level of standards .Your constructive feedback is highly appreciated and we have investigated on all areas mentioned by you and corrective measures have been taken.
Once again thank you for your valuable comments for our betterment .
Thank you.
Warm regards,
Ruchira Karunarathne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019

Managed to fluke the best room at this property! It was massive with a separate lounge, sitting room, bedroom and bathroom and the balcony was the size of three regular ones. The gardens were lovely and the pool was immaculate. The ambience was very nice and the staff were very friendly. The restaurant is very experience though so the tip is you eat out.

Room tip: Room 318 is the best!
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ValAhearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_CFH, Executive Secretary at The Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

Dear Guest!
Thank you for taking time to write your comments and appreciation on Tripadvisor.

We always welcome feedback from our valued guests to help us maintain and improve our product and services.

We're delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay, and was happy with the service provided by all levels.

Thank you for visiting and we hope you will return soon and visit us again.

Poornima Mihindukulasooriya
Executive Secretary.
The Palms , Beruwala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019

The Palms Hotel is a magnificent place. The swimming pool is big and very inviting. It is kept extremely clean. The pool staff is always friendly and helpful. The Indian Ocean is right there. It is beautiful! The rooms are spacious and clean.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank RISA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_CFH, Executive Secretary at The Palms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

Dear Guest!
Thank you for taking time to write your comments and appreciation on Tripadvisor.

We always welcome feedback from our valued guests to help us maintain and improve our product and services.

We're delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay, and was happy with the service provided by all levels.

Thank you for visiting and we hope you will return soon and visit us again.

Poornima Mihindukulasooriya
Executive Secretary.
The Palms , Beruwala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews