We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cultural & sighseeing heaven” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Palms Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Beruwala
Certificate of Excellence
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cultural & sighseeing heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

Hotel was very pleasant, staff were a pleasure. Nothing was to much trouble. Very good choices with the buffet meals, esp. if you like curry!!.
Beach is on your doorstep.
Beach boys were marvellous to me as a single female traveller, I took advantage of the very nice natures & had them organise tours geared to my likes & dislikes. Didn't bother with the Mercury tours as I wanted to please myself with where I wanted to go.
Would highly recommend Sisirs Bandula [--] for all your tour needs.
If you go, get out & see the sights, also look at the English Garden (Brief). great holiday destination.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seawatcher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    217
    118
    52
    37
See reviews for
222
292
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

This is a really superb hotel in every possible way.

I travel Long Haul an average of 6 times annually and therefore know a good hotel when I find one.

This hotel is perfectly situated at the end of the long beautiful soft sandy Beruwela beach ,where the sea is like a warm bath but quite rough at this time of the year. Fortunately, The Palms is near the beach promontory around which is a huge sea lagoon , protected by a long reef ; this lagoon is only 5 minutes stroll away ; the water is really warm, the lagoon is massive and at its deepest was only up to my waist. This was a great area to do my snorkelling in the mornings.

Most days I had a pool lounger on the open beach in front of the hotel. I say this to allay the general misconception of " the terrible beach boys". These are some of the most polite people I have met on my travels around the world.

Basically they ask if you would like to go on a boat trip or if you would like to purchase jewellery from an official local Jeweller; they also give you their telephone number so that you can phone them at any time for a taxi ride in their " tuk tuk "to any local place. This is a very small open sided vehicle which rather resembles a highly painted original " Bubble Car "

The cost of a Tuk Tuk to the local village where I visited an original Spice Garden was the huge price of 200 rupees for 3 hours......about one pound fifty pence !

My room at The Palms was facing the garden lawns and the beach; I awoke each day to draw the curtains and have a cup of tea in bed whilst staring out at the beach, through the swaying palms. My room was very large, with an equally large bathroom and was equipped with every modern comfort imaginable; needless to say it was spotlessly clean with room service in attendance twice or three times each day.

I must mention the food; this was delicious, always beautifully presented and all dishes were obviously prepared from fresh ingredients. I really enjoyed the huge variety of both local dishes and western dishes which included Chicken Chasseur, Shepherds Pie, Crab Claws in chili and ginger as well as the most amazing fresh fish dishes every day.

This hotel is set amidst lush tropical gardens and quite simply is a great place for a really relaxing holiday. The hotel staff are amazingly friendly and ensure that every guest has a wonderful time.

I will definitely be going again with Mercury to this hotel.

Robert Sergent - Fairley
London

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank robert f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for 10 nights as part of our tour. The hotel is beautiful. You enter through a series of paths with streams running round with goldfish swimming. All the areas in the hotel are surrounded by streams making it very relaxing. The staff are wonderful and would do anything for you. The location is great all the rooms facing the pool and the sea. The beach is great beach sellers do try to sell you things but if you dont want to buy be polite they love to chat. We found the food very good and my husband being vegetarian was not disappointed. If there was nothing he fancied the chef would do something else for him. The rooms were clean comfortable and spacious. I would certainly return to this hotel and would recommend it with no reservations. Absolutely paradise.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lizofsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester,england
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2008

booked this hotel with mercury direct as featured 4 star hotel on arrival found rooms to be dirty, grubby bathrooms, threadbare towels we complained so was asked to have lunch whilst the rooms were sorted, things got worse buffet lunch was being served from uncovered dishes attracting flies, cultlery and crockery were not the cleanest, overall there was a general state of grubby throughout the hotel , certailnly not the standard we expected , we knew that this would not be european standards
4 * but this was no better than 2* . So bad that we requested a move to a better hotel this proved to be very costly as the assistance given by mercury was at best poor and we were left to sort this out ourselves The complaints policy say they try to do everything to resolve in resort but once they have your money they dont want to know . However not to despair our daughters 21st birthday was not completely ruined we transferred to the excellant Royal palms for an extra £600 (ouch!) and the reaminder of the holiday was saved

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, West Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2008

Stayed at The Palms Hotel from 6th to 20th October. This was my third visit and hopefully not my last. It is secret worth sharing. After a long drive 2-3 hours from the airport , you enter this "Paradise" via a dirt track road off the main Galle Road. When you enter the unobtrusive gates into a fantastic walled garden, you are met with a lovely welcoming smile by the caring staff and taken through the beautiful natural covered walkways to the entrance of the hotel, passing over running water streams, which wind their way right into the main Lobby. Many species of fish abound here. The hotel is right on the beach at Beruwala and every room has a beautiful sea view, some of which have a Pool view also. The rooms are well equiped with ensuite facilities (no bath), cable TV, room safe, tea/coffee making faciities, room-controlled AC and ceiling fan . There is an adequate balcony with quality wooden furniture. In fact the entire hotel is beautifully appointed with natural ? teak throughout. The Pool is very well-maintained by Pool attendants and the sunbeds are also of the same wood variety. This hotel is mainly All-Inclusive but cheap tuk-tuks available outside hotel for trips to Aluthgama (about 3km) which is the nearest town. There is also a mainline train station where you can take the train to Galle or Colombo if you so wish. Night life at the hotel is low key, but adequate as the pure therapy of the location is enough and tgheeis ample seating at or near the all-Inclusive bar. Staff are amazing at this hotel, they work as a Team and do their utmost to make your stay pleasurable. The Restaurant staff are amazing and will offer alternatifve "simple" meals if you want a change from the daily buffet. You just have to ask. Sri Lanka is a beautiful country and has much diverse natural beauty to offer. Don't be put off by the onging "war" with the LTTE, which is mainly in the "no go" north of the country. Around Colombo there is much security presence, but does not affect the tourist. Enjoy and I am sure you will want to return again ....

Helpful?
9 Thank SLFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2008

we have just returned from The Palms hotel where we stayed for 10 days through mercury

loved this place so so much everyone we met was so so nice the staff were great , the room was very nice with a breath taking view and i could not fault the food one little bit.

I would defo go back to this hotel

a great place x

  • Liked — the setting
  • Disliked — when i had to come home x
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank michelleleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a very relaxing two week holiday at the Palms, Beruwela. The staff were very friendly, the food was of an extremely high standard and the people we met at the hotel all added to a wonderful holiday. To get the most out of Sri Lanka you must hire a driver and see the sights. We visited Yala National Park, travelled through the mountains-eating lunch at the Grand Hotel, Nuweria Elyia (very cheap compared to the UK) a very English looking town. The Tea Plantations, Kandy (for the Esala Perahera) and the Elephant Orphanage.
At first the culture change can be shocking but looking past this the people we met were very friendly and seem to genually want to get to know people travelling to thier country.
We have some contacts we used whilst there. Our guide was very knowledgable (Champa) and gave us a great deal for our money. We will give his number if required. More people should travel to Sri Lanka-it is a beautiful country with so much variety.

  • Liked — Excellent service at the hotel. Very friendly staff. Food. Pool lovely.
  • Disliked — Beach not wonderful. You couldn't sit outside the grounds of the hotel to sunbathe on the beach without being hastled by beach boys selling tours. They seem to own parts of the beach with could be intimidatiing at times-when you talk to them however, they are very friendly people..
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Piglet27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beruwala
0.1 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
2.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
3.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 12 in Kalutara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
11.1 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#5 of 12 in Kalutara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
1.3 mi away
Club Bentota
Club Bentota
#1 of 6 in Aluthgama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel

Property: The Palms Hotel
Address: Moragalla, Beruwala 0034, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Beruwala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Beruwala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Beruwela
The Palms Hotel Sri Lanka/Beruwala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing