We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BACK AGAIN & FEELS LIKE HOME!”
Review of The Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Palms Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Beruwala
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“BACK AGAIN & FEELS LIKE HOME!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Well... what can i say! It sure feels like home. Managed to find a few days to relax in the middle of work and came back to stay at The Palms for 3 days,as we had a memorable stay last time. This time it was even better, because they even remembered our names, and remembered our room. So we got the same lovely room again! The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly.

The bonus this time was, we arrived the day before the Sri Lankan new year festival. They had a full day of events and traditional things planned. There were activities for everyone from very young children to elderly people. All the managers of the hotel were there looking into how things were going and they spoke to all the guests and made sure we all had fun. Loads of fun things to do, eat and drink! Tried my hand at making Oil Cakes "Kavm" and it was fun (but my skills were hopeless...)

The housekeeping staff kept the room ultra clean (although they could do with new bed linen). They have beautiful decorations in the lobby made from coconut leaves. Food as always was plentiful and very tasty, specially the new year's day lunch was nothing like i have seen before! Simply mouth-watering! Compliments to the Chef. The only downside is that the Gym was closed for renovations :(

We had an amazing time once again, so we will certainly be back whenever we can and next time hope to bring our friends along as well. Keep up the great work guys! Cheers... And wish you all the best in the New Year...

Room Tip: The seafood platter in their restaurant in the corner of the garden near the beach is AWESOME!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Esther_Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    241
    123
    59
    40
See reviews for
251
311
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

My family visited the hotel on a day outing and had a great day. The day room was very clean and neatly arranged, bathroom very clean and well laid out. Service excellent and Buffet lunch was awesome. Great variety and a load to eat. The staff willing to serve and very attentive and friendly. Lovely beach and also a clean pool. Enjoyed the day very much. Prompt service. Recommend for a weekend out or even a long stay.

Room Tip: beach side rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Savithri_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ishrai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Nice Service from mr.riyas..is is a very good and kind he serverd us with all his heart we hope to come again to this hotel and get again riyaz Service.. All the best hotel is very nice and the resturent is nice sitting near to water its make me happy

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronnyhF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My wife and I have recently stayed for 3 weeks in the Palm Hotel in Beruwala Sri Lanka.We had stayed in the hotel for 2 weeks last year and had really enjoyed our stay.This year we found the staff still willng and very helpfull plus the food was still of a high standard.However on the downside the gym is closed and does not look like reopening anytime soon.Also the dress standard for dinner is slipping,bikini tight shorts being the norm for some women and sleeveless vests worn by men.We did suggest to the resident manager that some sort of dress code should be introduced at meal times.One other problem was on 2 nights during our stay there was a huge wedding pary held in the Palms and they had the main restauranr booked for themselves for 2 days.This meant that the hotel guests 's such as ourselves were moved into a smaller restaurant on the 1st floor which was totally unsuitable to serve the amount of guests the Palms had at that time..We complained and were offered alternative dinner arrangements other guests did not and suffered the consequences of a jam packed dining room.As I mentioned earlier we did have a meeting with the resident manager and hopefully the suggestions that we gave to her will be taken up by the hotel.

Room Tip: We found the second floor room suited us
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howardst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Hotel staff were very attentive and friendly, especially the Guest Relations Manager. Only exception was on arrival we had a problem with our last minute booking not being sent through- this was all sorted out once we showed them our hotel.com account with confirmation, but my partner did not feel very comfortable at the time with staff.

Pool area was gorgeous, very clean and relaxing. Restaurant buffet dinner and breakfast was varied and tasty.

Our room was a garden view one rather than pool view, and it was in need of modernisation. It was clean and functioning but did not match the photos which were shown on hotel.com for this type of room.

Room Tip: perhaps pool view rooms are more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed for one night .,firstly the room was dusty AC didn't work the came and gased it then it worked . The TV was of very poor quality about 15 yrs old the remote did not work.
the Buffet was hopeless although the set menu was quite edible.
The location and the beach is one of the best in the island and the staff need training as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rasitha w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

we stayed 2days in palms its awesome holiday in my life nice and very help full reception staff rooms are clean nice and big pool awesome weather riyas he help me lot he is very helpful and friendly we had a lot of WiFi problem he did settings every time with nice smile we had a nice vacation .... we went aluthgama to shopping we had a nice stay....nice hotel itz soo classically arranged ... soo impressed we hope to come back to sri lanka and we come to palms alsooo

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beruwala
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
1,655 reviews
1.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
2.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
11.3 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#2 of 11 in Kalutara
1,248 reviews
11.1 mi away
Tangerine Beach Hotel
Tangerine Beach Hotel
#6 of 11 in Kalutara
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel

Property: The Palms Hotel
Address: Moragalla, Beruwala 0034, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Beruwala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beruwala
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Beruwala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Beruwela
The Palms Hotel Sri Lanka/Beruwala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing